We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th Annual Northeast Chevelle and ElCamino Regional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“5th Annual Northeast Chevelle and ElCamino Regional”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This was the 5th year in a row that the Hotel has accomodated us for our Annual event of a gathering of classic Chevelles and El Caminos. The event and the Hotel is better every year. In addirion to being a perfect location enhaced with lots to do in and around the area the stay was enjoyed not only by myself but all who attended as well from near and far.. The entire staff and personnel go out of their way to make you feel really welcomed and do as much as they can to assist and please you. If you are looking for a place to stay for business , pleasure or a convention I reccommend the Sturbridge Host without hesitation. Thank you to the Sturbridge Host for being a big part of yet another successful event for us. Keep up the good work.

Jim Goodwin
President
New England Chevelle and El Camino Asociation

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Thank you for choosing to come back year after year. We have come to know many of the attendees and have found all of them to be a really fun and courteous group. Thank you for allowing us to help you make your shows better every year. We hope to have you back with us for another 5 years! Best regards, Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    189
    177
    143
    149
See reviews for
263
220
29
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Make sure that your room does not face the tent that has parties and weddings or you will get NO sleep! Dont ask for Lake View or you may view this tent and the party will sound like its in your room all night! First night the reunion lasted till 11:30 and second night the wedding lasted until 12:30 am PLUS all the wedding guests were on our floor and we we kept awake way past 2 am. The walls are like paper and the you can hear the TV's and people of next door rooms! Not much to do in the area either. Staff wasnt real friendly or helpful to suggest restaurants , they want you to eat in ther's across the parking lot. Ton's of kids around. Lake is nice to sit by if you dont mind lots of kids. Inside pool smells like too much chlorine. Hot tub filled with young kids and should be over 16. Rooms are large, but decks are old, ceiling was falling down in our room. Food was ok..took forever at breakfasr plus a bit on the pricy side. Drinks were even high priced. Go to big liquor store just thru the parking lot! Stock up there! Then be ready to be drunk and bored and not able to sleep!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit. We are so sorry that you were not able to sleep. We enforce a 10pm curfew on outside functions to respect other guests. Please accept our apologies. We try very hard to keep leisure guests away from wedding parties and we apologize that you were on the same floor as the wedding guests. We are so sorry that this slipped under our radar screen. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to show we can do it right. If you are ever in the area again, please stop in and give us another try. Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sturbridge hotels

Dudley, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I live local and wanted to get away for a night with my wife and two children. We didn't want to travel far, so we decided to travel to the Sturbridge Host for a local night get
away. My family has stayed at the Host before. If you read some of the posts below , they are correct. The hotel itself is uneventful, and has seen better days. The rooms are outdated, ( Circa 1985-1995), the beds are old, the porches need painting, the rugs need replacement, the mini golf area needs a facelift, the grounds need to be picked up with an abundance of duck poopie, and overall the hotel just needs a makeover.

With this being said, I still would put the Host out there as one of the top 10 hotels in Worcester County. ( I don't know if that's saying much , but I feel it is true.) The location is fantastic, the views, wether it be looking over the pool or lake are great. The hotel is very kid friendly, as well as pet friendly. The staff is accomodating and quick to resolve any matters that would arise. ( I asked for extra pillows and had a staff member at my door in less than 3 minutes.)My children have a great time swimming in the pool, and navigating around the hotel. They love having access to room service and whenever we stay they have a great time. The cost for a night is $125.00. It actually is worth it. We took an addtional 10% by using AAA, and took the children out to breakfast in the morning where kids ate free.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JV1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a little get-away weekend. We are delighted that you and your family enjoys the hotel and all that we have to offer. We hope to have you stop by again soon. Try the clam chowder at the OxHead; it's fabulous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2010

With just a few weeks planning, my fiance & I decided to get married. Since both of us are working new jobs, neither of us have any vacation time. So we decided, again last minute, to get away for just a couple of days. When I called the Sturbridge Host about room availability, I mentioned that I was going to be married on the morning of our arrival. Gina went out of her way to find us great accomodations and hotel package. I have never dealt with a hotel staff person as friendly & helpful as Gina. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeddingDay08_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Congratulations Newlyweds!
Thank you for sharing your special day with us. Gina is a great employee who always goes the extra mile to make people happy. We're so glad she took good care of you on your honeymoon. Best regards, Staff and Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I stayed at the Sturbridge Host Hotel in April 2010 with two kids as part of a two-day visit to Old Sturbridge Village.

On the plus side, it is extremely convenient to Old Sturbridge Village, and situated by a pretty lake that looks as if it has some beach/boating activity in season (it was still off-season when we visited). The staff was friendly, the WiFi worked, and our meal at the Ox Head Tavern was unremarkable but fine.

On the downside, however, the interior was dingy and run-down. Perhaps it's been spruced up since, and I'm sorry if this review isn't timely, but our room (ground floor, near the pool) stank of mildew. I was tired from traveling, and didn't feel like making a fuss for one night, but it was really quite unpleasant. And, while it was nice to have the pool there, one of my kids found it too cold to be enjoyable, and the lighting was dim and depressing in the evening (too dark to read by the pool if you didn't happen to want to go in). Breakfast the next morning was strictly OK.

Not terrible, but unless it gets a significant makeover in the interim (the lakefront location has considerable potential), I'd try another option in the area before considering returning. Or maybe it's better in high season? I don't know. In early April, it was no great shakes.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asm_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit in April. We wish you had made a fuss, so we could have placed you in a more comfortable room. Even though it's only one night, we want that night to be filled with pleasant memories. We hope you will give us another chance to make it up to you. Please stop by the next time you are in the area and mention Trip Advisor, and we will make sure your stay is a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Used this hotel as a base to visit Six Flags New England in Springfield. Unless you intend to visit the 'village' there is not a lot else to see. The hotel is huge but when we where there very quite. Never saw more than two or three other guests. The Ox Head Tavern was good value to eat but it closed at 10pm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2010
So sorry that you missed the amenities that we offer at the hotel, like; paddle boats, horseshoes, volleyball, the beach and the lake and much more. We are also centrally located off of major highways with several attractions just a short drive away. Please check with the front desk where they have numerous options of things to do in the area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

On the plus side: near sturbridge village, restaurants nearby, helpful staff, quiet location off the highway.
On the negative, the hotel was virtually deserted on the day/night we stayed. Bar
supposed to be open at 5pm but we could not find someone to get us a
drink. The double pane windows in our lakeside room were cloudy from unrepaired
leakage so you saw the lake through a "glass fog". Room had no luggage rack.
Might well be good for families with children because of pleasant lake beach.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BudgetTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. The summer offers a wide array of activities both at the hotel and in the surrounding area. Numerous restaurants within a 5 minute drive. Shopping abounds, from antiques to modern jewelry. The hotel offers a beach, swimming in the lake or the pool, paddle boats, horseshoes, volleyball and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturbridge
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
0.8 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
4.3 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#13 of 14 in Sturbridge
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 366 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01566-1057
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Host Hotel Sturbridge
Sturbridge Host Hotel And Conference Center
Sturbridge Host Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing