We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location, large room with paper thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very good location, large room with paper thin walls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

This was a spur of the moment stay, had no reservation. Arrived at 11:30pm and checked into a king courtyard room. The room was large with standard amenities, towels and washcloths were soft and thin.
The real negative to this otherwise nice stay was the paper thin walls. I've posted this complaint about other hotel rooms, but this place took the cake! Our neighbors conversation and snoring sounded as if they were in the room with us. Maybe a room in the main hotel versus the courtyard would have better soundproofing?

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    122
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
168
132
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

For the price we paid, this was an excellent hotel. We took the kids for a short trip to visit Old Sturbridge Village and the nearby zoo in Menden, and stayed at this Comfort Inn for two nights. We had one of the larger "suites," which was very clean and well updated. The pools (both indoor and outdoor) were small but lovely. The kids liked these best of all, of course... Also, the continental breakfast had a good selection, with both hot and cold items. Gotta love a free breakfast!

One small note for families: The "suite" was really just one long room (not two seperate rooms). There was only one TV, which was in front of the beds. We had assumed we could put the kids to bed and then stay up watching TV in the seperate sitting area, but the lack of a TV in that area obviously made that impossible. But this was a minor concern and overall we enjoyed our stay very much. Sturbridge Village was a short (5 minute) drive away.

Room Tip: We had an end room, which had the benefit of two extra windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedishBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

I recently stayed over a night for a friends wedding. Once we arrived back at the hotel with the wedding party and the other 60 guests who were also staying over the hotel bar that was supposed to be open till 2:00 was closed. The bride was specifically told it would remain open knowing the number of guests who were coming back after the wedding was over. The very unhelpful front desk man told us there was nothing he could about it as he sat behind the front desk pretending to look for a number for someone to contact and "help us out." All in all, it was very disappointing that we had to cut our night short because of the irresponsibility of their bar staff. I would not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hailsb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel was exceptionally clean! It almost seemed like we were the first people to stay in the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful at the reception desk, and also in the dining room at breakfast. The extended continental breakfast gave us a great start to our day and we were very impressed with the attentiveness of the staff (cleaning tables immediately when someone left, and helping with any questions at the breakfast bar) and the freshness of the food. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this sparkling clean hotel to others!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We chose to stay at this hotel after reading reviews on tripadvisor. The customer service at both the front desk and at the breakfast buffet were notable. Employees were both friendly and extremely helpful. The buffet had a good variety of food items and it would be hard not to find something that you would like there. The kids especially liked making their own waffles, which were actually quite tasty. Both the indoor and outdoor pool were maintained well and there were stacks of fresh towels available. The hotel was conveniently located just minutes away from Sturbridge Village. I was quite pleased with the accommodations and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcheek1050
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here one night traveling with our dog. Pet friendly rooms are in motel type building just outside of main building. Room was large and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mcheek1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is one of the best Comfort Inns I've stayed in. Spacious, clean room with pleasant and competent staff. The only negatives were the loud air conditioner and the very strong smell of chlorine in the indoor pool room. The outdoor pool was fine. The location is good for the Brimfield antiques market, and there are a lot of good restaurants in Sturbridge within a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanLarkspur_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturbridge
1.2 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 13 in Sturbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 13 in Sturbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#10 of 13 in Sturbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Address: 215 Charlton Road, US 20, Sturbridge, MA 01566
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Colonial Hotel Sturbridge
Comfort Inn Colonial
Comfort Inn Sturbridge
Sturbridge Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing