We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful New England Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful New England Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and one year old boy for a couple of nights as we toured New England in the fall. We had one of the apartments out back which was perfect for us as we used the Inn as a base to explore the area. The charm and friendliness of the place was lovely and I particulary enjoyed some decent beer in the Den! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubaiuaetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    305
    118
    59
    25
See reviews for
196
494
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We like to visit historic places so we decided to drive up to Stockbridge, Massachusetts for a weekend stay at the historic Red Lion Inn, which dates back to 1773. As with any property that is nearly 250 years old, you can either see the charm in the creaking floors, noisy pipes, threadbare rugs, rattling heaters in shoebox-sized bathrooms, and mismatched furniture (as we experienced in our room, although we cannot speak to others) or you can be disappointed. We chose to do the former and overlooked these signs of an extraordinary life, and enjoyed our stay, although for the rather steep holiday weekend rate of $270 a night, we would have liked a few extra comforts like bottled water in the room and HBO. On our first night, upon our return from dinner, we went to the Lion's Den, the inn's pub in the lower level, and were treated to a fantastic performance by a jazz band. The inn does not charge a cover, and the drinks are reasonably priced. Parking is also free. We will be back for a visit during the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMAigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Stockbridge is a quintessential New England town which was made famous by Norman Rockwell's painting.

The Red Lion Inn is rich in history and charm. The rooms are small and a bit outdated with flowered wall paper and the beds are not overly comfortable. However, the bathrooms are modern. The hotel is a bit expensive considering the accommodations. The main dining room was full and service was good. The food was delicious with something on menu for everyone. There were many large families and groups dining with children so would be nice to have a separate dining area for those choosing to eat a quiet meal.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karumba2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This inn has been here since 1773. It's very pretty. It's historical without being drippy. It's well done and tasteful. The wraparound porch and the rocking chairs are a nice touch.

We arrived late but were able to have a snack in the Lion's Den. There was a guy playing live music and it was very relaxing after a day of travel. My sandwich was very good. And my dining companion loved the French Onion soup.

We stayed in Maple Glenn. The room was wonderful. The bathroom very new and modern. The bedding was warm and inviting. They even had little homemade peppermint chocloates every night. I loved the in-room Keurig machine too. Once I figured it out.

I met some business colleagues in the great room downstairs. We built a fire and had a very productive and comfortable day. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Maple Glenn is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flafreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

i cannot sing the praises enough of the red lion inn, AND, it's companion pub, located below…three friends and i decided to spend new year's eve and the day after at the inn…just delightful….the room was exactly as appeared on the website photos (very important to me)…everyone we encountered was kind and courteous…the only negative was the food preparation for several menu items…granted, the "usual" chefs and such were, apparently, not on duty and several items weren't prepared properly…however, when we shared our disappointment, every effort was made to "make things right"….and the best of all….we awoke, on new year's day, to a lovely blanket of snow….the pub below is fantastic….a great, warm and welcoming place for a drink, some snacks, or, just a warm cup of apple cider and a beautiful fire...

Room Tip: we had a room with two double beds and private bath (i highly recommend that)….our friends had a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldythang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked this as a surprise for my wife. I've always wanted to stay at the Red Lion Inn. It greatly exceeded our expectations.
This is NOT a Holiday Inn or Motel 6. The entire atmosphere is different. The place has character and charm. I would have been dissappointed if it was updated and modern. I've traveled alot and already know how it feels to stay in a modern hotel. But the chance to stay in a place that has housed historic figures... that's unique.
The room was comfortable and clean. The bed was amazing. The on-site restaurants exude class and charm. The lobby area with it's old fireplace and seating was great.
We would stay here again in a second.
As a matter of fact, we look forward to it.

Room Tip: the basebord heater in room 104 (our room) was LOUD!!!! would kick on a few times per night and run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BW2389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

You can't ask for anything else In stay... Friendly, helpful staff... Quaint but large suite room... Exquisite cuisine both for dinner and breakfast... Lovely village setting... Topped off by a live music venue in the basement that feature good artists. Coffee fresh throughout the morning. Can't beat it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dsessions254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
12.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.0 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
3.6 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing