We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming!”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you're a fan of old fashioned New England, antiques, a type of certain Yankee reserve and frugality not much celebrated these days, you'll like this place. If, on the other hand you're into excitement, "bling" and "twerking" this might not be for you. Being an old Inn, the floors creek and the walls have shifted over the years so you might do better on the top floor. Husband and I stayed over Labor Day weekend 2013 for three nights and were delighted. Great food in the Lion's Den, over-priced but not watered-down drinks on the terrace and free but kinda yucky coffee downstairs in the morning. Eh, what are ya going to do? The terrycloth bathrobes were lovely, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeybadger1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    314
    119
    59
    25
See reviews for
199
504
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Red Lion on a Sunday night in early August. This was one of the rooms with a shared bath, and I reserved at a promotional, "bed-and-breakfast" rate of $125 for the night; the vast majority of the rooms at the Red Lion have their own baths and the rates are quite a bit higher. The place is as authentic a rambling old New England hotel as you could imagine, with numerous clapboard buildings filling the lot behind it, all with rooms of different types.

Pros: the Red Lion in largely untouched by time. If you love old hotels, or that quintessentially Yankee feel -- if your'e a fan of the film SOMEWHERE IN TIME or if you root for Anne Wells to go back to her Massachusetts homestead in VALLEY OF THE DOLLS -- then you'll likely be in heaven.

Cons: the inn is largely untouched by time. My bed had a plywood board under it to firm up the mattress, the air conditioner was a window unit, the TV is years old and the wifi is spotty at best. But I wasn't going to the Red Lion for the wonders of the twenty-first century, and I have a feeling most people who seek it out won't be, either.

As far as the shared bath goes, we were the only ones in it, as far as I could tell (granted, it was a Sunday, and the inn wasn't full); and my only real objection was that the shower curtain in the old freestanding tub was so long that it gathered copiously around one's feet and legs, which is a bit icky considering it's a bathroom shared by four rooms (and the shower-curtain clinging exfoliations of all those guests). Also, upon checkout, we were charged the rack rate, and it took twenty minutes of discussion to correct the billing; so if you get a special rate, remind them when you check in what you're being charged and make sure it's correct when you check out (try not to be put off by a slight brusqueness from the desk clerks -- I said this was a Yankee kind of place, right?). The front porch is lovely; the pub is charming, as is the club-style cafe in the basement; and the walls and hallways, filled with antiques and prints, are worth wandering for hours. I'm not a foodie, but the main (upscale) restaurant seemed to satisfy it's patrons, and the continental breakfast was just fine. And the atmosphere is soaked in history. If you couldn't tell, the "untouched by time" thing is right up my alley -- and for this reason alone I'll be a returning guest.

Room Tip: Shared baths probably more desirable on quieter (i.e. weekday nights).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've stayed at The Red Lion Inn several times. It's a fantastic New England inn that is charming and with all the comforts you'd want. The rooms, the antiques, the fireplace in the main lobby, the lovely heated pool (with heated stone patio) and the wonderful, friend staff all combine for a memorable stay. I've also eaten in all the Inn's restaurants - the main dining room, The Widow Binham Tavern, and the Lion's Den. No matter what your price range and palate, you'll find delicious food at the Inn. Check out their website and get on their email list. They often send emails out with great weekend specials and getaways.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayfaringStranger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great place to sit on the front porch and catch up with good friends. Quaint rooms. Relaxing swim in the pool. Hot tub wonderful for sore muscles. Quite a collection of teapots decorating the restaurant. Home of Country Curtains

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy147248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second stay at the Red Lion Inn The rooms are large and comfortable. Our room had a rocking chair by the fire place which would be lovely in cool weather. I love the large porch out front with comfortable seating. It's a great place to sip some wine and watch the world go by. Inside is an antique lovers' treat. The corridors are filled with cabinets containing collections of china, glass, antique hats,and more. Love the slanted floors in the hallways. The dining room is elegant and has a wonderful collection of tea pots. Servers in the dining room,tavern, and bar met our every need. The front desk staff was very helpful as well. The food is excellent. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I first arrived at the Red Lion in 1976 and have frequented the establishment for the past 37 years. For me it is like returning home. There's nothing to improve, the floors are a little crooked, some windows dated and a few fixtures are old and working... This place is history, it is part of me... The "Lion" is an organic, living and breathing anchor steadfast in America's New England of yesteryear...

Room Tip: I always love the Suites... The smallest rooms are also fine with me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, ME
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent two nights here and had a wonderful time. If you are looking for flat screen TVs, modern furniture in a sterile looking room, this place is not for you. On the other hand, if you want an experience of what a fine hotel was like a couple of generations ago, the Red Lion Inn will fit the bill. Our room was furnished with antique furniture which was very pleasant. The king sized bed was very comfortable. The artwork, furniture, and collectibles in the hallways make the place like a museum. No "cookie cutter" furniture or amenities here! The meals were outstanding, had breakfast in the main dining room twice, dinner once, and also dinner in the tavern once. All in all, a very nice experience. The staff was terrific as well. And, in a nod to the current century, wi-fi is available throughout the premises. Cell phone coverage is spotty, though, but apparently this has to do more with the town severely restricting towers than with the Inn itself. However, a short stroll could generally put you in a position where service could be obtained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 04856Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
12.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing