We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terminal case of "the quaints"”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A terminal case of "the quaints"”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What's not to love about this historic inn? Our twin-bedded room, located at the corner of the hotel, was actually a small suite with a comfy sitting area, fireplace, and a (very small) bathroom that was separate from the rest of the room. The floors are not plumb and I kept sliding toward the windows; WiFi and cell phone reception, though advertised, were non-existent in the room; yet these things did not detract from the charm of the place. The porch was the perfect spot to read as the rain fell softly on the autumn leaves. The hotel is full of period furnishings, patchwork area rugs, and flowered sofas. Be careful where you sit....you might land on Simon, an enormous cat who appeared to be the boss of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelInsuranceLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    317
    125
    61
    26
See reviews for
206
512
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

If you could step back in time to colonial New England you'd land at the Red Lion Inn. The inn remains a true aristocratic gem -- unpretentious, comfortable, elegant, old world, and relaxing. Time stops at the front porch -- have a Bloody Mary or a tea (served in a silver tea service) on the veranda and just sit back ... . The memory of slowing down and enjoying the simple things in life will come back to you at the Red Lion Inn. Stockbridge is a New England classic with architecture so pure you'll be humming Bach ...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile



OK, let's be honest.  

And clear.  

Your stay at the Red Lion comes with an oversized price tag.  

There is no way the rooms are worth the asking price.  None.  You have paid half as much many times for a room that offer twice as much.  We can't say we have seen all the rooms this grand old lady offers (be surprised if the manager has!) but in perhaps twenty or so stays we have never occupied the same room twice and each would be fairly characterized as on the small side.  All have had a modest 1950's appearing television set...which most frequently is found at the foot of the bed, and thus is not easily viewed between the foot rails of the bed once you go prone.  

Most rooms will have a single aging wing back chair as the only alternative to the bed for seating, and if you placed it as far from the television set as you could in the room you still likely would not need a remote to change the channels.  The baths vary considerably but do not stretch to the modern.  The quite lovely to look at bear club tubs, often with hanging curtain for a shower, are more than a modest challenge to use for anyone over the age of 40.  

There are three venues for food in the Inn ... Ranging from tavern to more formal dining room, all compelling visual venues...but all very pricey, with quite uneven service which mirrors that offered at the reception desk.  

A cranky elevator, front and back of the Inn,  mutes in part the challenge of access to upper story rooms, but windows do not mute the road noise, nor that of the heater/air conditioner on the ground floor back rooms.  And the village itself can be almost quickly surveyed in a modest walk.

And yet we return.  

And will again for the charm of the Inn, and of the village, trumps the check list for the picky traveler.  First there is the porch.  Forget the fact that the chairs and rockers are not particularly comfortable, nor the porch deck level.  Setting on the porch of the Red Lion, in October, drink of choice in hand (for us hot cider) watching the parade of folks, taking in the autumnal scents and sights, noting if any walker can resist the temptation to have their picture taken in front of, beside, or behind the giant pumpkins...all dim the critique of the rooms. after all, you are not in your rooms...you are on the porch!

One looks in vein to see Norman Rockwell himself, pipe in mouth, standing across the street, sketch pad in hand.  Step inside the lobby on a brisk autumn day and the deal is sealed.  A warming fire greets both hands and nose; ample (and comfortable) seating invites you to this public area to linger...when last did a hotel or inn do that for you?  If you are observant you will notice the Lincoln table, and for a moment seat yourself there where Lincoln himself once might have sat; and how much is that worth?   If you're lucky, Simon the cat will reward you with a look and his back to scratch, and you may also hear the soft tones of a non-intrusive piano that fills the modest spaces your senses have left unfilled. Wander the Inn and you will find other inviting public venues...the sun room, the hall libraries, note the handsome array of art (plenty of Rockwell!) and period furniture that adorn and furnish the Inn.

And if you quickly wander to the end of the highway that marks village end, to the church that Jonathan Edwards once called home, listen carefully to see if you can hear him railing against the sinners in the hands of an angry God.  Take the time to cross the street and embrace the cemetery, reading loving eulogies carved in granite.  

And if you have the considerable discipline to pull yourself from hearth or porch to your car?  The Norman Rockwell museum enchants with but a five mile ride...and a mile further?  Chesterwood, the studio home of Daniel Chester French (Lincoln and Minuteman statue among others.)  And in the other direction, five miles at most?  Edith Wharton's home (The Mount) and a mile away?  Historic Old Lenox with what in October is the most photogenic church and graveyard in New England (Church on the Hill.)

Did I mention you are in the Berkshires?

Ah yes.  The rooms are small.  The plumbing old and a bit of a challenge.  Maybe our standard bed even a bit lumpy. The charge much too high for the room by many or perhaps any standards.  The food okay, but way too pricey.  The porch and the service uneven, the  chairs uncomfortable.

And the experience?  Priceless!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenDillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Why not spend a night in a little bit of history. The Red Lion Inn is in the heart of historic Stockbridge. The rooms are quaint, but relatively roomy. The beds are awesome. The service is first class. You will not regret spending time at the Red Lion Inn. One caveat: it is not cheap, but it is worth it. Decide for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I really enjoy the Red Lion Inn. It's like staying in a museum. There are so many original paintings, some dating back to when the hotel opened it's doors in the the 1700s. You can wander the hallways just taking it all in. The food is very good. We usually eat in the tavern or the dining room and I have always enjoyed the meals I've chosen. The wait staff is friendly and very good at making sure you have everything you need. The covered porch out front is a great place to sit and enjoy a nice bottle of wine or champagne. I will say that there is not much in Stockbridge, but the Norman Rockwell museum is just down the road ten minutes. I will again mention that there are a number of prints and originals of Rockwell's hanging in the hallways of the hotel. We would definitely go back yet again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenGirlSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston NY
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently stayed in one of the rooms in the newly opened Maple Glen. Its located right around the corner from the main inn and had a wonderful stay. The Red Lion in has always been on my list of places to stay and did not disappoint. The rooms were very spacious and comfprtable; loved the robe and slippers supplied. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've stayed at the Red Lion many times over the years & have always enjoyed my stay. Yes, it's old. The floors are uneven & creak but that's the charm of an old inn. In warm weather there's nothing like sitting on the porch watching traffic on the street & people come & go. In cold weather it's wonderful to sit by the fire with coffee or a drink & perhaps enjoy conversation with another guest. I've been as comfortable staying alone or with a friend. The dining room is enjoyed by couples & families but to me it feels like a room made for a woman. The Tavern is rustic & great for a casual meal. The menu has items appropriate to an old inn not funky new cuisine. To me & to others that I saw, the desk staff were courteous & helpful. On my last visit I brought my cousin who immediately felt at home & wants to go back.

Room Tip: Back of the Inn away from the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris14223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.0 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
123 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
8.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
543 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing