We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand pretensions, but falls short in critical lodging area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Sturbridge
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Grand pretensions, but falls short in critical lodging area”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This complex works at being a conference center, running several restaurants, a site for events, especially weddings, and a hotel.

The core business should be seen at the lodging operation, but that is where they fall short of expectations. So, even if you come for a wedding, or a conference, if you stay in their rooms, the overall experience is diminished.

The food service operations are excellent, especially for banquet type arrangements, a very hard feat to pull off, but they excelled. The "garden" was good (but overpriced) for breakfasts. The Oxhead Tavern across the parking lot is also run by them, and food there was very good, but the service lackluster, and "rustic charm" seems to have won out over cleanliness to some extent.

We saw about 5 weddings in our stay, and they appeared to run smoothly with everyone having a good time with the food and bar service keeping people happy.

The lodging area is reminiscent of a 1970s facility that received a minor update with new vanities in the bathrooms, but little else. Wallpapers look old, carpets look old, heat/air units look old (with controls that are impossible to figure out). Worst are painted areas such as hallways and doors which almost invariably are chipped and scarred. In a few places attempts were made to touch up with paint that was not a good match, making things worse, and the painters were sloppy to boot. The carpets appear old, and had a slight musty, dank smell, especially in hallways. I wold rate the rooms as poor.

This facility needs to get someone with an eye to detail to thoroughly inspect the whole place, but especially the lodging areas, to note and direct the minor repairs needed, and ensure they are done in the manner expected of a first class hospitality business.

Recommended for conferences, for occasional events that do NOT require anyone to stay overnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UTtraveler84121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We were happy to hear that the food quality and service met your expectations. We have shared your concerns about the lodging areas with our Chief Engineer and corrective measures are underway. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    184
    167
    135
    141
See reviews for
242
210
29
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This conference center has all that you need to host your small-, or large-scale conference.Was there recently for a women's conference. It is privately owned and is a nice place to stay. The food and desserts are really good. They have a good team of staff. Would use facility again for another function as it is all-inclusive. The grounds are peaceful as well. A hidden gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. We were very happy that you enjoyed your time here as a peaceful refuge. The lake and the grounds are just beautiful this time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a very last minute booking as all the local inn's were fully booked for the antique show and mother's day. I was surprised they had any availability at all and was thrilled to have gotten a room.

First- the hotel is HUGE! But don't let the size of this massive hotel scare you- we were amazed at how quiet it was! Our room was on second floor lake view and the view was amazing- the trees alone filled our room with the sweetest smell! Very comfortable bed, furnished well but could use a modern upgrade. Spotlessly clean and overall a very comfortable room. The hotel amenities such as pool, hot tub were great to enjoy and also kept immaculate. The arcade room and gym were a bonus and I am glad we were able to enjoy all the amenities the hotel had to offer. Room service prices were very reasonable and everything we got was delicious. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna3372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. The lake and the grounds are beautiful and inviting and we're delighted that you were pleased with the experience. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for some time. Our group stayed here for a conference back in Nov of 2012. We had a wonderful time. The service was top notch. I can't say enough about the employees here who went out of their way to help us. The front desk was so helpful, and we had some rough patches with the weather, and some ladies who didn't make it. One girl, Sam, who was cleaning the rest rooms was especially friendly and nice. The rooms were very clean, the whole atmosphere was good. I have been coming here for 8 years for this conference and for the most part, it has been a good experience. The rooms are more updated, beds were a little hard, but sometimes that is good. I love the lake, the location is great for walking to a quick meal. Just a short trip to shopping. Pool and hot tub were nice. Thanks to all who made it a great trip.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RollerbladerWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed yourself. And thank you for noticing our great staff; it really is the people that make all the difference. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Arrived here for a one night stay.Took advantage of a package deal that included lake view rm,breakfast,and passes to Sturbridge Village for $179.The room was a bit larger than anticipated and offered a nice view of the lake.The staff we encountered were friendly and courteous.The breakfast was delicious and satisfying.One sour note is that the pillows are on the small side and the bath towels are the standard white no fabric softener type.Will return here in the future when in the area.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a lakeview room.The higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOUG H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW HAMPSHIRE
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a business meeting, first time stay. Overall if I was just staying here for a night it would shift my review to 1.5 stars. The meeting we had was really good and the board room level seating was fantastic. All rooms were comfortable and service was really good. We also did our lunch and dinners at the hotel and the food was excellent. I do want to mention we went in April and it is still too cold to use the outdoor facilities but the place is right on the lake. Wish we could of been here a couple of months later.

My room was poor....I would never stay here if given the choice. Old and tired is the best way to put it, bed was very uncomfortable. First morning upon waking up there was no hot water....assumed I could wait a few minutes and try again, still nothing. First cold (and I mean cold) shower I've had in awhile :(. Staff said it shouldn't of been but numerous people in my party had same issue.

Pros: service, meeting facilities, hotel food

Cons: bar was way overpriced (4.75 for a beer.....really?), rooms are old and outdated. Beds were horrible to sleep on, old analog tv's, no hot water for shower!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NEFANMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We were happy to hear that overall you enjoyed yourself. Hopefully you will come back during the summer as we have live bands playing on the beach every Friday & Saturday nights. It's a blast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sturbridge hotels

West Buxton, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

At $320 a night (breakfast and lunch included) I expected a nice enough room. When renting a room to four people - two beds - you would expect decently sized beds. The Sturbridge host has ridiculously small beds they didn't even seem like full size. Four women in a room, three towels provided, all full of long black hair from housekeeping.

The front desk staff were abrupt if not rude, and charged a debit card without authorization despite saying it would not be charged until check out.

Even when calling to confirm the reservation I was treated with disdain. I will be attending the same conference next year at the Sturbridge Host but will stay at a different hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. We will be staying elsewhere when attending a conference at this hotel aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSturbridge_MA, Manager at Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering great customer service every day and we are sorry that you were not shown the respect that you and all of our guests deserve. We have shared your comments with our Front Office Manager and corrrective measures are underway. Regarding the pricing, the $320 per night included breakfast and lunch for 4 people which we hope you found enjoyable and that you were pleased with the food quality. And please accept our apologies for the towels; our Executive Housekeeper is investigating that matter. Again, thank you for you feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturbridge
0.3 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 13 in Sturbridge
569 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 13 in Sturbridge
401 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#10 of 13 in Sturbridge
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 366 Main Street, Sturbridge, MA 01566
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Host Hotel Sturbridge
Sturbridge Host Hotel And Conference Center
Sturbridge Host Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing