We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint...but grows on you!”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quaint...but grows on you!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is an anachronism...but one that grows on you! The Inn has been there since 1773 and certainly gives the impression of another age! Nevertheless, it is very comfortable (in a rocking chair sort of way) and obviously attracts an older relatively well-heeled clientele. For an Englishman, the atmosphere of the restaurant reminded me of a south coast seaside hotel in Winter...only without the seaside and with distinctly better food! (Nevertheless, don't have the 'corned beef hash' at breakfast if you think it might be like british corned beef!) Our room was very comfortable: bed and pillows gave us a good two nights, and the en suite bathroom was well equipped and had a bath and shower. We even had a (gas) log fire in the room. We were there the night of Hurricane Sandy which - in the event - only skirted by; but it was a wet and windy night. The Hotel sent a letter around the hotel offering torches to us all should the power fail...which it didn't despite one brief blip! We rather hoped it would as it would justify to this correspondent's children at home just why Dad always packs a torch when he goes on holiday! A good place to stay in Stockbridge that grew on us. Certainly different from a modern 'chain' hotel...with vith very helpful and friendly staff. An experience that we will remember...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifftopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    315
    122
    59
    26
See reviews for
199
509
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Franciisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is in need of help! The smell of smoke from the downstairs fireplace made me sick.
It purmeates through the entire hotel. The rooms need to be refreshed, although I must say they were very clean. The restuaruant in the hotel is a joke. I had a chicken breast with spinach ( and that is all that came, nothing extra) for $29.00, my sister had spinach and risotto and it cost $27.00. Outrageous! Breakfast was @24.00 for 2 bowls of oatmeal with granola!!! My sister made a telephone call ( from Massachusetts to upstate NY) for 5 minutes and they charged us $39.00!! This people rip you off at every corner. They have just lost 2 customers. Never again. There are so many better places to stay!! And absolutly NO cell phone service

Room Tip: To choose a good room go to a different INN.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Coolgata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We made it a long weekend at the Red Lion Inn to take I the colorfull fall colors. On arrival we found the Red Lion Inn and the surrounding small town very charming and quaint. Stepping into the Red Lion was trip back to the 1800's. Step back and take it all in and appreciate it for what it is, a historical site you get to be a part of. The halls to our room were authentic and old, decorated to perfection. Our room was clean and comfortable. Make sure you sign up for the bathroom in the room. No publically shared bathrooms for us. The main dining room, service and food was an incredible experience.
If you are in to new and shining hotel, this is not the place for you. If you are into history, antique surroundings and an adventure into the past we highly recommend this fine hotel. We had a great time and will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trolzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort oglethorpe Ga
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

There was a fire going in the lobby, that was not working too well. I walked in and it set my sinus off. The next morning when I went to breakfast, it was so bad my eyes burned. I went outside until they called us to be seated. The room was nice, it was large with a sofa and two chairs. The beds were two small twin beds with too much cover for Oct. Bath rooms was small. Food was very good. We had dinner and breakfast the next morning. Serving staff was Great.
We arrived at 6 PM and I was dissapointed that the gift shop closed at 5PM . She did open up earlier than she was supposed to the next day, so I did have a chance to buy something for my Christmas tree. ( I have a travel tree)

Room Tip: Ask for something besides twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Before returning to Boston at the end of our New England tour we stayed here for 2 nights. On arrival the weather was very wet and after driving round we eventually found a space on the Main Street. It turns out there is plenty of parking space at the back and side of the hotel. We were very happy to be in Room 106 which looked out to the side of the hotel - there was direct access to outside and we managed to park outside our room. We were not disturbed by the traffic. The room was lovely with a brass bed and 2 chairs. The bathroom was very small but had all you could need in it and was very clean. We needed to use our mobile phone to call UK - reception was poor but we managed to make the call from our room. We ate in The Lions Den the first night- good choice - big portions - the staff were pleasant & had no problems with us sharing. We ate in the Dining Room the second night and again thoroughly enjoyed it - the service was very attentive and friendly. Sitting on the front porch was lovely. Coffee is served in the morning ( I think on the porch). My husband was sitting himself and a member of staff who was arriving for work took time to speak to him. He appreciated this.
This Inn has so many areas to explore I am sure we did not experience it all - never saw the old lift!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuMacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
291 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you are planning your first overnight trip to the Berkshires you will find a considerable amount of choices as to where to stay. The entire Berkshire region is filled with numerous small, idyllic villages that have Bed & Breakfasts in most all of them. And how I love the B & B- small often converted homes run by an on site owner offering that personal attention and service, coupled with quirky, quaint, and often themed rooms small in number offering an intimate and quiet stay.

There are also a few chain hotels, mostly offering budget type accomodations. I am also a great fan of these - a cheap place to sleep and shower. However, one is most likely coming to the Berkshires for a purpose other than what these serve, so these will simply not do. There are also ski resort lodgings, a couple of actual resorts themselves, and some inns.

Why forgo the Bed & Breakfast route for an inn, which is larger, less intimate, and build specifically to serve the purpose of lodging? Typically I wouldn't... unless we are talking about the Berkshires, and the Red Lion Inn.

The Red Lion Inn experience encompasses more than just the inn itself. First, it's location: Main Street Stockbridge. This is the town you want to stay in to get a true sense of the Berkshires. It offers a small, picture perfect main street with granite curbed sidewalks, historic buildings and churches. There are a number of top attractions closeby, so logistically this location is well suited to experience the Berkshires. Next to the Inn itself is a small cluster of old new england shops and artisan stores, as well as a coffehouse and eateries.

Second, it's history. This Inn has been in operation for hundreds of years, and forever immortialized by Rockwell's painting. It will be found on postcards in any shop that sells them, and it's reputation preceeds itself thruought the entire region as The place to stay.

Third, the Inn itself. The first thing you will see upon arrival is the sweeping, wide front porch. Be sure to take a seat here at some point in your stay, and with coffee or wine in hand, absorb the surroundings and watch the world go by; you can't help to be transported back in time in your mind. Stepping into the Inn itself is like walking into a bye gone era. Some say a museum, but this is a living, breathing entity, overflowing with charm, character, and warmth. Again, do yourself a favor and find time to relax in the parlor; perhaps with the morning paper?

The rooms on offer are quite diverse. One can stay in the main inn, an annex, or one of several outbuildings located nearby, all with their own theme. I have been staying at the Red Lion Inn for two decades, and always book a main inn room. They are smaller, older, and less modern than the others, but they are in keeping with the character of the Inn and old New England itself. Not opulent, not spoiling the guest with all of the modern conveniences so in demand today; rather, quite simple. When inside, look around not for fault, but again thru the looking glass of unchanged time; this is where the magic is to be found.

I won't go into detail about the dining choices- you can view their current menues on their website, but will say that taking dinner in the main dining room will not dissappoint despite the price, and having a drink or lunch in the Lion's Den downstairs is very much worth the visit.

This is the Quintissential New England Inn; stay, and fall in love again!

Room Tip: I perfer the Main building. I would suggest a second floor room, as some of the first additionally e...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1dancing_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What's not to love about this historic inn? Our twin-bedded room, located at the corner of the hotel, was actually a small suite with a comfy sitting area, fireplace, and a (very small) bathroom that was separate from the rest of the room. The floors are not plumb and I kept sliding toward the windows; WiFi and cell phone reception, though advertised, were non-existent in the room; yet these things did not detract from the charm of the place. The porch was the perfect spot to read as the rain fell softly on the autumn leaves. The hotel is full of period furnishings, patchwork area rugs, and flowered sofas. Be careful where you sit....you might land on Simon, an enormous cat who appeared to be the boss of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelInsuranceLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
12.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
114 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
246 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing