We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and spacious”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We used a groupon to stay at the Red Lion Inn. We had a deluxe room facing the pool and it was nice and quiet at night. There's a lot of traffic on route 7 (including trucks), so try to get a room facing the pool if you can, although traffic slows down a lot at night. The room was large and the bed was a little soft, but comfortable. The bedding was high quality. We ate at the tavern using a $50 groupon meal credit. The seating in the tavern is cramped and we were seated right next to the bar. Fortunately, it was a quiet night at the tavern. We would have preferred eating in the lovely dining room, but the prices were very high. It was hard to buy a meal for 2 and keep it under $50, even in the tavern. The food was very good (the prime rib was the best I've had). The service and desk staff were great - friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool. There's a lot of traffic on route 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimberSyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were in the area for the Berkshire School graduation.

The hotel is a beautiful old New England styled hotel. Large front porch is great for relaxing drinks and conversation with family and friends. The porch overlooks the main street which is very quaint.

Our room was in the main house, it was large. Bathroom was small but functional and the shower was great.

I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Red Lion Inn is comfortable for body and soul. Room 106 had a bed both soft and firm, challenging a lifetime of mattress certainties. The linen was exceptionally fine and the duvet both light and warm. The room was provided with comfortable wing-back arm chairs, a desk, good lighting, a desk, chest of drawers, hanging cupboard and luggage storage space. Amenities included very good toiletries, dressing gowns, hair dryer, flat-screen Telly and DVD player, DD phone and alarm clock. The shower was brill. The room was equipped with a fire and sensitive heating controls, which the staff did not alter whilst one went out.
I liked The Red Lion Inn news, delivered each evening, and appreciated the tea/coffee on tap from 5 am. It wasn't the weather for the pool or outdoor areas, but I enjoyed the number and variety of public spaces available, from the famous front verandah to small drawing rooms and cobbled courtyards. My brother-in-law commented favorably on the gym in O'Brien House, just across the car park.
It would have been nice if the reception staff had thought to offer help with the luggage, given that one of our party was in a wheelchair; or thought that there was an easy way to access the room, rather than sending us through the tavern.
I look forward to another stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Beautiful hotel, pleasant staff but the food in both the Tavern and Lions Den could be better, didn't eat in the Restaurant as it was on the pricey side and after our experience with the other two did't want to waste our money. We had a suite on the fourth floor, fabulous rooms but very noisy - ask for a courtyard room, which we had last time and had a much better nights sleep! Morning coffee was awful but free, could really do with having coffee facilities in the room

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are a must if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekenttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Arriving on a Sunday meant a quiet travel day. Room in the main house was next to our car in the parking lot. Very convenient for the two of us. The dinning room was expensive. But so was all the restaurant in the area. The inn was very quiet and we were able to sit on the main porch and just watch the traffic go buy with a lazy breeze through the porch. The cell phones have a very poor reception which I thought was great. Wi Fi worked great. Over all it was a peaceful and enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Huge historic inn in Stockbridge, MA. The hallways & rooms are adorned with tons of unique historic items/objects. We were in a king room on the Route 7 side. Very noisy in the morning - lots of cars & trucks downshifting to the stop sign next to the inn. Get a room overlooking the courtyard if you stay in the main house. Bathroom was a nice size with robes, storage shelves and adjustable shower head. Adjustable gas fireplace in the bedroom was cool. The whole building smells like a fireplace, which came home with us in our luggage. The main dining room is gorgeous with some very creative menu items. Very romantic at night with candles, etc. The tavern is small and nostalgic with lots of creative drink options. The Lion's Den is in the basement, serves food & has lots of cool board games & live music 7 nights a week. We ate in all 3 spots and everything was delicious. Room service was fantastic. Make sure to put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on your door at night. Housekeeping can be very ambitious in the morning. The outdoor heated pool & hot tub are awesome. Cable TV in the room w/ lots of DVD's to rent at the front desk. Great high speed computer/printer in the library for guest use. Lots of cool little common areas around the house to sit/think/read. There's a cool-looking cat named Simon who roams around the inn (which is weird considering there are 3 public restaurants in there too), so beware if you're allergic. This hotel is a great launch pad for all things Berkshires - check out Bash Bish Falls, Norman Rockwell Museum, Lenox, MA and the Lee Outlets - all within 20min or so.

Room Tip: Route 7 side very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonFabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Used a Travelzoo deal for one night's discounted room with wine and meal (and museum) vouchers, and I'm glad we had the discounts -- eases the pain. The room was fine, the welcoming staff were fine, the bar was fine. But the meal (in the tavern) was, frankly, dreadful. We chose to have two appetizers each and the first - mussels with chorizo - would have been tasty if the mussels had been cooked. At least half of mine were not open. I would have complained had anyone turned up to ask, but the next thing we knew our second appetizers arrived on the table before the first had been cleared so thing got a bit complicated. My second choice turned out to be inedible lamb and my husband's a bit of fried bread with bacon and maple syrup. No noticeable sign of the promised cheese and arugula. On checkout I was not asked if we had had a good stay, which was probably fortunate for the people behind me. Seems a shame that such a well-known place delivers so little. Perhaps we just arrived on the chef's night off?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine_Barr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

I'm so sorry we disappointed you during your stay. It certainly sounds like something was off in the kitchen with your mussels which I will bring up with the chef. When the 2nd course came, the server should have realized your first course did not meet your expectations, nor the third. You have our deepest apologies and assurances that I will bring your experience to the attention of our dining room and kitchen staff. I'd really appreciate you letting me know the specifics (when you dined and stayed) so I can better focus on when and what went wrong. Please let me know off-line (my email is attached) as I'd like to invite you back to prove that this was a one time incident, and not something that happens all the time. Thanks again for letting us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
4 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Bar...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
319 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
3.6 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range: $157 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing