We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Olde World Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark WA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Olde World Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This classic old hotel is the centre of the universe in Stockbridge.
From the moment we arrived to the time we left, the place was buzzing with quiet activity- plenty of guests enjoying tea on the wide verandah, drinks in the pub, or dinner in the huge dining room. Clearly the place to be and our one night there was very comfortable. Being the old staging post, the building has grown over the years ( centuries actually ) and is very quaint, but well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    305
    118
    59
    25
See reviews for
196
494
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at the Red Lion Inn when I was attending a wedding. My mother who is slightly handicapped was with me. The staff was gracious and patient with us regarding the use of the elevator that needs to be run by an attendant. We never had to wait for it. They never rushed her.

We had a suite that was large with very comfortable mattresses and a large bathroom. There were lovely windows to look out of and adequate lighting. The antiques gave our rooms and the hallway a lovely cosy feel.

The service at breakfast was excellent. We only ate breakfast at the inn and the food was very good.

Here is the caveat! NO CELL PHONE SERVICE!! SInce this is not the fault of the inn I did not include it in my rating. There is wifi. However if you have loved ones at home that you need to stay in touch with or hear from, you may want to consider this in your plans. I understand the hotel is trying to do something about the fact they are in a dead zone for cell phone service.

Also, for people who have trouble walking the floors in the main lodge (where we were staying) were uneven because of their age. I believe there are individual cottages on the premises where one can stay where this is not the case.

The room prices are high but so is the quality. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have stayed at the RLI countless times over the past 20 years. The bones of the hotel are tremendous and during every stay I just think about the possibilities. Now many reviewers love the charm of worn our furnitures, fraying rugs, dark halls and rooms. I do not, especially at $500 per night! I have seen a decline in the hotel over the last decade. The staff is lovely, kind and accommodating. The location is perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meand3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us! I'm so sorry you were not pleased with our decor. Our culture is one of sustainability and re-use, which includes antique carpets, furniture and artwork. Rather than limiting their use, we allow them to be used and enjoyed by our guests, which does, indeed add to their age. Not sure where the $500 per night came from, as our top rate (with tax) in the busiest of seasons is $476 for a full suite with kitchen on a July weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were greeted in an unfriendly manner. The host seemed annoyed that our party of five requested to have lunch. After contemplating where we would sit (mind you there were only 4 tables occupied) he sat us. Joseph our server was fabulous and truly made us feel welcome. I thank you. The food was average and way overpriced. We will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your review,and I apologize for the unfriendly greeting. The host in question is one of our top-rated employees, and I'm shocked with the perception you were left with. please know that we rely on our local guests year-round, and the treatment you felt certainly had nothing to do with where you are from, and I have reviewed your comments with the staff.Thanks again for letting us know, and again - our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We love this place and the resident cat Simon makes it special - however beware that in the heat wave a/c is not always up to pare in rooms. We were in 331 and had to move twice to find a room w air conditioning that cooled off for more than an hour. But it's a very old inn and so deserves forgiving! The plus was the resident cat, simon, spent the night with us! He will only do this if invited in, so don't be wary should you have allergies, also the cat and the residents would really like more umbrellas around the pool - it is very hot!

Room Tip: great location but a bit overpriced
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stdominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I are regular guests at the Inn for several years. We go in all seasons and have until now felt it was our get away place. Having gone so many times I had to finally complain about the food. We love to eat in as it is part of the stay. The menu seems like it never changes and the quality went from very go to inedible. Upon complaining several times and making very specific comments we gave up and canceled all our dining reservations. There are lots of good restaurants in the area. We also had an experience with a non-english speaking maid and told management they need to be able to communicate with guests. The results is top management rudely told us to say elsewhere if we did not like it. We canceled about $4700 worth of future reservations. Very high price with very low customer value. The front desk folks are great, only management has a big problem. We were also told they get complaints about the food but we were told to eat elsewhere if we did not like it. Very high price food with very low quality in our and others opinion. We will miss the Inn but I would not go back on a bet. The GM's attitude seems to be the customer is always wrong.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacka101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I came to the Red Lion Inn in Stockbridge to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary -- we couldn't have asked for a more special evening. The inn's ambiance was beautiful and refined, the service attentive and personal, and the food in the restaurant outstanding. The menu blended traditional New England inn fare with creative dishes that made good use of fresh, local produce -- the apple pie was truly amazing! The only downside to the inn is that it is located on a main street (as most historical inns are) which does get a degree of truck traffic, but other than the occasional rumble, the Red Lion Inn will definitely make you feel transported back to a time of warm candlelight, elegance and hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
12.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing