We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Fun Fun!”

Old Sturbridge Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Sturbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A recreated New England village, with authentic period buildings, provides vistors with an intimate view of life in the early 1800s.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fun Fun Fun!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

just plain fun and relaxing. We felt everyone on the staff was very friendly and the crowd was friendly also.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    252
    49
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very large living history village”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have been to Old Sturbridge Village many times over the past couple of years. We decided to add this to our trip this year in July and it was as remembered. There are many buildings and walking paths you can explore. One thing I did find disappointing is that there did not appear to many people in the buildings dressed in period clothing as I remembered.

There is a lot of walking and you can easily see everything in under two hours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Teambono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So much better than we expected!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

So much more to see than I thought. Staff was helpful. Property seemed well maintained and authentic. My kids learned about the history while having fun. We could have spent 2 days here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank familywith2kidsNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NJ
Level Contributor
227 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Kids Admission is Free in Summer!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Village opens at 9:30 am this time of year and since it can get quite hot it's worthwhile arriving there early. We had an absolutely wonderful time while there. We spoke with the cooper, blacksmith, general store owner, school teacher, botanist, ministers wife, carriage driver, etc.
They were all wearing clothes that would have been worn in New England in the 1830's, and were so knowledgeable about the times and the positions each would have held in the Village. Every question we asked was answered and we learned quite a bit. It's a great place for children to learn and have fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old Sturbridge Village is a must if you are near Boston.”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My mom had taken me here 50 years ago and I decided to take my two kids ages 8 and 12.
It was a wonderful experience. We enjoyed going into the different trade shops and taking with a printer, blacksmith, cobbler, teacher about life in 19th Century New England. Especially fun was a stage coach rider around the town square. The kids were able to fish with the assistance of a young man that resembled a youthful Icabod Crane. In fact we were fascinated by how well cast all of the townspeople were. We didn't stay a full day as we had a limited time frame, but even a two hour visit was well worthwhile.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank castroNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Sturbridge Village also viewed

 

Been to Old Sturbridge Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing