We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a conference centre first, hotel second”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Bungendore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's a conference centre first, hotel second”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I think this is probably a good choice if booking a conference, wedding or family reunion.

As a hotel, it's disappointing. Our room was on the ground floor, facing the indoor pool and hot tub area. As a consequence, our room was quite dark, even with all the lights on. As there are a lot of rooms facing inwards, you might want to check if your room will get any natural light. The 2nd floor rooms might be better.

The centre does seem in need of some renovation. For example, there are very few luggage carts and the doorways are quite narrow and awkward to negotiate if you happen to be trying to lug one through by yourself. They havent installed any self opeing doors yet, so disabled access might be equally challenging. The corridors (paint and carpet) were in need of some TLC.

We also visited the Ox Head Tavern, thinking of eating there, but changed our minds as there was a strong smell of old cooking oil permeating the inside dining area and the menu was not very interesting..... The outside area may have been a better choice, but it was very hot. The location is pretty, right on the lake's edge.

The bar staff in the hotel were friendly and attentive. The reception staff at checkout could be more engaging. I felt like I had been suddenly covered with a cloak of invisibility when I approached the counter.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank motomoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your view of the hotel. We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have addressed the front desk staff attentiveness and corrective action has been taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    185
    170
    137
    145
See reviews for
248
214
29
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I wanted a little getaway, we thought this would be perfect. It was quite and Peaceful. However the staff there is terrible! When we made the reservations we added champagne and strawberries to our room. When we checked in there was no mention on when they would be delivered. I saw that the pool and jacuzzi was closed. I asked when it would reopen. No direct answer, I was upset since it was one of the reasons we booked this hotel. If I was the front desk, I would have upsold the fact that they have a private beach and pattle boats, but I was just given a "oh sorry about that" response. When we got into our room, we had a beautiful view of the lake, but the room was in desperate need of a renovation. My husband called down to the front desk to inquire about our champagne. "ohh it should be on its way" the front desk girl said. Two hours later, still nothing. We were very tired from traveling we called down to cancel it, they were very apologetic. 30 minutes later there was a knock at the door, they finally showed up even though we told them we no longer wanted it. The next day, we wanted to go to Sturbridge Village. We went to the front desk to inquire about tickets. They informed us they had none left, and if we did have it on our reservations, they would HAVE to honor it. We walked over to the flyer kiosk and found a Sturbridge Village flyer with a 3$ off coupon inside. If you were a front desk manager and would want to make your guests happy. Wouldn't you suggest the flyer knowing you ran out of tickets. Just my opinion. We arrived back to the hotel around 8pm and planned on ordering room service, which was open until 10 that evening, however when we called down they closed it early without informing guests. So needless to say we were stuck not eating dinner that night. Overall we did have a restful vacation, but the staff doesn't seem to care about its guests or making things right. All of them including Management needs a lot of retraining!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candace_Routhier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the lack of attention you received during your recent stay with us. We are so sorry for the customer service shortfalls. Please rest assured, corrective measures are underway. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mena, AR
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our group using 7 rooms had vastly varying quality of rooms. We arrived late and left early although my impression was that this was once a great family vacation spot and is now an aged, but solid, venue for events and vacations. There was a party in an outside gazebo, there was a party in a banquet room off of the lobby - but none of the parties affected our sleep, just the poor mattresses.

PROS: great rate, lots of parking (we had 2 large trailers), convenient location, looked like a fun place with lots of family activities that we did not get to experience, they are working on improvements, lovely new vanity/sink/mirror/lights in the bathroom.

CONS: older property undergoing improvements, one wing had a plumbing catastrophe that the front desk failed to mention when we checked in -- 2 of our rooms were at the end of a hall that had fallen ceiling tiles, open rooms with fans, construction sheeting walls that had to be navigated to get to the rooms (think that the desk could have told us???), mattresses in our room were terrible/sloped/lumpy (obviously not part of the improvements yet), shower head was crummy and the drain was very slow, no breakfast (McDonalds & Burger King are at the end of the driveway)

One of our rooms with a king bed said that their room was the BEST that they had ever had. Their room was in a different section of the hotel than our room. It looks like it was built in stages over the years and we couldn't decide if the pool had always been indoors or if it had once been outside and was now covered.

I would not necessarily stay here again, but I wouldn't tell anyone to avoid it like the plague. The rate was extremely good which helped cover up the less than stellar accommodations.

Room Tip: Be safe - ask to see your room first since they vary so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0X1E5RULE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We have shared your comments with our Executive Team and corrective measures will be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place due to its proximity to Old Sturbridge Village and had not researched anything about it as we were only staying one night. What a pleasant surprise! The staff were wonderful and our second floor room was huge and overlooked the lake. The beds, although comfortable are only doubles though. No problem for us but could be an issue for some. This is an older property but our room and bath were tasteful and appeared to have been recently renovated. I would definitely stay here again. This hotel is comfortable, reasonably priced and most importantly peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJDels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting Old Sturbridge Village. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. Even though we are centrally located off of major highways, we are set back on a beautiful lake offering privacy and a relaxing atmosphere. We're so glad you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Attended another conference here recently. As before, the Conference facilities were excellent - great meeting rooms, great food, very helpful Conference staff. I left something behind and the staff sent it right away. And another member attending the conference tripped and hit her forehead, and the nurse on duty was outstanding. (Although the front desk/check-in staff continue to be a bit terse to customers and they bicker with each other!). So for a Conference, the hotel deserves a 5-rating. But the rooms are as dreary and old as usual. There were stains on the carpet and in the bathroom. Indeed the bathroom tub seriously needs replacing! And I've never quite seen or experienced such a lumpy bed. Additionally, the a/c was not working and so the room was warm and stuffy. Since it was a room that overlooked the interior atrium/pool area, it was not possible to open the slider door for fresh air. So I give the rooms only a 2-3 rating. The 4 rating is a compromise. A great Conference hotel with the potential to be even better if the rooms would be updated from the 1970s!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view to the outside (lake, miniature golf). Try not to get a room that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We have versatile meeting space and our conference facilities can hold up to 1,000 people. We are centrally located off of 2 major highways which makes it easy to find for your attendees across the state. In addition, we are set back on a lake with a lot of outdoor space for parties and special occasions. And thank you for noticing our great staff. It truly is the people that make all the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Thought the place is clean, I felt like I was back in 1987. Very outdated. The layout was odd as well. We did not have a lake view, we were in an inside view room. There was a patio area off of our room, but it opened up to the pool\seating area...which had a very pungent chlorine smell (see attached photo). The noise level from that area and the hallway was kind of loud as well. There was a mini golf course that my daughter was excited to play on. Course also looks like it hasn't been touched since 1987. Falling apart, and hasn't been cleaned since the elements hit it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We have shared your comments with our Executive Team and corrective measures will be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our first time visiting your hotel. We were there to attend a convention and saw on your site that you were pet friendly. We brought our dog with us and we had a really enjoyable visit. Our room was very near the back door that looks over the lake, the grounds were beautiful but did look like they could be updated.

We stayed from Friday the 31st of May thru Sunday, June 2nd. The room we stayed in was very comfortable. Staff was excellent. 1 particular person stood out. First thing Saturday morning we went for breakfast and were greeted by hostess Lisa Pythe. She was very professional, friendly, funny, and helpful. That night was our meeting/dinner. We went to check out our seating arrangements and there was Lisa. She showed us to our table and we were very happy to find out that she was also going to be our server. Once again she was so helpful and everyone at our table commented on how accommodating she was. Sunday morning we went down for breakfast and the moment we saw her asked to be seated in her area.

When people go on this site it is usually to talk about what needs to be done to make the stay more enjoyable. What we noticed was that, while there could have been improvements, we only noticed how the staff interacted. Wonderful and helpful people. Lisa stood out as we were lucky enough to have her as our hostess on 3 separate occasions.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a pet, try to get a room that faces the lake rather than the mini golf cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit with us. And thank you for noticing our great staff. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service everyday and we genuinely appreciate that you noticed. It truly is the people that make all the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturbridge
0.3 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#10 of 14 in Sturbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 366 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01566-1057
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Host Hotel Sturbridge
Sturbridge Host Hotel And Conference Center
Sturbridge Host Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing