We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal, Charming Restaurant”
Review of Lastoria's Italian Grill & Bar - CLOSED

Lastoria's Italian Grill & Bar
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal, Charming Restaurant”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've been here several times and I really don't get the negative reviews. Charming decor with the right lighting and music. Large menu with reasonable prices...All dishes were delicious including my Veal Milanase, the apple gorgonzola salad and the smore bread pudding. The chef came around and was very genuine and friendly. I will be back again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HinghamPonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    4
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
easton mass
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“terrible at best service even worse”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had 7pm reservations for 7people on New Years Eve.Ok granted its a busy night but even basic service would of gotten us silverware and napkins without asking.We got 4 menus to split between 7 people.After 15 minutes of waiting the waitress arrived took drink orders.1 hr and 45 minutes later our dinners arrived.Ridiculous overcooked pasta enuff to feed a baby bird along with a decent portion of chicken parm.Very dissappointed in the meal and service.Will probably be last visit for quite a while.Too bad another good restraunt turning terrible.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't Go Here”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went here Saturday night and told it would be 15-20 minutes. Ended up waiting an hour. Tables were available and people were getting angry when the hostesses said the kitchen couldn't handle the crowd. The bar was overflowing into the table area. They ran out of menus, tablecloths and water glasses. After being seated, the food (pasta for 2 kids and 2 adults) took another hour to arrive. Couldn't get a knife or a spoon from the waitress, just a fork. Asked to speak to the manager and was told by the waitress that he's too busy to come out and talk. Probably because he didn't want to give us a discount or free meal and was scared everyone else would accost him. What a total coward! This place needs to be on Restaurant Impossible! There are plenty of other Italian restaurants all over the area better than this one.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AJacksonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Got there early, 6:10, told wait would be 15 min. Sat at table at 7:00 This is after telling the girls, (hostesses) that we saw two tables free, can't we sit down. They couldn't find table cloths or menus! We said we don't mind, already had one menu in our hand, and we were finally seated. The waiter took our order quickly, said he would expedite our order, we had 2 young children with us, lo and behold 1.5 hours later we had our meal! When my husband went to talk to the manager he was nowhere to be found! The food wasn't bad, it's pretty good, but not worth that amount of time. The waiter told us that it is always like this on Saturday night, but we heard him apologize to the table next to us for the kitchen not able to handle the crowd! When we left, many tables were open, but the bar was overflowing with people waiting for tables (8:50), overheard the hostesses saying we can't seat you the kitchen is too backed up.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suzcash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's been better”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been to Lastoria too many times to count. Over the last 4 or 5 times, we have been disappointed. Not that anything has been bad, just not up to what we had come to expect. The food is still good, just not excellent. The service has deteriorated significantly. It is almost like they are not bothering to train the wait staff. The time before the most recent trip, the waitress brought our bottle of wine and began opening it without showing to us. Struggling with the cork, it was like she had never opened a bottle of wine before. She headed off in search of help and returned with an open bottle of wine. Ours? I assume so. She then poured 4 glasses of wine, without offering the the person who ordered it a chance to sample. The service went downhill from there. My wife and I said we would give it one more try and went back this past weekend. Service was better, but not up to its old standards. Food, again was good, but not outstanding by any means.

We may be back, but not for a while.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lastoria's Italian Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing