We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Lunch”

Oliver Wight Tavern
Ranked #19 of 64 Restaurants in Sturbridge
Price range: $18 - $28
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The Oliver Wight Tavern is located at the entrance to historic Old Sturbridge Village, offering a traditional menu in our Tap Room Restaurant, as well as a hearty Sunday Brunch Buffet
Palmer,Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Nice Lunch”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had lunch at the Tavern, and we were quite surprised at the quality of our meals, and the speed at which they were served, especially with a full restaurant. The ambiance of the place is what really sets it apart from other restaurants, and yes the prices may seem a bit steep, but if that is what is holding you back from eating here, they you should not come. The service is exceptional, and the food is Grade A. It can get noisy at times, but everything else makes up for that minor inconvenience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dziadzu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    10
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
southbridge mass. usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“misguided untrue review!!!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

i have the opportunity to dine at this tavern frequently as i am a village member. the above review forgot tmention the two homemade soups, three caesar salad options..the cobb salad and the daily 4-5 daily specials. the above review is about cost only and mcdonald's is down the street. don't dismiss a venue because of you budget or lack there of....kudos to the oliver wight tavern!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boppasdad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Went to Wights after enjoying a wonderful candlelight night at Sturbridge Village. Thought it would be convenient and let the traffic let up before our 1 1/2 hour trip home, so we made a reservation two weeks in advance for 8pm.
When we arrived they were out of all beef and fish dishes, even the beef Wellington appetizer. We almost left but weren't sure of other places in the area, so we ordered other items from their very limited menu - and. It is limited before their shortages. The food we ordered arrived cold, the service was very slow and it just wasn't very good. Certainly, not for the prices. I'd suggest researching other restaurants in the area. It is such a tourist area, there must be better choices. Skip this one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepachet, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Beautiful inside. Pleasant waitress. Food was good. Did ask for Med. rare prime rib and got med. well. Sent back and got what I ordered. Potatoes and glazed carrott were fine. Nice to go in to the Village go to dinner and back in to complete tour.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really bad”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

How can a tavern offer only 2 items for adults for lunch? Cheeseburger or hot turkey sandwich were the only 2 lunch choices which were $13. They had 2 other choices for dinner plates. One was salmon at $18. I forgot what the other one was. The left side of the menu was completely filled in with beer & wine selections.
Don't bother waiting in line like we did. We waited 15 min. sat down, opened up the menu then got up & left. We ended up getting a sandwich right outside the pub. At least they had 3 different kinds to choose from along with soups, chowders & salads.
Really not at all what we expected. It was disappointing to say the least!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver Wight Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Oliver Wight Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing