We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Duck

The Duck
Reserve with OpenTable
The Duck is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 64 Restaurants in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Dudley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We couldn't get in, but there were two seats at the bar so we grabbed them. It was great!! The bar is sunken (or seating raised) so you sat in regular chairs, but the most comfortable restaurant chairs you ever sat in. Service was awesome, food was great and they had live entertainment! What a great night!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerryinMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    68
    25
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“variety and freshness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been going to the Duck for years, there's been a great chef named Rob. Lately the food seems a bit different and not quite up to my standards. Humm, Rob has cut his hours and others are preparing some of the foods.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WHOA! Cheryl Sullivan, knocked it out of the park!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beginning with the kind lady who greeted us, to the preserved beauty of the space, the easy to read menu and the exceptional service from Cheryl and the kind man who cleared our table - This was a GREAT! GREAT! GREAT! experience.

The Warm BBQ Potato Chips, Bobby Burger (“Hold the Bun”), Buffalo Grilled Chicken Wrap and delicious coffee/beautiful glassware.

I began my love affair with the Duck, when she was an ugly duckling. She's kept her family proud. I'm so pleased to say that I will be bringing my Mom to enjoy lunch, soon. Her favorite dessert is still on the menu. This is a fine establishment...an establishment that listens...the place mat shows a story of listening to customers during a recent ownership change. I'm please to have benefited from this collaboration. KUDOS!! all around.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always a crowd pleaser!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Duck is one of the first places we ever went to here in Sturbridge - our home town. It has been a great place to consistently have an informal, well serviced lunch or dinner. Lunch is especially popular. The beer is always cold, and the menu will serve whatever level of dining you care to endeavor. The musicians during the weekend are always crowd pleasers too.

I cannot say enough about their special dinner programs, like the beer dinners or holiday dinners. They bring in very popular brewers that speak about their brewery (for beer dinners), and the food pairings are SECOND TO NONE. We have attended brunch during Easter and it was great.

Definitely worth a try... you will find yourself coming back again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good place to meet friends for a brew and dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

dessert menu offers a number of tasty selections (priced a bit on the high side but portion size makes up for price); entertainer was good; ambience was nice for hanging out with friends and family

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duck also viewed

 

Been to The Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing