We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Kennebunk, ME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We booked this hotel because we were planning a family trip to Old Sturbridge Village. The amenities for the kids looked like fun and since its summer we knew we'd use them.

After I booked the hotel I searched the reviews (yes I know you're supposed to do this beforehand) and got a little scared. The reviews looked horrible and I was contemplating canceling my reservation. Fortunately I decided to give it a try and hope for the best.

It turned out to be a nice place! The room itself was newly updated and in great shape (room 330). The hallways outside the rooms definitely looked a little rough around the edges in some spots but overall not too bad. Our bed was comfortable, the kids slept great, it was quiet, and we thoroughly enjoyed the lake beach. The property was beautiful with the lake and green grass/trees. Make sure you wear your flip flops outside though because there's a lot of geese and they make a mess on the lawn (if you know what I mean).

The hotel staff was great. We forgot our crib for our youngest and they brought one up right away and didn't even charge us the extra for it.

We checked out the indoor pool and its a beautiful area that is very open and well decorated however, they don't heat the pool (I'm guessing they don't heat it in the summer). We were glad we checked before getting our suits on going there! Instead we went to the beach on the lake which had nice warm water.

All in all I'd highly recommend it, especially for a family stay!

Hope this helps.

  • Liked — the proximity to the beautiful lake
  • Disliked — unheated pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaineGirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    192
    180
    145
    153
See reviews for
268
225
29
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2008

What a dump. It's dirty and noisy to start with. The keys didn't work and it took three trips to the front desk to get ones that did. Did the surly staff care? And this was the manager! The walls are paper thin so we could hear our neighbor order room service and then listen to Fox news, and trust me, we are not Fox fans. We had to call house keeping for a stopper for the tub and it took almost an hour for a response. The window/door was filthy. The list goes on.

There are several better choices in Sturbridge than this one. Pitch a tent, for example.

  • Liked — Location was good.
  • Disliked — Dirty, noisy, surly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sturbridge hotels

Boston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

I booked this hotel for our one year wedding anniversary. We had planned to go on a hot air balloon ride in the area the next morning so I chose the hotel for its proximity. The pictures on the hotel's website were quite lovely. I chose the 'stepdown king' room which according to staff is 'one of the nicest in the hotel'. I was unimpressed. First, the room is nearly a 1/4 mile walk from the lobby and main parking lot. When we did find one of the satellite lots it only had 4 parking spaces. But when we tried to get in the exterior door our key didn't work. We had to make the 1/4 mile trek through the pool and lobby for the remainder of our stay.

The lobby is set up to mimic a small town center. Which does have it's charm. What we did not enjoy is that the pool is in the center surrounded by rooms with their own patios. Apparently people use this hotel to have pool parties in the winter. The entire time we were there families were running in and out of their rooms to the pool. The most charming part was the authentic 'white trash' feel of people sitting around a cooler drinking beer, feeding their infants. I felt quite out of place walking dressed up through their patios on the way to my anniversary dinner.

The room... The bathroom was lovely. New tile, granite countertops, upgraded hardware. The rest of the room appears to have been untouched. Even though our room had a living room the tv had been relocated onto a half wall in middle of the room so guests could watch it from bed. The TV stand was left empty in the middle of the room.

The hallway outside our room appeared to have had a MAJOR plumbing leak. The ceiling was caved in and had patch marks and mismatched materials everywhere.

In all, it is probably great for families with small children. But if you are looking for a romantic weekend stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — The guest room and pool scene
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank microbiology1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We spent New Year's Eve at the Sturbridge Host Hotel. We only went for the dinner/dancing part of the event as we live in Sturbridge. It was a wonderful experience for us. We met two other couples and had a terrific time. The band was excellent. The food was superb! I hope Sturbridge Host continues to have this event as it brings a lot of our surrounding folks who do not want to travel too far to enjoy good cheer. The package price was reasonable and I do recommend folks from nearby towns to join the fun it they have this event this year.

CONGRATULATIONS STURBRIDGE HOST ON A JOB WELL DONE!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank rosybobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

We have stayed in Sturbridge 3-4 times annually since 1999 and were pleasantly surprised to find that the Host has been much improved.

We had not stayed at the Host since 2004 when we encountered a dark old room, broken furnishings, barking dogs and noisy guests. The condition of the hotel overall was not good at that time, but seems to have changed for the better since then.

We stayed during President’s Day weekend with our 2 & 6 year old for “Kids Week”, where the Host had many events and activities for them. Our room was a king suite that had a sunken living room, with a full size pull out couch, desk and two TV’s.

Everything from the bathroom to all the furnishings and paint appeared to be brand new. We were in room 409, which is a walk from the main areas of the hotel, but a nice location as it was quiet and away from the always crowded pool area/atrium.

We had a very nice buffet breakfast at the hotel’s Greenhouse restaurant that came with our room pkg. The hotel staff was pleasant and the overall condition of the main areas has much improved with new rugs and wallpaper/paint evident.

The only negative issue we encountered was that the pool had some algae on the sides. , I will give them a pass on this issue considering that there were literally dozens of kids using the pool constantly, because of winter break/Kids week.

Also be warned that the hotel still allows dogs. From what I could see/hear, they seem to be isolated in a 1st floor wing of rooms 300 (closest to side door) to about 315?

I would recommend this hotel again as a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CTMcP's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Along with some of the other comments read on here unfortunately we also had the awful 1 x nights stay which was part of a New Eng Tour with a well known UK travel company at this hotel & thankgoodness it was only for 1 night!

We have to say that we have been travelling & staying in a variety of different parts & accomodations in the States for over 10 yrs now & have always been satisfied apart from this hotel.

When arriving it seemed pretty quiet, the check in was quick with no ques , management seemed friendly but yet we were still allocated a room with occupants already inside!
It was extremely embarassing both for us & for the two people whom had obviously just arrived themselves & were in the process of getting undressed & changed & needless to say were not impressed with the fact that they had been disturbed.
I can understand the fact that had the Reception been busy upon arrival things could of got a little confusing & in the process staff gave us wrong room-keys but in this case it was not busy in the slightest. I'm sure they would of put a compaint in straight away as they slammed the door. We obviously were not happy & headed straight back down to Reception & spoke to the Manager on duty who apologised & upgraded our room for us....


Unfortunately the next room ended up being a room which was situated on the ground-floor directly opposite the indoor pool where you could hear people talking & walking past , it had 2 single bed-size beds instead of a queen which we would of expected clearly as we are a couple & it absolutely stank of Dogs & which we could hear barking at all hours during the night from the other rooms along our corridor!

I definately think that the tour company we used should look into whether to include this particular Hotel as part of the New Eng tour as in our experience it was a disappointment when all the other places were fine.

  • Liked — The location by a lake
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerOlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We've stayed at this hotel several times, with and without children. It's one of the nicer hotels in this area, and we will no longer even consider some of the 'cheaper' motels (Days Inn, America's Best Value, EconoLodge, I'm talking to you). Our stay this time was not bad, the room was, again, clean, comfortable, etc. We didn't care for the location, however, facing the atrium/pool area. We couldn't open the drapes for natural light, since people walking by would see into the room, even on the second floor. Plus, there was a lot of noise, especially from the pool area. We went during Christmas school vacation, and there were lots of young children running around the hotel, many of them screaming with the exuberation of youth. Many seemed to be unsupervised. One night, I had to call the front desk about the 6-8 children racing around the atrium after 10PM! They disappeared shortly after, but still, we were annoyed. So, if you're hoping for a quiet, relaxing stay, consider the location of the room (rooms facing the lake are quieter), and the time of year. Kids school vacation weeks will be NOISY.

  • Liked — Convenient location, clean, comfortable.
  • Disliked — Noisy children running about unsupervised, even late at night.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cakeordeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturbridge
0.8 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#13 of 14 in Sturbridge
673 reviews
4.3 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 366 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01566-1057
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Host Hotel Sturbridge
Sturbridge Host Hotel And Conference Center
Sturbridge Host Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing