We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm Goes a Long Way”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stockbridge, MA is the idyllic New England town that made . . . Norman Rockwell. And the Red Lion Inn is the historic inn that makes Stockbridge. How lovely and wise of the management to keep the property clean, welcoming, and authentic without having erased the hotel's charms through misguided "renovations." A historic inn shouldn't be a humdrum Hyatt stuffed into an old building with a famous, well-preserved lobby. If you want 1000 count sheets, out-of-this world mattresses, Floris toiletries and super plush towels, this isn't the place for you. Red Lion Inn is above adequate in terms of its amenities. It is comfortable rather than opulent. The wall unit air conditioning serves its purpose on a hot summer night without circulating that creepy, hospital HVAC airstuff you'd have been forced to inhale had the place been "updated." The furnishings are American; the bathrooms well preserved; the hallways a little crooked, a little dark, and delightfully worn without being dingy. The front porch is a national treasure. What a great place to read the Times on a Sunday morning! We had breakfast in the restaurant, a pretty room with attentive servers dressed as their predecessors might have been thirty years ago. As for the food, it was okay, but the one area in which I'm inclined to be less forgiving of the Red Lion Inn. You'd get a better omelette at many diners. Still, we enjoyed our stay in the Berkshires and at the Red Lion because it gets so much right. Live a little history next time you're in western Massachusetts. Stay at this lovely inn in this most American of towns. We'll be back.

Room Tip: I like an en suite bathroom. You do have to ask for a room with one of those, or you will share (wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickynotsnooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We have visited the Red Lion many times in the past. Always a joy to visit. Very homey and is without question the hub of the town and the Berkshires. We had a large corner room with 5 large widows. Outdoor courtyard dining and central to all the arts, music and theater the area had to offer. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHtravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is one of the most modern oriented historical sites I love, the service, the interior, the food is terrific and acommodations are best when bathrooms in rooms are available, though rooms with accessibility to bathrooms nearby on the floor halls are less expensive, there's nothing like the Red Lion for nostalgia, quality, peace of mind, though summer is especially popular here. The surrounding sites are worth visiting, and you can jog or walk for exercise. Bicycles are prolific.
The foliage in the fall is exquisite.

Room Tip: the assistance is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I spent two nights at the Red Lion Inn for July 4th Holiday. Thankfully, I hadn't booked a third night. The Inn was constructed the year Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration Of Independence and it shows. At first the "Old World Charm" had me fooled but that ended when the first cockroaches made their appearance while I was in the shower. It was quite warm and air-conditioning while I slept (or should I say tried to sleep) was definitely needed. A small window unit was so loud, I couldn't decide whether lay awake listening to the noise or shutting the unit and lay awake in a pool of sweat. Oh, did I mention the key to the outside door was so tricky it took me 10 minute to get in the building. All this for $299 a night!
Sorry Red Lion, you won't be seeing me again.
Rick Alaimo

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This large, rambling, historic hotel is our favorite place for long weekends during the off season
when rates are affordable. Their beds and linens are to die for! There is nothing institutional
here, where every nook and cranny is a new treasure. Near by is the Norman Rockwell Musum, but you needn't leave the hotel as its walls are filled with his paintings. We always stay in the main inn and in a room across from the street(otherwise traffic noise is a problem). The staff remembers us and always makes us feel very welcome. The wood burning fire place in the lobby on cool days is a great place to relax w a glass of wine, and "Simon Gato", the Inn's beloved cat who is also the
Lobby Ambassador and even has his own Face Book page! There is an excellent breakfast place
next door that serves breakfast past noon and is cheaper and better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiang18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Red Lion Inn is everything they advertise, a continuously running inn since the 1700's. I wouldn't go as far as saying the inn hasn't changed since then but . . . My husband and I spent 2 nights in the main inn. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the street - so not much of a view and although we were on the street side the noise was not too bad.

If I had to guess - I would say that the room hasn't been remodeled since the 60's. The room was quite large but very outdated - same for the bathroom.

The grounds of the hotel are quite nice - and the pool is lovely. We never dined at the hotel but had drinks in the pub downstairs (way over priced $16 for a martini which wasn't very good) but they have live music so that is what you must be paying for. We also had drinks out on the veranda which is nice.

The bonus is the location - a 5-10 drive to the Rockwell and Chesterwood Museums and of course it is right in downtown Stockbridge which makes it easy to walk to town.

So if you want to step back into history - this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysgoneFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We look for historic hotels and have always enjoyed them until we stayed at the Red Lion Inn for 4 nights. Some of the staff are very good but the new staff hired for the start of the season are awful. The food is overpriced and not very tasty. While we enjoyed the hotel, sort of, the windows in our room were cracked with pieces missing or they would not open.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank route50guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
4 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
8.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
587 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range: $165 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing