We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nobody was there to check us in...never responded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sturbridge Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Sturbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were going to a concert in Tanglewood and wanted to stay closer to Boston so our morning drive would be shorter before work. I was nervous upon making this reservation because the reviews were mixed. Especially because most of the positive reviews are written by people who have only written one review, and that strikes me as illegitimate. I called (the answering service) to make a reservation and Kevin called me back. I made the reservation the day of. I tried to call back to cancel and I couldn't get ahold of anyone. So, we arrived at the hotel to check in during the allotted time (4-7pm) and no one was there! I called (the answering service) and so one returned my call! We couldn't check in. We waited around the town for about an hour and didn't hear back. I am not the very nervous type, but I did cancel my credit card this morning in fear that this operation is even sketchier than it seems.
Just a weird and unpleasant experience overall. I can't even imagine what the rooms would look like judging by what we could see just from looking in the windows. We ended up Hotwireing a 2star motel a few towns away and it was just fine!

Room Tip: Get a room at a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 138 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I have stayed here many times. We keep returning because we love the cozy, hospitable environment. Every room has a gas fireplace and a large hot tub which we love! They have a lovely continental breakfast each morning. It is very centrally located and right next store is a wonderful restaurant for lunch and dinner. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We had a wonderful stay - we will be back! Loved the front corner room - very cozy and quiet and will request it the next time we return. Our last stay was awhile back [few years] - it was our 1st time staying here. We had an enjoyable time - the gas fireplace and hot tub won my wife over !! Only an hour away - but a great hour away for some quiet and relaxing time!

Ed McGee
PS. Great pub next door for good food and meeting the locals!

Room Tip: The innkeep let us look at 4 or 5 rooms before we decided. Since it had been a few years since we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

it feels more like a house but it is very nice. not used to that type of trip but it was very nice. only for a night or too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 807bkny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday and got the Romance Package. What a value! Between the massage and dinner, it was like staying for free! The inn was wonderful and the hot tub was heavenly! We were centrally located to everything we wanted to see and can't wait to stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the front of the main building and heard no street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I made a reservation, read the reviews, and canceled it that same day. The next morning I spent around 2-3 hours calling almost every inn, B&B, or even hotel that had a decent rating in RI, CT, & more. NOTHING! If they had an open room, no young children permitted. Too bad, we had a 4 year old, a 2 year old, and a 6 week old infant. As a last resort, I reserved a room again. I could go on about some of the negative reviews here, but it would take too long. Yes, some areas are worn and need the attention of a skilled handyman. However, it is obvious that some exterior renovations are underway and hopefully the interior will follow. The room was CLEAN!!! And they welcomed our children. My son accidentally pressed the carbon monoxide monitor and set it off. Not knowing if it was faulty, whether he pressed the test button, or whether there was a real danger, I called the owner. He was down ten minutes later with a replacement, even though the lobby was closed for the night. That's service! Weekend breakfast is a buffet of muffins, coffee, juice, bagels, cereal, & fruit. No hot cooked foods and not a lot of variety but staff keeps the table filled. If you leave hungry it's your own fault. Weekday breakfast is very light, we kept ours for a snack and stopped at Annie's Kitchen for a full cooked breakfast. Would I return? Yes. You get what you pay for, and $149 per night for a king bed & a jacuzzi was IMO a good deal. Third night was about half price.

Room Tip: Stayed in front corner room- you'll get some traffic noise but didn't bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary at this wonderful inn. We had a great time. The room was very quaint with a real working fireplace and a corner jacuzzi. We also had a king size bed and a little breakfast area as well. We had so much fun at the Sturbridge Country Inn and it's surroundings that we will definitely come back in the future!

Room Tip: The king size bedroom was great...lots of room even with the corner 2 person jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sturbridge hotels
1.8 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#7 of 14 in Sturbridge
456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sturbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 14 in Sturbridge
466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
Scottish Inn Sturbridge
#6 of 14 in Sturbridge
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sturbridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sturbridge Country Inn

Address: 530 Main St, Sturbridge, MA 01518-1210
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Sturbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sturbridge
Price Range: $76 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sturbridge Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1840s Inn, located in the heart of Sturbridge. A charming blend of old and new, our 15 rooms/suites all feature a fireplace and large whirlpool tub. All rooms offer king or queen beds. We offer a complimentary breakfast, afternoon refreshments and complimentary wine or champagne for special occasions. Close to Old Sturbridge Village, and many restaurants and shops. Sturbridge is a perfect starting point for touring New England, just 1 hour from Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sturbridge Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sturbridge Country Hotel Sturbridge
Country Inn Sturbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing