We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunted Hotel?”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
110
Reviewed August 25, 2005

I only wish I read trip advisor before checking into the Red Lion Inn! In August of 2005 I was staying there on a business trip. By chance--out of 21 people in our group, I was given Room 301--a room that another patron had written about on this site almost a year to the day prior!! In the middle of the night, on 3 different occasions, I woke up feeling my toes being tugged on, and someone scratching my hand. I also felt as if someone or something was under the covers with me at one point. Then at 9am in the morning, I woke up when I heard the maid knocking at the door. She opened the room with the key, walked in, and headed for the bathroom. I heard the footsteps come out of the bathroom and stop by the bed. Then suddenly it felt as though someone was "fluffing up" the comforter, as if trying to make the bed on the left hand side. As hard as I tried, I could not move and I could not speak. When I looked up I realized that I was in the room alone. No one had been there! There is much more to this story, but there is too much detail to write it all here. Let's just say it was one of the most unusual and scary experiences in my life. When I got home, I did some more research on the Red Lion Inn. I discovered that on August 31, 1896, the property was destroyed in a fire. My visit was in August of 2005....the other patron who wrote a similar review on this site dated it August of 2004--and they were also checked into room 301! If you ask me--that's more than just a coincidence. I would LOVE to hear from anyone else who has a similar story!! If you do--please write it here.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2005

The porch is charming, though very buggy on a summer night. We like the location, prefering not to be in the middle of nowhere. The lobby or the porch are nice to relax in, though they get crowded with people who are not staying at the Inn. There is a dress code for the main dining room (no jeans or sneakers) so we were not allowed in even for the late dessert we wanted. We have stayed here twice and both times the room was quite small, but I did notice during the afternoon when housekeeping was making up the rooms that there are larger rooms. You must request one of the larger rooms if you don't want to walk into a wall. The bed linens are very nice quality. The three biggest negatives are that the hallway carpeting is old, dirty and very smelly, there is no cell phone service on any provider network that I know of, and the pool is literally fenced in within the parking lot. Not someplace you would want to spend much time. Try and stay in the main building. Parking can be difficult. The staff was unfamiliar with restaurants in the area, but did have a book of menus.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
RI
15
Reviewed July 10, 2005

The biggest problem with this hotel is the service in the restaurants. It is GLACIALLY slow...On two occasions, it took the waiters at least a half hour to take our orders, and on another occasion, we simply left out of pure frustration. Other staff at the hotel were either indifferent or cold. Judging by the very young age and attitude of many of the employees at this relic, management is skimping as much off costs as possible, and results are self-explanatory. Also, don't show up to the hotel after midnight, as there is no-one on duty at the front desk at this hour. This is totally unacceptable for a "4 star" hotel with rooms starting at 215/night. The only positive I will point out is that the housekeeping service was both friendly and proffessional, and the massage therapist was one of the most talented I have ever gone to.

Stayed: July 2005
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2005

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lifeonthejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fairprot NY
112
Reviewed August 22, 2004

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
City, State
14
Reviewed August 21, 2004

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
16
Reviewed June 23, 2004

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
4.0 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
5.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range: $162 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing