We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Clam Choda”
Review of Sturbridge Seafood

Sturbridge Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Sturbridge Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $44
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sturbridge Seafood is offers a variety of creatively prepared dishes from sea and land featuring the freshest seafood the area has to offer. Our menu changes almost daily to reflect what is available. From award-winning chowder to shared plates to entrees there is something for everyone. We have 14 taps of craft and American brews, over 20 wines by the glass and artisan as well as classic cocktails that change with the whim of our bar staff. We are excited to add our unique culinary perspective to the Sturbridge, MA restaurant scene!
Southbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Clam Choda”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I stopped in for lunch and found the place to be very cute inside. I had the Clam Chowda which was different than most. It was N.E. style but darker than most. It had a misterious taste and I could discern bacon in it but not the other item. The waiter said it was "Smoky" bacon and that really cleared it up. The Chowda was delicious and a bowl serving only $5.00. We both had fish and chips ($8;00) that was tender and flaky and very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dino T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    88
    24
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Great Craft Brew, itty bitty space....”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent two days in Sturbridge at the Host Hotel and Convention Center for a two day conference. We love Old Sturbridge Village and go there often. We had not been to Sturbridge Seafood and so, on our first night we went for a visit, at around 4 PM. The room was already filling up. It is a small space. We understand they plan to expand, good thing! We took the last two seats at the bar and enjoyed a wonderful evening of fine craft beer, outstanding food and the warm and friendly company of Randy, the man behind the bar. On the menu are a number of plates to share. We started with a dozen oysters from the raw bar, four each of three different varieties, and moved onto salmon skewers. The skewers were three large fillet pieces gently roasted. Next on the list was the Staff Favorite. This invention was blackened steak tips and mash potatoes stuffed into a burrito. Finger comfort food at it's best. We added the best Ceaser Salad we have ever had, mostly because it comes in a toasted Parmesan cheese bowl.The bowl makes this salad irresistible! And lastly, the delightful creation of the evening, cheese cake wontons. Imagine cheese cake filling tucked into tiny wontons, the size of bite size shredded wheat, then deep fried, dusted lightly with confectionery sugar and served with both dark chocolate and carmel sauces. Needless to say, we were back the next night, managed the same two seats, and went through the same menu of beer and bites. Our thanks to Randy and the entire staff at Sturbridge Seafood. If we lived closer, we would be there every week!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Turnturn02159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

If you like food that is well prepared, has fresh ingredients, a perfect amount (not huge like many chain type places, and not tiny where you wonder what to eat when you get home) great wait staff, and different than all the other places around... Then stop in here!
The crab cakes are amazing. Paella was perfect with a slight kick, and everything we have had has been top notch.

So glad they opened! Yum

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BradFamFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cute little place good food”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This restaurant is a little small but it's very cute, they have it decorated like you are at the beach and it definately has character. It doesn't have a huge menu but the choices are good and the food was delicious. Our favorite restaurant was Veritas and it recently closed so we tried this place and were pleasantly surprised. We will be going back : )

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank whiterhino42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Expect the Most”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The whole dining experience was memorable, although from the outside one might easily overlook the place. It is a small, unpretentious building shared with a pizza house. Once inside the experienced, young servers are ready to provide you with everything you require to enjoy a very fine meal. Fish is fresh and the choices will dazzle the the most impeccable appetite. I had the baked cod with mustard mashed potatoes and asparagus. I can't 'tell you which I liked better, I enjoyed every mouthful! Even our neighboring diners were delightful, this restaurant has tons of small dinner house charm! I am looking forward to the chance to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sturbridge Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sturbridge Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing