We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Massapequa Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Filthy”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I understand the hotel is going through bathroom renovations. But does that make it acceptable to allow a room to be rented for the night that has a film of dust from that renovation on everything throughout the room. The bathroom door had so much dust on the door one could write " please clean me" clearly through the dust. I could easily accept the dust on the 3rd floor hall carpets as I walked by but it doesn't and shouldn't take much effort from housekeeping to clean the dust from the completed room. For the front desk clerk to say " it must be a little bit of the dust from the air settling" is a bit insulting to one's intelligence and not something I would expect from a Hilton chain hotel. After this I wonder if being a Hilton Honors member is worth it. Extremely disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MisterMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara B, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sturbridge, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort or frustration our current construction has caused you. We strive to inform every guest of our improvements and regret this was not outlined when you booked your stay. We are working with our housekeeping team to maintain the same quality of cleanliness throughout the renovation and apologize this was not your experience. We wish that you would have let us dust for you while you were out, or accepted our available resolutions. We hope you will return to see all the exciting changes we are making once our renovations are complete so we may show you the quality hospitality and accommodations you have come to expect from our family of hotels.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    197
    85
    32
    31
See reviews for
222
168
33
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We booked the 2 queen bed suite which was clean and comfortable. It's all one room unlike a typical "suite", however, the room was huge and held 2 queen beds, 2 pullout couches, 2 side chairs and the other usual furniture and still had room for hula hooping, a running track loop and lots of fun activities. The Hampton Inn consistently offers great service and clean, comfortable beds for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

In Sturbridge for the first tiome on a business trip. Long drive in but the experience of the stay at the Hampton in made the whole trip much more enjoyable. Staff was helpful in recommending an excallent place to eat and the overall experience was enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel was conveniently located less than a mile from Sturbridge Village. It's also right off the highway. The Inn is very nice and clean. They have a nice gift shop near the front desk if you need any extras. The free breakfast had lots of choices for both kids and adults. I also liked their healthy choices. They even had bowls of apples out to support healthy eating habits.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank byrne2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara B, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Sturbridge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We are so happy to hear that our property is in a convenient location for you! Also, we're glad you've noticed the new and improved Hampton breakfasts with healthier items including oatmeal with fixings.

Hope to have you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warner, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Housekeeping must have been on vacation when we stayed. Totally under Hampton Inn standards. Bathroom was not clean and the drawers had garbage in them. Broken lamp - almost fell on my 4 year old. I love the Hampton Inn but clearly something is not working in this place. BUT super clean sheets and comfy bed- kids loved the pool and the hot breakfast was perfect for our schedule.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara B, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Sturbridge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Kathleen,

I want to apologize personally for your recent stay not being up to Hampton standards. We have addressed your concerns with housekeeping to prevent the issues you faced from reoccurring. I hope that you'll give us another chance to show you the service you have come to expect from our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Easy to get to, right off of I-90 or I-84. Within a mile of Sturbridge Historic Village and several restaurants. The property feels a bit old, but appeared to be in the process of being updated, at least on the third floor. It was a pretty typical Hampton Inn, including a limited but functional breakfast buffet. Our first room reeked of smoke and they promptly put us into another room, which also had a faint smoke smell, and smelled a bit old and stale. That may be a sign of something wrong with their cleaning process. We stayed another night on our return trip from Boston and this time our room had no odor, and we had a very nice, quiet, restful night. We were looking for a place close to I-90 between Springfield and Brookline, and we had a tough time. For some reason most of the hotels within a few miles of this stretch of road have pretty bad reviews. Most appear to be old and tired. We finally settled on the Hampton and that worked out fine. This isn't the best Hampton Inn we’ve stayed at, but it was adequate and we’d stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara B, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Sturbridge, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review of our property. We appreciate all feedback and use it to focus our improvements in the appropriate areas. We are in fact in the process of renovating all guest bathrooms, and can't wait for you to see the finished result!

Unfortunately, we have been having some difficulties with our smoke-free rooms being smoked in. We try our hardest to get that smell out and sometimes even have to put rooms out of order; we're so sorry that there were traces of the odor remaining in the two rooms you visited. It's unacceptable and we are glad you had an odorless experience on your return trip.

We hope that if you find yourself in Sturbridge again you will give us a chance to show you a higher quality stay than you experienced prior. We look forward to having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Pleasant Front Desk staff. Location was perfect for my needs and having breakfast included was a plus while travelling with children. Not hard finding somewhere to eat outside of the hotel. Breakfast, lunch and dinner options lined each side of the street for at least two miles. Will definitely return in the summertime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Daenia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara B, Front Desk Supervisor at Hampton Inn Sturbridge, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Daenia, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel! We can't wait to have you again once summer rolls around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturbridge
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
0.4 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
420 reviews
3.8 mi away
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#13 of 14 in Sturbridge
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Sturbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sturbridge

Property: Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Address: 328 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01566-1006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sturbridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Sturbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sturbridge Hotel Sturbridge
Sturbridge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing