We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Sturbridge
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good find”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The price was right. The manager was pleasant and friendly. The room clean. However, when I asked for an extra bath towel another person who worked at the counter made a face and told me several times that I had two sets of towels (bath, hand and washcloth). She said this several times and I again told her that I needed one more larger towel. She reluctantly handed it to me. However, in the morning, she was smiling and nice as we checked out. Had an OK continental breakfast. There was no fruit. Should have had some apples considering Sturbridge, MA is known for apples.
It was very close to antique stores and Old Sturbridge, MA.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    18
    13
    17
See reviews for
22
23
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I made the reservation last minute because I had to cancel from another hotel that I was staying at for being so bad. It was right near the Sturbridge Host Conference Center, where my conference was and there were restaurants around. The room was clean and although it was a little worn down, it was good enough for the night. When I was having a problem with the AC, the man at the desk gave a prompt and easy solution. I would stay there next year for the same conference.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lactosefree11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, Manager at Econo Lodge Sturbridge, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
I would like to say thank you for showing your concern about your last stay at our hotel.Mostly you are happy with our location.I hope we will see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This motel has the best location in Sturbridge for budget conscious travelers, directly across the street from Old Sturbridge Village entrance. It is up on a hill, a distance off the road, which made it a quiet location. Although the grounds were quite lovely, here was some trash strewn around on the side on which our room was located. However, the room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was coffee, juice, bagels, and muffins in a corner of the small lobby.

Room Tip: The back of the motel looks onto an elementary school, baseball field, and basketball court, so it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hil47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill P, Manager at Econo Lodge Sturbridge, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about our location.
yes, we do have Elementary school in back of the hotel.
Most of our guests enjoy watching kids Baseball Game.
They love to see them. Kids are very well behaved, are not noisy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Was everything we expected. Location was good, easy in and out. Front desk was ok, room was basic, actually a little bigger than I expected. I would stay there again for a night. Breakfast was not much, few muffins and ok coffee.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LanceandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamlesh P, Manager at Econo Lodge Sturbridge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking time and showing your concern about your recent stay at our hotel.
Your feedback is very important for us.
I hope we will see you in near future at our hotel.
i can assure you that your next stay will be more pleasant than previous one.
Thank you very much.

Bill Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

we came up for a funeral and needed a place to stay.was told there was wifi,iron and ironing board which there wasn't.on top of that the phone wouldn't even let you make local phone calls.the worst part
of was after the funeral i received a phone call from the hotel insisting we drilled a hole in the bathtub and water was leaking and was gonna charge us for it. Management was rude and insisted that we did after we explained we were there for a funeral.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamlesh P, Manager at Econo Lodge Sturbridge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time and showing your concern regarding your stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Instead we do have secured Wi-Fi, Iron available on request and local calls always free. [Instructions on phone how to make local calls] we didn't make any charge on your account.
Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sturbridge hotels

maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Only needed to find a room for a night we found a coupon in a book for this motel some thought we would try it .

Room was not bad ,basic room . The sheets on the bed were pretty worn around the top ,stain on the coach ,dirt in the corners of bathroom . To top it off ...no hot water in the morning ?
When checking out mentioned to the lady behind the counter ..didn't say anything!
For 50.00 I quest you can't complain ,but don't think we'll go back there again !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamlesh P, Manager at Econo Lodge Sturbridge, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.


Sincerely,

Kamlesh Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Room was OLD looking and feeling. No in room coffee pot. Needs a complete update. Front desk looked updated. Did not feel comfortable. Do not recommend to any one stopping on their way through. Will NOT stop and stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57mutt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamlesh P, Manager at Econo Lodge Sturbridge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking time and showing your concern about your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our team, i would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations.
Your satisfaction is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sturbridge hotels
0.4 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
1.0 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#11 of 14 in Sturbridge
629 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Sturbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Sturbridge

Property: Econo Lodge Sturbridge
Address: 408 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01566-1058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Sturbridge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an easy stop on the road at the pet-friendly Econo Lodge® hotel in Sturbridge, MA near Old Sturbridge Village. Conveniently located off of Route 20, this Sturbridge discount hotel gives you easy access to Hyland Orchard & Brewery and such nearby attractions as: Old Sturbridge Village, Brimfield Antique Show, Quabbin Reservoir, Bolton Orchards, Southwicks Zoo, Stageloft Repertory Theater, Wells State Park, Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, MassMutual Center. Shoppers can browse for treasures at The Center at Hobbs Brook, Sadie Green’s Curiosity Shop and the Auburn Mall; and we are only 20 miles from the DCU Center in Worcester, a premier indoor arena and convention center. This discount hotel in Sturbridge cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a flat-screen TV, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave and desk. Econo Lodge® hotels are the familiar name that makes travel simple. We’re easy to find, easy to book and easy on your wallet. We think that just makes travel a little easier on everyone. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Sturbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing