We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world gem”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our third stay at the Red Lion Inn and it was our third fab stay. The rooms we had were perfect and the whole hotel is full of old world charm. We ate at the Lions Den and listened to the girl singing who was just fabulous.
If you are visiting New England this place is a must do, it's a great place to stop between Boston & Stowe in Vermont.
Oh and the hotel cat is really cute.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
There are newer reviews for The Red Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the Meadowlark Cottage which was about 2 miles away from the main inn. We loved being able to leave the busyness of the inn and enjoy the quiet and beauty of the Berkshires. The beds were comfortable and we were able to cook for ourselves in the little kitchen. The cottage had a wonderful back deck where my father and I were able to sit and enjoy the fall colors. Staying at the Meadowlark also included admission to the Chesterwood museum. It was very interesting and fun to learn about Daniel French, whose old studio was where we were staying. The only complaint was that the cottage smelled very musty on our first night. I went and bought air freshener because it was so bad. It was fine by the next morning. Didn't have much contact with the main Inn so I am not qualified to review that.

Room Tip: This cottage is a great spot for families.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Djhoneyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went for a business dinner (private room on 3rd floor). Food was simple and well prepared, table settings and dining room were lovely, and wait staff was appropriately attentive. Restrooms were clean and, though equipped with antique fixtures, worked well. We wandered around a bit to look for the haunted rooms, and I was enchanted with the step backward in time from the architectural details to the ornate décor, even to the wood-burning fireplace smell that permeated the hotel. The building is exactly what I expect from authentic colonial structures -- creaky floors, cockeyed doors, thin walls, stiff furniture, but had the most comprehensive authentic décor I've ever seen -- so many details, like wall-to-wall oriental rugs, carved woodwork, antique photos, dim lighting, etc. I would love to go back sometime with my children and stay overnight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank distortiongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Everything was super expensive, but not - I guess - for a facility that's resting on its laurels. There was no one to greet us, no bell service to take in our luggage much less show us our room, no parking directions. For a handicapped person the parking directions were nonexistent. The sign directed us into the hotel but finding the front desk was up to us. A view of the back and air conditioning units? On a plus sign, the staff was exceptionally friendly. Dinner service was really fast, breakfast was so-so. As everything else, overpriced but not for the location in Stockbridge.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have individual bathrooms; must be shared "down the hall."
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place is my grandmothers wet dream. It is full of quilts, doilies, and antiques. The people at the front desk were somewhat informative and the location for the Berkshires was really good.

Also note, cellphones barely work in Stockbridge so if you use GoogleMaps are anything like that. Good luck too you.

I would say that The Red lIon Inn has a beautiful pool and hot tub area and that was a shock.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

What a comfortable place to stay. Well worth the price.
This is like stepping back in time....shut off your phone and relax! Wish I had booked a massage ..and great year round pool. And the porch is great too!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had our family association's annual reunion at "The Red Lion Inn" in early September 2013. The staff made everything absolutely perfect. The rooms were beautifully decorated. We had a banquet at the hotel and the food and service was A+. This is not a new hotel, being around since 1773, so it's a historic inn. It's cozy and made a unique venue for our reunion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9Buffalolady20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
8.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
302 reviews
4.0 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
151 reviews
5.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range: $166 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing