We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Weekend”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent a fun and memorable weekend here - part of our group was in the main inn building and the rest in a rental house on the same property. We enjoyed the very friendly and helpful staff, fun meals in the old dining room with standard and solid New England fare; hanging out in the cozy Lion Den's pub down in the cellar, and roaming the labyrinth of creaking, antique strewn hallways.
Beds were comfortable, and there is a well maintained gym with aerobics machines and basic weights. There is an outdoor heated, year round pool and hot tub that we enjoyed on a frosty evening. Bed were comfortable. There were a few shortcomings.. some found the rooms in the main inn to be noisy ("paper thin walls"), and our rental house had heavy truck traffic past the bedroom window even at late hours; our rental house's kitchen was very poorly equipped, suited only for heated up prepared foods and missing even a bottle opener...if you plan to cook meals recommend making specific inquiries on your rental unit before booking. This a very large and often busy facility, so don't expect the personalized service of a small bed and breakfast inn, the lobby coffee urn may occasionally be empty and there may not always be room to sit by the fire in the charming lobby. That said, we would not hesitate to return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcccward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
There are newer reviews for The Red Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

As a birthday get-away, my wife and I headed to the Red Lion Inn in Stockbridge, Mass. We had been to the Inn many many times before but we has never stayed there. The Berkshires are a favorite place of mine and it is very close to home, so the Red Lion is only an hour or so away. We took the day to get there and wove through the many small and interesting towns of eastern N.Y. & western Mass. The Inn was quaint and inviting. The staff friendly. Even on an ordinary weekend it bustles with people. Our room was perfect with a comfortable king sized bed a well appointed bath and free wi-fi. Should we stay again I think we would ask for a room above the second floor just for a view of the village. There are many housing options. We had a prefect dinner in the Lion's Den the downstairs pub and an excellent breakfast in the main dining room after a great nights sleep. I had a very hard time leaving.

Room Tip: Look for one of the outbuildings or a room above the first floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and found the accommodations just great. Our room was in a corner of the Inn and we had a separate sitting area (very convenient for watching TV and stretching out).

We've eaten at the Inn a few times (always good) but had never stayed. Glad we got around to visiting.

Pick up a copy of the hotel brochures when you check in - they have LOTS of great info about sites to see in Stockbridge. We hiked one day to Laura's Tower (steep - probably 2miles total) but views well worth the climb. If you're not into steep hikes there is a very nice walk along the Housatonic that is flat. This is all about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

When we travel we like to go to out-of-the way diners - we had breakfast and lunch at the Elm Street Market. There were lots of locals there (I think we were the only tourists) and both breakfast and lunch were fantastic (though NOT fancy - think diner counter in the middle of a small grocery store).

Take some time to walk through the hotel and look at the various paintings and decorations. Every floor is different and there are unique decorations throughout.

We had a great time - and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you book a room that is next to Route 7 expect that the traffic will pick up on weekdays about 4a...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are a person who fancies the W Hotel and other modern, hipster hotels with silver furniture, lounge music in the lobby and interior decorating that looks like a 1980s movie's take on what the future will be like ... stay away from the Red Lion. Far away. As time has stood still here on Main Street in Stockbridge since Norman Rockwell painted it in the 20s and 30s.

The street the Red Lion Inn is located on is pretty much Main Street USA from the past. It has been featured in several TV commercials as an idealic hometown and outside of the fall leafpeepers and the summer Tanglewoods concert goers, you come to Stockbridge to grab that New England small town feel. One thing you will likely notice ... there is no cell phone reception in town. No texting, no calling and except for the hotel's free wifi ... no web browsing on your phone. At first it is maddening but after a while, you feel like it is like a vacation from your phone.

The hotel itself is very old and creaky and rustic ... a huge beheamoth from a bygone era with over 300 rooms. The check in desk is staffed by very capable, friendly people ... as you would expect at an Inn. And the keys are real keys ... not swipecards. When you do walk into the lobby, you will likely smell something few places are able to offer ... the nostalgic smell of a pine fire and a warm conversation area of red velvet furniture and coffee table books.

If you are lucky, you will get a glimpse of Sir Simon Gato, the resident lobby ambassador in the form of a black and white cat who saunters around the lobby and floors as if he were the owner of the Inn. A celebrity in his own right. The outdoor porch is amazing in warmer months stocked with comfortable rocking chairs and cushioned wicker furniture. You can grab a drink from the tavern and sit there rocking and talking and sipping wine or beer and watch the surprisingly busy small town Main Street traffic during the day. This porch alone makes the trip worth it on a crisp, sunny fall day.

The rooms are quaint. If you've seen the show Boardwalk Empire ... you will know what to expect. The decor is Victorian turn of the century farmhouse country. Large patterned wallpaper, beds with brass railed headboards and rocking chairs and desks which belong in the window of an antique shop. Some lucky guests will have a gas fireplace in their room. The windows are old and drafty but the heat works amazingly in the rooms, so don't let that worry you. The televisions are small old school tvs and most rooms do have DVD players ... but in a place like this the TVs probably don't get used much.

It really is like being back in the 1900s in terms of the decor. The creaky hallways make it impossible to sneak around without being heard and at night, the walls and doors don't muffle the sounds the way modern hotels do. But, this was built during a time people were more considerate of others and fortunately, most of the guests are considerate when it comes to the noise level.

For those who do enjoy making noise, the lobby's sitting area is a good place to do it. Gather around the fireplace for a conversation ... or do it over locally sourced, very expensive food in any of the restaurants. The Tavern and the Main Dining Room have different menus but you can order off the Main menu in the tavern. Unlike most places, the prices are the same in the tavern (which is cozy and rustic and looks like something out of the 1700s with dark wood everywhere) and the main dining room (which is more formal and Victorian ... some may call it dated looking, but it looks like something from a Rockwell painting). Soup is $10 here ... so, its not for everyone's budget. However, there is a downstairs basement bar called the Lion's Den which has the ambiance of a fraternity chapter room but offers a lower priced bar type menu and live music on most nights.

There is a year round heated pool and hot tub outside which is an oasis in the winter ... even if the walk to and from the hotel in a bathrobe is a little embrassing and cold. This is one of my favorite parts of the hotel at night.

Overall, you won't find a better place to stay in the Berkshires, in my opinion. I know that lately a few designer boutique inns have been making the rounds on the upscale travel sites. And of course the Hampton Inn and Holiday Inn Express chains have both put chains nearby. But this is the real deal ... unchanged since the 20s and 30s from an asthetic sense (although the bathrooms in many of the rooms have been updated nicely).

It is not exactly budget friendly in the fall and summer months but for what you get, it is usually worth it. The rooms aren't huge ... the furnishings aren't brand new ... but that is what you are signing up for when you stay here. A time warp to a past generations ... in its heyday this was both a luxury hotel and a friendly small town inn. Book a room at the Red Lion Inn and you will get a few days of relaxation and a wonderful homey feeling. Book a room at the Holiday Inn Express a few miles away and you'll get free breakfast with mass produced Cinnamon rolls and a room that looks like every other budget hotel room in the US. Gee, I wonder which I'd choose!

Room Tip: Some rooms have hallway bathrooms or arent in the main inn. Go for the private bath/main inn.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovinHotelLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here on a trip to the nearby National Shrine of Divine Mercy (two blocks away). I stayed in a room that had a shared bath. The room was clean and comfortable. The pub on the lowest level had a great atmosphere with good and reasonably priced food (the main restaurant is very pricey), and the general location of the hotel is great. Parking is also very convenient. The crowd here was generally and noticeably older (I am 31) and it seems that many people go to the hotel simply to stay in the historic inn.

The only down side was that the shared bathrooms are few. Instead of a general locker room - which I was expecting alla hostel - the bathrooms are single bathrooms with a shower. The problem is that in the morning finding an open bathroom/shower was something of a chore. Everything was very clean, however.

The good news was that I got a deal for a room and breakfast for $90. This made the experience there very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McJasper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sitting on the front porch and drinking a glass of chilled Pinot Grigio was one of the most wonderful experiences of my life. The fall scenery with enormous pumpkins and beautiful mums, the crisp hint of fall in the air and the wonderful ambience of this place are not to be missed. The rooms were quaint, though if you want a private bath,make sure to indicate that on your reservation as some rooms share a bathroom. The dining room is a bit formal, so we opted for the pub and enjoyed fabulous pumpkin soup. That evening, we took a drive to Pittsfield and enjoyed the Colonial Theatre and the infamous but always interesting Sandra Bernhard. The next day, a trip to Mt. Greylock for fabulous views and then we went to the Brewmaster's Tavern in Williamsburg, MA for a great lunch and a wonderful Opa Opa brew.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I treat ourselves for our anniversary every year. We have tried other places but they just don't compare to the red lion. The fireplaces, outside hot tub, caring staff, excellent food and drink and beautiful rooms keep us coming back. We love to visit the glass art gallery around the corner.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmerbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
149 reviews
8.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
558 reviews
5.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range: $166 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing