We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Dulles, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

For a day or two stay it would be too much. Honestly not the type of hotel I would pick for myself and for the price! My company paid government rate for this. I thought it was a waste of money for the room. The hallways were creepy. As soon as you walk in the hotel it smells strongly of a pool (chlorine), pool is inside. The bathroom was dirty when I came in. The restaurant was not clean and did not have a good variety. Not worth the money or stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. We have shared your comments with our Executive Team and corrective measures are underway. Thank you for our feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    189
    174
    143
    148
See reviews for
260
220
29
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Third time we have stayed here. (Priceline express deals.) Will pick other areas to stay. Rooms always have a musty smell. Rugs need updating. Cigarette burns in a no smoking room!? Sticky something on floor/rug. Mattress worn out. Asked housekeeping to give us ten minutes to leave our room. When we came back at 10 that evening, the room had not been made up. Shower head had one spray, needle sharp. TV's are ancient. Place has a tendency to be noisy. I do not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAtommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. If we had known, we could have moved you to a more comfortable room. Sorry about that. We have shared your comments with our Executive Team and corrective measures are underway. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sturbridge hotels

Four Oaks, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I found these accommodations to be very clean and comfortable. The staff was efficient and friendly. The food and service was outstanding. Would stay here again anytime. The indoor pool was clean and well stocked with towels, etc...

Room Tip: The bottom floor rooms do face the indoor pool and eating area. If you wish quieter rooms, you shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while travelling away from home. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel. Now that it's summer, we also have the lake open for activities; swimming, paddle-boats, fishing or just dipping your toes from the beach. We look forward to an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I just had my daughters baby shower in the Terrace Gardens. The setting was beautiful and well laid out. The servers were extremely attentive and thought of everything. The food was outstanding. London broil was perfect, the chicken - moist and tender. Roasted potatoes done to perfection, carrots tender and the salad was fresh. The Hotel had a server ladle the delicious clam chowder for everyone. Dessert was delicious and plentiful. My compliments to the Chef and Staff at the Sturbridge Host Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwp513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your baby shower here at the hotel. The Courtyard, with it's lush greenery and skylight allowing the sun to shine in, is a beautiful area that gives the feel of being outside; just lovely for a baby shower! Thank you for sending KUDOS to our Chef as well as our great staff. It truly is the people that make all the difference. Thank you for noticing and Congratulations on your new baby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I have read the posts regarding the Host that remark that this hotel is not up to par. My family has been staying at the Host for 20 years and in all that time I can honestly say that I do not understand how my experience can differ so much than other folks. I stayed there last Thursday and was treated extremely well by ALL staff. The room was very clean as was the entire building. Phil , (front desk),is the greatest and makes you feel so welcome. Although the hotel is in need of some repairs, (as most hotels do), it is overall well maintained. People need to realize that this is an older hotel and certain structural elements arise. The Host still reamains a cozy and charming place that beats any chain hotel by a mile. Plus you can't beat the beautiful lake it sits upon! My husband and I plan to return this Wed. because we enjoy our stays there so much. FYI if you have an opportunity, go check out the breakfast buffet. Foods great and coffee awesome. I want to thank all the good people who keep the Host going, they work very hard in each of their duties and deserve recognition

Room Tip: ask for a room on second floor with balconey facing lake if possible, you love it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words of praise. We too encounter so many people who just love the atmosphere, the lake, the food, the staff. We are delighted that you took the time to let everyone know your happy memories of the hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Many thanks to Phillip Dolezal,Catering Sales Manager. Wonderful job, excellent response time. Did everything we have asked for and more. Would highly recommend for your nect company event. Great location

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for noticing our great employees. It truly is the people that make all the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stay here every year to bring our kids to Girl Scout day at Sturbridge Village. Every year we wonder why we do this to ourselves. The place is sadly in need of repairs and every year it's way too noisy at all hours of the night.

We stayed in an upstairs pool view room and the ceilings were all cracking and looked as of there had been years and years of water damage. The bathrooms were renovated yet the vanity was all warped and cracked. The bottom of the tub was black like it either has never been cleaned or it's a thousand years old. The hallway to the rooms reeked of cigarettes even though we were in a non-smoking wing. I'm guessing the rugs are ancient (they look it). When we sat on our balcony we discovered most of the furniture was broken (my daughter sat on a chair and almost ended up with wood in her keister). We were fearful of sitting on the balconies because the place just feels like it's going to come crashing down.

Having a room facing the pool means you will hear people in the pool at all hours even though the signs say it closes at 10 p.m. I've called in the past when after midnight there were screaming babies and blaring music and the front desk doesn't care. When we have requested lakeside rooms we have had drunk guests trying to get into our room at 3:00 a.m. I guess this is the type of people you have to share a hotel with when they get the rooms for 65 a night on Priceline (so I've read).

We continue to stay here with the kids because they love the indoor pool after a day at OSV. We also like the tavern that is outside the hotel. Dinners there are usually really nice. The hotel itself doesn't offer much in the way of food (and no gift shop/store on the premises - just vending machines!). The restaurant inside the hotel offers breakfast and a breakfast buffet on the weekends. It's convenient but their food is incredibly dated as well. They have nothing for allergy suffers myself (nothing gluten free or vegan).

I will say for kicks you have to check out the "gym" and "arcade" here. They are nothing more than hollowed out hotel rooms! The arcade has arcade games from the 80s (probably installed when this place first opened). It's pretty funny.

My wish for this place is that the management please spends a few bucks to update this place. It has so much promise and the location is terrific. Just needs a lot of TLC.

Room Tip: Lakeside exterior or interior corner rooms closest to the lobby are the quietest. If there's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnymum202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations. The girls seem to love it here so we do hope you will return. And please let management know if your rooms are not up to par so that we may make every effort to make sure you and your party are comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturbridge
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
0.8 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
4.3 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#12 of 14 in Sturbridge
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 366 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01566-1057
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Host Hotel Sturbridge
Sturbridge Host Hotel And Conference Center
Sturbridge Host Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing