We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No service”

Publick House Historic Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Publick House Historic Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Avon, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“No service”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Yesterday afternoon my family and I visited your establishment after a trip to Old Sturbridge Village. The Publick House used to be a favorite destination for us; however, our last visit was very disappointing. Perhaps if we had continued upstairs things might have been different, but we elected to eat in the tavern. There were plenty of tables available, and the hostess seated us immediately. After about 10 minutes without a server, I asked the hostess if our table had a server taking care of it. She assured me it did, but several minutes later she herself personally filled our water glasses and took a drink order while assuring us a server would be over. After another 10 minutes without a server or the drinks, we left. This kind of service may be acceptable in an establishment that doesn't rely on repeat business or word-of-mouth recommendations: anywhere else and the establishment would be history. Let me give credit where it is due: the hostess was very pleasant and at least attempted to take care of us.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    198
    98
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic grounds, mediocre food, lacking staff and hospitality is a foreign word...”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Beautiful grounds.. That's about it. Plenty of vacationing bus-goers were staying at the inn. Upon entering from the rear, it was nearly impossible to navigate to the front desk or dining room that serves a sit down ala carte breakfast. There were no staff present anywhere and other guests were meandering around looking for staff as well - to ask questions.

After finding the main dining room, we were greeted by a not-so-friendly hostess that sat us in a large, empty dining room - it was SO quiet I could hear my heart beating. Jazz would have been greatly appreciated (at one point I would have been happy if there were a homeless saxophone singer playing in the corner)... AND then we waited and waited, waited some more and about 15 minutes later our "straight from the neighborhood diner" waitress arrived at our table with a not-so-friendly demeanor. It was obvious we were an inconvenience for her and she spoke about how she dreaded 10AM to come around, as it got busy.

We then waited for another 15 minutes before our coffee and orange juice arrived. I asked for skim milk with my coffee and it was brought over in a beverage glass - I stated that it was only for my coffee and she left it the way it was. I asked if she could put it in a creamer because it would spill everywhere when I tried to use it. She was blatantly irritated. Common sense, please. Once again, hospitality anyone?

The eggs benedict was comparable to an average brunch buffet and was definitely not made to order - the eggs weren't runny and the hollandaise sauce a thin, oily liquid. The home fries appeared to be burnt, microscopic pieces of potato skin. Edible due to hunger, nonetheless, but not impressed. Oh.. and they were completely out of bagels at 8AM?

Coffee was not offered to be refreshed and the check was brought over while eating. After asking for a coffee refill, she came over twice in a matter of 5 minutes to see if the check was ready. Again, what is the rush for? There was one other table!

Receiving the check and paying the bill was the speediest operation.

Needless to say, after driving two hours to check out this "charming" establishment I will not be back, nor recommend to anyone I know.

Good luck with your bus groups... You'll need it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dba80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Should be great but it is not”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I like pubs ... But this one lacks in atmosphere. I was going to have dinner, but decided just to have a martini and shrimp cocktail and split. I was here once before for a late night meal at the bar, and I liked it. But this time, no. The turn off was the incredible noise level the servers constantly made by throwing the dirty dishes into a bin. It was such a turnoff. Servers need to be better trained. Food is over priced for the quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcrreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winthrop, ma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“decent breakfast and value..long long wait for check”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Had a nice breakfast at the Publik House this morning, nice omlette, with english muffin and home fries -, husband had the cornd beef hash with eggs and home fries, coffee was included in the price which contributed in making this a good value. total for breakfast under 18.00. service was good till we needed the check - then we waited a very long time (maybe 15 minutes) seemed especially long considering there ere only 4 tables occupied in the place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cookies”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The same coworker a few years back that recommended that we stay at the Days Inn in Sturbridge on our way to Maine also said that we had to stop in here for the cookies. Glad we did because they are great. The other baked goods look great too, but I've just never managed to get past the cookies. The cookies help make the rest of the drive up to Maine just an ounce better.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
Thank TOOM1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Publick House Historic Inn also viewed

 

Been to Publick House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing