We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband I and I had one night to get away. Living in Concord, Mass, the Berkshires was a natural choice. I have been to the Berkshires before and had driven past the Red Lion Inn several times, but never stayed. We read the reviews and had reasonable expectations, not too high, not too low. This place is GREAT. If you want a hotel with every technological bell and whistle, this is not the place for you. Put your cell phone away and have a drink on the front porch! Ok fine, so the floors are slanty and the decor is "outdated" (anyone heard of antiques?) but the Red Lion has more nooks and crannies than a Thomas's English muffin. Our room was immaculate and comfortable. The restaurant was charming (food was good, not the best meal ever, but good) and the service was wonderful. We've stayed at, and really enjoyed, plenty of upscale hotels like the 4 Seasons and Ritz Carlton. But this place has CHARACTER. I think the fact that it is family-owned gives it more of a homey vibe, which is a refreshing change from the corporate-run cookie cutter feel of those other places.

I hope it's haunted. I hope I can bring my kids here some day when they are a little older; to imagine them exploring through the hallways and around the corners (there is even an old fireplace hearth and mantle in a bathroom stall in the lobby) makes me happy for good times to come. I hope they don't change a thing!

Room Tip: We liked our room in the main building. Apparently there are more contemporary ones in some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for staying and for taking to time to post a review! We're working hard on cell service here in the town - unfortunately we have no control over it, it's up to the cellular providers who feel Stockbridge doesn't rate the need for a tower, but we're trying! We love our slanty floors, nooks and crannies, and the fact that every one of our 125 rooms (some older, some newer) are individually appointed and unique. Many of our guests find a "favorite" after a few times with us, which we encourage and try to accommodate every time they return. Newer rooms include Maple Glen, Stafford House, and South Wing. Mention these to the reservations person when your booking if you're interested. We've renovated almost have our rooms in the past 10 years, and are planning for the rest, so stay tuned! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    308
    118
    59
    25
See reviews for
199
496
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guntersville, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Everyone should stay at the Red Lion at least one time in their lifetime to experience a slice of yesteryear. I enjoyed people watching from the rockers on the big front porch. The pub is cozy but the entertainment was very late in getting started. I wondered if it was a way to sell drinks while waiting for the show to begin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thanks for posting your review! We're glad you liked your stay and apologize about the Lion's Den band that evening. It's truly not the way we would think to sell more drinks, in fact, we sell more when guests are settled in a happily enjoying our entertainment (never a cover charge!), so I'd really appreciate it if you would let me know what specific night this occurred and I'll follow up directly with the band in question. Glad you enjoyed your time here, and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short hills, nj
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Red Lion Inn for the last few years with our dog and had assumed the musty and humid rooms we had experienced were because we were relegated to pet friendly rooms. However, on this summer's visit we did not bring our dog and our room in the Stevens House was just as bad if not worse than what we had experienced in past years. The air conditioning unit in room 188 was incredibly loud and clearly was emitting damp air into the room. All of the furniture and bedding in the room had a slightly damp feel to it. My husband and I both had headaches each morning. The tub did not drain properly when showering so I was in ankle deep water during my shower. I would recommend staying somewhere else if the only option available at Red Lion Inn is the Stevens House. The rooms are subpar for the $300 per night we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We treated my husband's family to lunch in the dining room. It was a big mistake. When we were first seated the restaurant was very empty. Nevertheless the service was extremely slow. My husband had called ahead and asked about accommodating gluten free patrons and they assured us they could. However, the waiter did not seem familiar with gluten free dining and did nothing to go out of his way to make sure our experience was a good one. We had asked for GF rolls, which came out late (with the meals), had obviously been microwaved and were also hard as they had been left after being heated. My nephew's steak came out partly well done and partly rare, which he didn't discover until he had eaten part of it. We didn't send it back because the service was so slow. I had ordered a salad off the menu & requested it with bacon & cheese. They brought the salad (which was a very small portion for $12) and then brought a plate of bacon and a small container of cheese (which were charged as 'sides'). I guess for what was going to end up being a $20 salad I was supposed to assemble myself. My mother in law had wanted to order a small portion of the meatloaf as we weren't in a position to take leftovers but they refused saying she would have to order the full meal and just throw it out, I guess.

Overall, my impression is that the restaurant is relying on a steady stream of tourists to support their business as I can't imagine that they have many return customers given the mediocre food and very poor service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen_Pan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I can't apologize enough for your special occasion meal that went so wrong. We obviously missed the mark by a wide margin, and I'd appreciate your generosity by allowing us to make up for the errors. We think we have it tracked down to an Aug 6th luncheon, but I'd really appreciate you contacting me directly so we can do our best to prove to you that this was an isolated incident, and not indicative of our usual service, and I can follow up with those involved with this specific meal. Thanks again for your review, we appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

*We has a fabulous ADA room. It is very hard to turn an old building accessible and the RLI did it!
It was wonderful!
*The hotel is beautiful, it is well kept and the charm is there to stay.
*I knew it was pricey however I think the rates should always include breakfast. Including breakfast in their prices would make the stay and the expense much more coherent.
*The food we had for diner was not the best. It was not bad it was just OK. The prices are too high, really too high for dishes that are just average. That was disappointing.
*The hotel should do something about ventilation in the main rooms by the reception. It smells of mold.
*All things considered I would stay there again just because I love old buildings and the history behind it. I would sit at the porch for a drink but will not eat there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks so much for your review, and we appreciate your pointing out our recent success at renovations, which can be very challenging in a 275 year old inn! I appreciate your comments
and observations on our pricing. We are always trying to keep our prices down while balancing costs like fresh flowers (and a full-time florist) through out the Inn, live piano music,nightly turn-down service fresh linens and silver on the tables, well-trained waitstaff, and sourcing the finest local ingredients from area farms to make up our menu. All things that many hotels, (and the area competitors in our price range) have done away with years ago, but we feel strongly that our traditions need to be maintained. Thanks again, and please come back for a visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armonk, ny
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Are you over 100 years old? You'll love it here. Do you enjoy overpaying for gifts in the card shop? You'll love it here. Do you love waiting for worse than average service in the restaurant? You'll love it here.

Be among the first to find another place to stay in Stockbridge. While the Red Lion might have once been "the place to stay" it now ranks among "the place to avoid." For the price, for the torture, for the sheer drag... not worth it. Even their clam chowdah doesn't come up to par.

Room Tip: So many other better accommodations and meals in Stockbridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Wow. Obviously, we've angered you somehow given this sarcastic review and your other one on Elm Street Market. We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations, but again, we're quick to say while we're not for everyone, pretty much everyone who "gets us", loves their experience here, which we pride ourselves on. Sorry again you weren't happy. "White Shoes, Grey Hair, Black Chairs"... Really? Can't think of a black chair in the building, other than a few antiques (and I'm not really sure what that complaint means???) - as for white shoes and grey hair, I assume that's a indictment against the many generations of guests who have been coming here for decades, and now their children and grand children return time and time again to enjoy the same experience. I totally agree, given the tone of your review that we're not what you were looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our room on it's own was really lovely, clean, and well-appointed. A few things took away from a 4 or 5 star experience. We stayed at the Maple Glen cottage and our key worked fine to get in the room, but often did not work to get in the building. It became a real hassle and I had to ask the front desk twice to get a new key made (their suggestion not mine). The second thing was that we put up the 'do not disturb' sign outside the door, the morning we were leaving, and decided we would stop by the room later for our perishables. We get back to the room about a half hour before check out and find the maid service had been in there, cleaned up and took one of our bags with them. We found they were using it for trash in the hallway. Lastly, they lost a couple of extra sales from their well-stocked in-room refrigerator. Two of the juice drinks had already expired and I was bummed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
12.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
386 reviews
4.0 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
3.6 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
317 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing