We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyotoya - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kyotoya
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Collegeville PA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went here with a buddy on a whim, and when I saw it was recently reopened, I was a bit concerned. In the end, my meal was decent, but nothing I would necessarily crave to want to go back. At nearly 6pm on a weeknight, the place was pretty empty with only a few other patrons inside. The place itself was nice inside and there are a couple of TV's on the wall. Unless I'm at a sports bar, I don't really see the need for TV's in restaurants, but that's just my thing. I started with the crab ragoons which were good. For my entree, I went with the chicken in peanut sauce. There was also some mixed veggies in there and I had white rice on the side (brown rice also an option). I was simply a bit disappointed in the chicken itself as it felt a bit chewy to me. Service was good though and prices were reasonable given the portion sizes. Only other complaint is that it was on the warm side inside the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GigemAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Menu changed but food still delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our first time here since the remodel under the new owners. It looks great after the remodel and no longer has a musty smell. They now have a liquor license and the menu has changed. They now serve Thai and Japanese food. The dinner menu has more sushi and not as many options for cooked Japanese food as the lunch menu. But they cooked me something from the lunch menu when I asked about it. I thought the food was delicious and the dishes were beautifully presented. I will be back soon to try the lunch menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shemoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Improved look, degraded service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

New ownership completely renovated the restaurant but this place has lost its personalized service and great friendly atmosphere. Food is ok but not of the high quality Kyotoya was known for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StonehamDiner86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Lunchbox special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We visited this small Asian restaurant on a snowy day which probably discouraged a lot of the regular lunchtime crowd from going out. The lunchbox specials were fabulous--the variety of selections available for a combo lunch was tremendous, allowing those who like both Chinese and Japanese menu items to combine freely. The portions were so generous we could not believe these were luncheon meals. My meal included tempura, chicken wing, california maki roll, lo mein and hot/sour soup. My lunch partner's meal included a filet of terriyaki salmon. Presentation was delightful, and so was our waitress. The restaurant was small in a strip mall location, and the decor was modest. But the food was impressive. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
1 review
“25% off at Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

25% off coming on 2:30PM to 5:00PM Mon to Fri, surprise me . I come to Kyotoya at 3:00 PM today and the waitress told me about the news, It's really a good deal . t
The sushi is fresh and tasty ,nice service.I am sure I will come again and bring all my friends here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing