We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Official Hotel
$180
View deal
Booking.com
$180
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/05/21
Lol.travel
$126
View deal
Priceline$180
Expedia.com$175
Trip.com$199
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,439)
Filter reviews
1,439 results
Traveler rating
656
425
196
112
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
656
425
196
112
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main dining room front porch new england norman rockwell maple glen prime rib rocking chairs historic hotel turkey sandwich people watching clam chowder the main hotel main street house cat third floor tavern antiques
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
459 - 464 of 1,439 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2017

Originally built around 1773-but as most wood structure it was burned down and rebuilt in the 1800's and added onto over time. I swear the bar room floor on the main floor is the original wood plank floor from the original structure-wide and foot worn down. As with any structure of this vintage the floors are so uneven you could drop a marble and it would wander the place for a half hour. Old artwork and photography adorn most of the Inn as well as true vintage furniture-there is a brochure that describes the origin of many of the pieces. The staff is extremeely courteous and friendly. We were there for only one night visiting a friend-but had dinner in the main dinning room which is opulently appointed. I had a glass of the house Cabernet which is one of the best I've ever tasted. However my favorite way to rate a restaurant is the Onion Soup which for my taste was undercooked and bland. However the Salmon dish I had was fantastic. We wnt downstairs to an after dinner drink at The Lion's Den a very nice place to hang out-but as good as the singer was on stage he was loud enough to to have been heard by the last row at Woodstock-made a normal conversation very difficult. If you go do not miss The Norman Rockwell Mueseum nearby and supreme delight all in itself!

Room tip: They are all different we've stayed twice there-no 2 are alike.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stever401
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

A nice but frigid getaway this weekend with some highs and lows:

We were in a very small room and unfortunately any time the people above us walked around, we could hear the squeaky floor. Enough to wake us up. And they went to bed really late. Shower had some issues with consistent water temp - was super cold then went to burn-you-hot. The wait staff wasn't super friendly. One we had was miserable. Truly. The breakfast was a buffet as they had a limited menu due to a kitchen renovation (they called to let us know in advance which was very good of them). But geez, $15.00 was absurd for what was offered. I'm still irritated about it. You could get a better one free at Comfort Inn. And no coffee is offered in the am. I sent my husband down the street when it was 3 degrees out.

The good... The place is lovely if old stuff is your thing (looks just like our house including the antiques so maybe we should stay at the porches next time); the food was good at the main dining room (great wine list) and in the pub. I love how you can get a drink and find a spot to sit. We enjoyed the back parlor. Nice and warm with a gas fireplace. Overall a nice respite from Trump but I'm still tired.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mysticmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele K, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! The Red Lion Inn has been welcoming guests with open arms for over two centuries, and the creaky floors, warm antiques, and classic, thoughtful food are all part of the experience of stepping back to a different time in American history, away from the hustle and bustle of our chaotic lives. Part of that experience is genuine hospitality. I am very disappointed to hear that this was not the case during your breakfast buffet and that you were not able to partake in our complimentary coffee that is offered daily from 6-7:30 am in our Widow Bingham’s Tavern. We do hope to welcome you back soon to prove to you that the service you received that morning is an exception and not the rule. We aim to provide a memorable escape for everyone who seeks asylum from the exhausting pace of the present by offering a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere for all to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017

Travelers who value a true old world charm located in the heart of the Berkshire's, will not be disappointed by The Red Lion Inn. It's updates sustain the charm of The Red Lion Inn. The rooms are comfortable and cozy. The gas fireplace provided just the right touch, not to mention heat, during a cold and wintry day. Furnishings are just right. The staff extends itself to provide outstanding service. Our dinner was excellent. Prices are very fair, especially considering the high quality. We would not hesitate to return.

Room tip: We paid extra for a kind-suite, and were very pleased.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank reuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele K, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

What a pleasure it is to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Red Lion Inn. Many of our guests appreciate our rooms that have gas fireplaces, especially in the winter, and agree that it’s just the right amount of cozy. All of our rooms are furnished with classic antiques, you can even request a canopy bed or soaking tub; there’s a little something for every individual’s taste. Thank you for joining us while we are going through our kitchen renovation in order to preserve our Historic Inn. The renovation and select Spring menu will continue through Mid-April. I am delighted you found something mouth-watering to savor. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017 via mobile

Had looked forward to staying at the Inn for a long time. Sadly disappointing. Our shower had problems with maintaining proper temperature. Management offered the use of communal shower. We decided to just leave without showers and cut trip short.
Decor is ridiculously dated. I enjoy staying at older and beautiful places
like Congress Hall. Although similarly priced - accommodations were no comparison.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lil1fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Our daughter bought us one of the packages for a one night stay on Tuesday, February 23rd. We had gone a number of times and it was always exceptional. We hadn't gone in about ten years and we were pleased that their hospitality and quality remain unmatched, Historic, quaint, comfortable, and romantic, elements are accented by the best food and service one could hope for!
We look forward to another visit as soon as possible.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ryanjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews