We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sturbridge Country Inn

Sturbridge Country Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sturbridge Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Sturbridge B&B and Inns
wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
1 review
“Just what we needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

Exactly what my husband and I needed. Just a quite, cozy, romantic evening away from home. The fireplace & the tub in #9 made for a very relaxing night. We actually woke up to snow outside which made the whole experience that much more beautiful. Thank you for suggesting the upgrade, we’re glad we did it. We will surely be back again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    13
    16
    29
See reviews for
7
54
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

If you are looking for a typical motel room, this is not the place for you. This charming inn centrally located in Sturbridge, albeit it needs some outside paint, offers a slice of old New England that you will not get anywhere else. The owners, family owned, where very attentive to our needs, sociable, and open to any suggestions. We spent a month at this inn, using it as the base to travel to other parts of New England. Close to the Mass. Pike, we were able to "get around." The Country Inn is a "ma and pa inn;" something different.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicago008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Disgusting in every way! Old, dirty and just plain gross! Definitely ask to see the room before you check in! Once you run your credit card, you are stuck.

Gross, gross, gross. I want to take a shower just thinking of this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familytraveler339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sturbridge hotels

Connecticut
Level Contributor
638 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

A group of traveling friends stayed here this weekend. We come to Sturbridge on occasion for the local theater group performances. The inn is old and in need of repair. There is evidence of neglect throughout the common areas. I could go on, but, you can read the other reviews. On the plus side, the tiny room was clean with no offensive odors. The clean bathroom had an eighties update that included a jacuzzi tub and a very nice shower. The kingsized bed was lumpy but tolerable the ac worked and the traffic noise was not bad. The staff was accomodating. We've stayed in Sturbridge several times. I can say from experience that there are far worse offerings for the cost.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARJACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

Pleasant B&B, beautiful roomy rooms with fireplace and jacuzzi. Owners very pleasant. Breakfast delivered weekdays to room. On the main street, next to the Copper Stallion pub.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

We booked this 'Inn' on the way to Cape Cod and left after 2 hours of staying in the room! Where to start..... The halls, floors, walls, ceilings are dirty, water stained and dented. The room had old dirty carpeting, unpainted plywood patching, Dollar Store drapes and bedding (perhaps purchased in the 70's), dirty wicker furniture, a bathroom that opened into the jacuzzi that opened into the bedroom and the most awful smell of mothballs, cleaning solvent and mildew. The windows were bolted shut so there is not access to fresh air. Then there were the ants crawling on our legs in the bed....When our disappointment was relayed to the innkeeper, he replied, "What were you expecting?"
This inn could never be considered clean, quaint, romantic, interesting,' luxurious' (Lanier's Guide!) or 'appointed gracefully' ( American Historic Inns,Inc) Perhaps the writers of these guides should personally visit this inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CBurkeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

1. Staff not nice
2. Hairs in my bed
3. Spiders in bathroom
4. Weird bugs in bedroom
5. Smelly
6. Dirty windows and common areas
7. Breakfast area locked for breakfast with no staff present
8. Ridiculously expensive for staying in a dorm room
9. Mattress won't do wonders for your back.
10. TV from 1972
11. Sign outside says food and spirits. no food; no spirits

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gibier123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sturbridge hotels
1.1 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 13 in Sturbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.8 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 13 in Sturbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#10 of 13 in Sturbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sturbridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Country Inn

Property: Sturbridge Country Inn
Address: 530 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01518-1210
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sturbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sturbridge Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1840s Inn, located in the heart of Sturbridge. A charming blend of old and new, our 15 rooms/suites all feature a fireplace and large whirlpool tub. All rooms offer king or queen beds. We offer a complimentary breakfast, afternoon refreshments and complimentary wine or champagne for special occasions. Close to Old Sturbridge Village, and many restaurants and shops. Sturbridge is a perfect starting point for touring New England, just 1 hour from Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sturbridge Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Country Hotel Sturbridge
Country Inn Sturbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing