We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are staying in Sturbridge this is the place to stay. Very reasonably priced, very clean, new and convenient. We had been staying at the Sturbridge host and paying more money. When we moved across the street to the "Old Sturbridge Inn" I couldn't believe how much nicer, cleaner and less expensive it was.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank kibbefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We were pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and found our Inn to your satisfaction. Our staff works hard to ensure all of our guests enjoy a wonderful experience during their stay. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 377 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Staff was very friendly, rooms newly renovated , very spacious and lots of green space. If you should stay there ask the staff to show you the Rufus Porter painted walls in the Oliver Wight Inn which are just beautiful. Parma Jewett/HSEAD

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

We were pleased to hear how enjoyable your stay was and how friendly everyone was. Glad you were able to see the Rufus Porter painting. Maybe the next time you might decide to stay in the Oliver Wight House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Have spent two nights once, and a single night later. I'm very much appreciative of the roomy rooms, the very comfy beds, the spaciousness of the bathrooms, etc. Being able to access the room directly is a real benefit, rather than having to walk down long hotel corridors and up stairs. "Old School Charm" sums it up. The staff couldn't be more helpful.

Room Tip: The Lodges are great. Staying in the Oliver Wight House with antique surroundings pampers one, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We were pleased to hear about your experience here at The Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges. Our staff truly makes everyone feel like part of our family. Glad to hear about the Old School Charm. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night during a course on teaching the Industrial Revolution. They have a number of seperate lodges, with a few single story rooms in each building.

Quiet- First off, it was nice and quiet, with no noise of people slamming doors, or talking in the hallway that you get in hotels with long corridors.

Modern yet tasteful- They just opened, and the rooms were tastefully decorated, but with all the modern touches that I prefer- quiet central air, clean rooms, comfy beds, flat screen tv, plentyful parking.

Good breakfast- Continental breakfast was included, and was done nicely. There were bottled juices, an assortment of tea and coffee, english muffins, bagels, cream cheese, butter, and three kinds of muffins.

Great location- Perfect location to Sturbridge Village, and friendly service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and were especially pleased with our charm with the touch of the modern amenities. Our staff has been working hard to ensure all our guests receive a pleasant and comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the in and Lodges and just loved this place. The location is great, the recently completed remodeling was excellent and the staff is was a joy to meet and talk to. We started our vacaton here and then went to Boston and Hyannis and my 12 year old daughter told me she like this hotel the best. The staff gave us a tour of the Inn and my wife and I both fell in love with it and now we have to go back just so we can stay there. They've done an excellent job and if you're looking for a clean nicely decorated room with a great continental breakfast then this is the place to stay. Thanks to the Staff for your hospitality and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We were pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and our lodges were the highlight of your daughters vacation. I will share your comments with our hard working staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just stayed at the newly re-opened lodges and loved it. I love the "village" feel to the place. There was a lovely brick terrace with rocking chairs ( but bring the bug spray) and a great new playground and pool. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is very welcoming. How nice to stay somewhere so nice that isn't a cookie cutter chain. They have a very light continental breakfast and will direct you to other spots for something more substantial. Congratulations Sturbridge!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maymomvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your response, we were glad you were able to take advantage of our relaxing setting. Yes unfortunately the bugs have been bad at night. We look forward to your return and we were extremely pleased to have your group stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from a 3 week stay at the newly renovated Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges! This was our first stay and we cannot wait to return. Long term Internships and Discovery Adventure camps at Old Sturbridge Village bring our family to Sturbridge for extended periods of time, several times a year. We were excited to learn of the re-opening of the Inn and lodges this year.

We were pleased to find a large room with spacious bathroom, large closet, safe, coffee service and a comfortable covered patio to enjoy! Dale and Brian were extremely helpful with reservations in person and on the phone. Debbie checked us in quickly so we could get in our room before a major rain storm hit. Our room was clean, neat, cool and cared for daily-we especially liked and appreciated, Irza's extra special attention to detail when cleaning our room and in leaving extra linens for showering during the extremely hot and humid days when showering twice a day was a necessity!!! Christine was extra kind during checkout and making sure that our reservations for our next visit were complete.

The office offers a great continental style morning service and the entire staff was gracious, helpful and eager to help make our stay comfortable.

Additionally, the Inn and lodges are located within walking distance to Old Sturbridge Village and many eating and shopping establishments. So convenient for us as we visited the village daily during our 3 week stay!

We've stayed at the Hampton, the Publick House Motor Lodges and the Comfort Inn...our choice hands down for future visits....Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges! Thank you for a wonderful stay! See you in September!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms and found them to be equal in all the above qualities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjjshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldSturbridgeVillage, Manager at Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We were pleased you and your daughter had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to your return in September. We do have a hard working staff and it was rewarding to see our efforts are paying off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sturbridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#6 of 14 in Sturbridge
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 14 in Sturbridge
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sturbridge
1.6 mi away
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
#7 of 14 in Sturbridge
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges

Address: 369 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01566-1054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range: $83 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to New England's largest history museum, the Old Sturbridge Inn and Reeder Family Lodges offer the historic ambiance of the 10-room Oliver Wight House, built in 1789 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, as well as the comfort of and convenience of 29 modern lodging units, each with a private entrance and curbside parking. Discount tickets available for Old Sturbridge Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing