We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gloria - Lovely Site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Was travelling with a bus group & only spent 1 nt here but wish I was spending more time. Lovely location on the lake. My room was on the ground floor with sliding door out to the lake & wasn't dated at all, it was very nice & comfortable & clean. They had welcoming cookies & apple cider when we arrived. Breakfast buffet was filling & they already had coffee pots on the tables when we went down at 6:30 unlike the previous hotel on Cape Cod where we spent 4 nts & had to fight to get coffee. Didn't have a chance to use the facilities though or explore the property, but I would have liked to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing outside. 2nd floors had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us from your recent stay. Hopefully you will be able to return sometime and enjoy the lake, paddleboats, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 936 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

As other have stated, the hotel is dated and in need of major upgrading. The room was decent sized but that's about the only good thing I could say about it. The carpet was rundown, there was mold by the A/C vent, and the bed was hard as a rock. I was better off sleeping on the floor. The bathroom was moldy and reminded me of something out of the Bates Motel.

It's pretty sad that the hotel is in the state it is in because it has so much potential to be a gold mine! It served its purpose for a business trip but I won't bring my family here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nasa808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are so sorry for the inadequate room you were given. Please accept our apologies. We wish you had let us know so that we could have moved you to a more comfortable room. Thank you for letting us know so that we may better focus our efforts on improving ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It’s always difficult, when writing for TripAdvisor, to disagree with other reviewers. But I simply have to say, I don’t know where StephanieRose12345 and ninasky2013 and some of the other folks were staying, because their experiences were so different from mine we might have been on different planets.

My family stayed at the Sturbridge Host Hotel in October 2013, as part of a family wedding. We had 12 rooms in total, so my sampling of the rooms is larger than normal. I can say, without fear of disagreement, that this may be the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in the USA, and most of the people in my group agreed.

The hotel offers 250-300 rooms, and the facility probably was built 40 years ago. Trying to be positive, let me compliment the hotel on the following characteristics: in general, yes, their staff is excellent and as helpful as they can be. The location is convenient, the hotel is on a small lake that is quite pretty, and in the summer there is a private beach for swimming. The coffee in the restaurant is above average and their breakfast portions are ginormous. The towels in the room were large, clean and of high quality. Water pressure was good and there was lots of hot water, so that’s a positive.

But after those, things go downhill – way, way downhill.

The lobby is dirty. Both the furniture and the carpeting needs a thorough vacuuming; the chairs and carpeting was littered with crumbs and debris. There is a handsome fireplace with a very interesting piece of artwork featured on it; but when we asked about putting a fire in the fireplace they said they don’t do that until November – even though it was a rainy, gloomy autumn afternoon and there was firewood next to the fireplace. Inexplicably, a large cardboard box full of apples sat in the lobby, on a chair, the entire weekend (see photo). The carpeting in the lobby was ripped and repaired with duct tape, and even the duct tape was showing signs of wear (see photo). There are no newspapers available (except for the local Sturbridge publication): no USToday, Wall Street Journal nor Boston Globe. **sigh**

Adjacent to the lobby is the restaurant and the bar. We ate breakfast in the restaurant every morning and one day took more than 30 minutes to get our bacon and eggs. If you don’t want to wait, there is a breakfast buffet for $12/person on the weekends only, but it is pretty dismal compared to most breakfast bars I have seen. Food quality was OK.

Outside the restaurant is a large enclosed swimming pool and meeting area that is encircled by hotel rooms. There are several small flagstone patios and enclosures in this area that are used for parties and weddings. Forty years ago this design probably looked novel and innovative; today it looks tired and stale. The ceiling over this pavilion area is relatively low and dark, the air humid and there is a dank aroma from the pool that wafts into the dining room and bar. There is a “gym” made from one hotel room next to the pool, with three dilapidated running machines in it. Do not get a room with a pool view unless you like the smell of chlorine and noise of kids yelling in the pool.

There is a complete lack of concern for the comfort and convenience of the guests. Most of the guest rooms are located on a long, low wooden structure that parallels the lakefront. This building is ugly and the exterior is in disrepair… a fresh coat of paint and repairs is desperately needed (see photo).

The rooms in this wing (and maybe the whole hotel) are numbered irregularly, which leads to long walks with heavy suitcases, pounding through fire doors and scooting up stairs trying to find your room. The elevator buttons don’t match the room numbers. Parking is distant from most of the hotel rooms; I had to park behind some dumpsters and later beside a large brown gas tank. There is an abandoned miniature golf course behind the hotel, exactly where all the convenient parking should have been located (see photo). To get from the rooms to the restaurant/pool area required a walk through a short, dark, stuffy and hot hallway with ice makers and soda machines – it was creepy AND uncomfortable. But wait – it gets worse.

My sister had a room that smelled so bad she had to move to a different room, but the staff offered to come up with Fabreze and spray the room instead. Wrong answer, don’t you think?

Another person in our party had a room next to a fire door, which slammed again and again as people moved down the hallways.

My room was relatively dirty and there was mold in the bathroom. There was no luggage rack, so we had to use the couch for our suitcases. The bathroom door was warmed from humidity and would not close. The TV is an old-style low-resolution tube TV, embedded a huge stand, that took up most of the floor space in the bedroom. There was free WIFI in the room, and it worked adequately, but there was a $5 charge for using WIFI in the lobby.

In summary, this could be a fine resort facility, but in its current condition it is not. The professional photos on the web sites make it look far nicer than it actually is. I suspect it is hugely profitable, with rates approaching $150 a night, but it needs a massive and total refurbishment. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Wow...it appears you put a lot of time and energy into this critique. Well please know it was not for naught. We have shared your comments with our management team and corrective measures are underway. Thank you for noticing our great staff, convenient location, pretty lake and private beach, above average coffee, large breakfast portions, large, high quality towels and a lot of hot water and good pressure in the shower.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

this is a large facility which can accomodate large groups and functions. nice grounds with lovely outside areas. the interior is large with an open garden and pool area surrounded by rooms, shops and a restaurant/lounge. somewhat confusing layout depending on where your room is. the atrium is unique and nice but a little dark. the rooms are well appointed and large as well as clean. the one complaint was we could here conversation in the adjoining room, some of the hall rugs and doorways are tread worn and in need of maintenance, not all but enough to notice.
the staff was very good and the restaurant was excellent, weekday breakfast buffet was $10 and very good value, $13 on sunday with an omelette station added and again we thought a good value. convenient location with lots of services and restaurants nearby, some within walking distance

Room Tip: adjoining the pool area is best depending on price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseph l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're pleased that overall you enjoyed the hotel and your accommodations. And indeed it is a large facility capable of servicing one to one thousand. Set back on Cedar Lake with a lot of outdoor space, it is also very quiet and peaceful for that ulitmate getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is dated and the inside courtyard is frankly strange. At night it had dim lighting and felt creepy, whilst in the day it looked plastic and horrible. The rooms are dated and bathrooms whilst clean were dated and not attractive. If I was not so tired on arrival for our one night stay I would have checked out and found something else.

Room Tip: Actually don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Well, once upon a time......sorry, I was thinking of days past...
Anyway, in the early 1970's a Mass based
developer built several "conference" center properties and most of them were franchised to Sheraton. In their day they were pretty good. Nice layouts with indoor pools surrounded by balcony's that overlooked a grotto type environment including dinning and bar accommodations....
Fast forward 40 years and you have the little hamlet of Sturbridge, once
a face halfway point between Boston and Hartford, the home of the turn
of the century Publik House Rest and Sturbridge Village, now a mere exit
off I 84 pre Mass Pike, that has become a modern day Route 66. But not
exactly in a good way.
This property was once too a very good stop over. One of it's kind for Sturbridge, now lost between Econo Lodges and God knows what else, it is a destination hotel steeped in "harvest mode". With leaf peepers, weddings, locals wanting to get their kids in a pool in October, this joint
has a niche, sadly not mine.
The rooms are tired....in fact the entire place is tired. The rooms are mid 80's shabby with smells of days, no, years past.

The bar, again a once proud bastion of late night drinks is merely an afterthought today.

The breakfast buffet, crammed into a corner of the morning resturaunt is a bad deal at 12.00 per head and the service, well, the waitress had a nice smile.

Listen, if this was a period hotel where you might expect the charm of yesteryear I could give it a pass, but as a contemporary business hotel or family getaway it gets two thumbs down.

Just try walking by the open air hot tub in the and not blowing chunks!

Nope, this one is a must pass, simply have fun at the old village and keep driving....there are much better elsewhere.






A sprawling complex the Host is a massive place for it's location and time.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank christopherj405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Scheduled one night's stay for a conference held at the Sturbridge Host - and ended up leaving at 10:30 pm, deciding to drive the 1.5 hour trip home. On arrival to room (on the inside facing the pool complex) noted strong mold -mildew smell, so, turned up the HVAC system on full blast to get "fresh air" - well, long story short, turning on the A/C was not a solution and seemed to make it worse. I asked at the desk to be moved to a room with an outside window, but the hotel was sold out. By 10 pm, the smell in the room was overpowering and I decided to check out. Both hotel staff members I spoke with were polite and matter of fact, apologized but overall it appeared that they were quite used to room complaints! This hotel is expansive, and the lake is a beautiful setting. The facility is in need of a major updating that includes an overhaul of the HVAC systems. This is a heath issue - several attendees at my conference mentioned mold and mildew and uncomfortable air quality - one to the point of checking out early also. Stay somewhere else if you have to attend an event here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We have shared your concerns with our Chief Engineer and corrective measures are underway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturbridge
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
615 reviews
0.8 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
443 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 14 in Sturbridge
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sturbridge
4.3 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 366 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01566-1057
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range: $109 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Host Hotel Sturbridge
Sturbridge Host Hotel And Conference Center
Sturbridge Host Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing