We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish & Chips Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sturbridge Seafood

Sturbridge Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Sturbridge Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $44
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sturbridge Seafood is offers a variety of creatively prepared dishes from sea and land featuring the freshest seafood the area has to offer. Our menu changes almost daily to reflect what is available. From award-winning chowder to shared plates to entrees there is something for everyone. We have 14 taps of craft and American brews, over 20 wines by the glass and artisan as well as classic cocktails that change with the whim of our bar staff. We are excited to add our unique culinary perspective to the Sturbridge, MA restaurant scene!
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We travel often and eat out much more than we should, so when I say this is the best Fish & Chips meal we ever had, we really mean it!

The fish was fresh Cod and was so thick and perfectly cooked it just melted in your mouth. The home-made tarter sauce again, was the best we have ever had. The fries were perfectly fried as well and had such a good taste. The best part was the entire meal only cost $7.99!

The outside appearance of the restaurant may put some people off, as oddly enough is attached to a pizza restaurant but the inside is very small with only about 20 tables and a small bar.

The restaurant is less than one mile to Sturbridge Village.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teambono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    85
    22
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

This restaurant had a great atmosphere, great staff and most importantly excellent food. I checked it out on trip advisor and expected to see average restaurant. It was so much better. There is not a lot of room so make a reservation. They are expanding and making a fish market, too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familywith2kidsNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, CT
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Whole Belly Clams - Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I had a Strawberry Pistachio Salad and an order of whole belly clams. The salad was good and the clams were excellent.

The fellow sitting next to me had a Shrimp Cocktail that was made with some of the largest shrimp I've seen recently. I was tempted to snatch one when he wasn't looking.

The chief was an interesting chap. He designed and built the tables and bar. The bar was constructed using wood from wine crates.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
171 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Clam Choda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I stopped in for lunch and found the place to be very cute inside. I had the Clam Chowda which was different than most. It was N.E. style but darker than most. It had a misterious taste and I could discern bacon in it but not the other item. The waiter said it was "Smoky" bacon and that really cleared it up. The Chowda was delicious and a bowl serving only $5.00. We both had fish and chips ($8;00) that was tender and flaky and very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dino T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Great Craft Brew, itty bitty space....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent two days in Sturbridge at the Host Hotel and Convention Center for a two day conference. We love Old Sturbridge Village and go there often. We had not been to Sturbridge Seafood and so, on our first night we went for a visit, at around 4 PM. The room was already filling up. It is a small space. We understand they plan to expand, good thing! We took the last two seats at the bar and enjoyed a wonderful evening of fine craft beer, outstanding food and the warm and friendly company of Randy, the man behind the bar. On the menu are a number of plates to share. We started with a dozen oysters from the raw bar, four each of three different varieties, and moved onto salmon skewers. The skewers were three large fillet pieces gently roasted. Next on the list was the Staff Favorite. This invention was blackened steak tips and mash potatoes stuffed into a burrito. Finger comfort food at it's best. We added the best Ceaser Salad we have ever had, mostly because it comes in a toasted Parmesan cheese bowl.The bowl makes this salad irresistible! And lastly, the delightful creation of the evening, cheese cake wontons. Imagine cheese cake filling tucked into tiny wontons, the size of bite size shredded wheat, then deep fried, dusted lightly with confectionery sugar and served with both dark chocolate and carmel sauces. Needless to say, we were back the next night, managed the same two seats, and went through the same menu of beer and bites. Our thanks to Randy and the entire staff at Sturbridge Seafood. If we lived closer, we would be there every week!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Turnturn02159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sturbridge Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sturbridge Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing