We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I recently got married at Old Sturbridge Village and stayed in the "honeymoon suite" in the old Oliver Wight house. Our stay was absolutely wonderful and we will certainly return. Many of our wedding guests also stayed here and had equally pleasant stays. The manager, Brian, and his staff, including Christine, Dale and Debbie, were extraordinarily helpful and calming to a very nervous bride. Thank you all for helping to make my wedding as beautiful as it was. The decor is fabulous and the beds are luxurious!

Room Tip: If I have to critique something, note that the walls between rooms in the Oliver Wight House are thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests enjoy a pleasant and comfortable stay, especially our nervous brides. Don't forget to come back when you and your husband can enjoy the Inn & Lodges and the Village during more relaxing times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 363 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight in one of the "cottages" and it was a entirely pleasant experience. The very large room had a separate entrance, windows on 3 sides, and a view of woods. The king bed was extremely comfortable and the room had a wing chair, desk and chair, and large flat-screen TV. The wall paper, drapes, etc. all were fresh and new looking and everything was very clean.

The complimentary breakfast was perfectly adequate and in a pleasant "colonial" style room.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the price very reasonable.

I wish every place I stayed had one of these inns!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Many of our guests comment on room amenities and how roomy our rooms are. Our property is unique which sets us apart form other hotels, motels and inns. Our complimentary continental breakfast is just enough for our guests to enjoy a pleasant day at the Village. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Room was clean and new. All the amenities you could want. We travel to Sturbridge just about monthly, and now have a new favorite place to stay! Breakfast was more than ample. We walked over to Friendly's for dessert in the late evening, which is super convenient!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We were pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and have now found your favorite place to stay when in Sturbridge, Yes having a walkway to Friendly's is very convenient. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Made a reservation here because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Visually the most interesting lodging we have had since our favorite B&B went private in Cape May. This is a small property with about ten rooms in a renovated 1800s building and another 30 or so very large rooms in several small buildings. We stayed in room 14 which was one of four rooms in that building. The other buildings were scattered around the property and had four to eight or so rooms each. I was told the property had been closed for a number of years and has recently reopened. Everything looked fresh and clean and very nicely done. If someone wanted to create an old fashioned motor court with buildings simulating New England house styles, this is what you would design.

The room was very large with two double beds, a desk, a couple of soft chairs, dresser, TV, and a large bath area. The weather was perfect for opening windows, but only the window on one side of the room actually opened. There was no way to open the windows on the other side. That is the only negative I can think of.

Breakfast was strictly continental, but very good and served in a lovely many-windowed room with real wood tables instead of plastic and wing chairs for seating. The houses are surrounded with wide, green lawns and include Adirondack-style chairs set out in the lawn for relaxing.

This entire property was relaxing and pleasant. I would not stay anywhere else if I was coming back to Sturbridge. The icing on the cake is that the property is attached to Old Sturbridge Village, so if that is your destination in town, you're in the right place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serenitywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments about the Inn & Lodges. Your comments have been made by many of our guests as they feel right at home with our peaceful and pleasant setting. The room you stayed in did have a big picture window which does not open, however we have others which do not have this feature and all the windows open. Being affiliated with Old Sturbridge Village allows us to offer great deals to visit the Village. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at the Old Sturbridge Inn with my husband and 2 children. The hotel was great, rooms were very spacious and breakfast was well done. The front desk clerk, Debbie, who checked us in was very personable and knowledgeable. We had loads of questions and she never stopped giving us wonderful ideas. I would definitely recomemend this hotel. We are planning on going back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful comments about our Inn & Lodges and Debbie. It was nice to hear how helpful she was in giving you ideas during your stay with us. We have recently added cereal to our breakfast and also have gluten free item. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here and found the overall experience to be fabulous? Debbie Mulcahy was very courteous and friendly. I would highly recommend the Old Sturbridge Inn if you are looking for a nice break from the chains.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Happy to hear you had a fabulous stay and Debbie like all of my staff was courteous and friendly. Many of our guests find our Inn & Lodges a pleasant break from the chain cookie cutter hotels. Look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the old sturbridge inn for my sisters wedding. The rooms were clean and cozy. Christine and Samantha at the front desk were very helpful in accommodating our post wedding breakfast in the common area for our large family and friends. All the staff and accommodations made for a truly memorable wedding weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

It was nice to hear how friendly and helpful our staff was for your sister's special weekend. Chris and Samantha like all of my staff make all of our guests feel right at home. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturbridge
0.6 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
443 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sturbridge
4.1 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges

Address: 369 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01566-1054
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range: $82 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to New England's largest history museum, the Old Sturbridge Inn and Reeder Family Lodges offer the historic ambiance of the 10-room Oliver Wight House, built in 1789 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, as well as the comfort of and convenience of 29 modern lodging units, each with a private entrance and curbside parking. Discount tickets available for Old Sturbridge Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing