We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking thru Time”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Walking thru Time”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I visited the Berkshires last week to see the fall color. We stopped at the Red Lion Inn for Dinner. We both had the Turkey Dinner with all the fixings. The turkey was so tender served with stuffing and home made cranberry sauce. We had no room for dessert. Before we sat down for dinner we walked all around the hotel inside and out absorbing all the wonderful history. The ancient metal cage elevator (which you need to have a certificate to operate). We enjoyed the adorable cat mascot and all the antique's from furniture too French Haviland Limoge dishes, chocolate pots and so very much more. If you are into history and want to feel the past this is a great place to be. We did not spend a night but may just do that next time. A few days later we stopped in again for lunch and we both saved room for some of the best and most awesome Apple pie. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wintermoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for having dinner with us. Fall is my favorite time in the Berkshires, the colors, the smell of burning leaves, fresh apple cider grown and made almost next door. We hope you do come for a stay on your next visit. If you enjoyed dinner, breakfast the next morning is a must! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    319
    128
    61
    26
See reviews for
209
521
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

On a recent trip to the Berkshires, we came to the Red Lion for dinner in the main dinning room, after we had read in a guide that the chef was a James Beard awarded chef.The food was worse than hospital food (Native Turkey Dinner and Scottish Organic Salmon) and extremely over-priced. Overcooked, drowning in butter and gravy. It was the first time I have ever asked for my check and left after only taking one bite of my meal. Save yourself the money and don't eat here. Not James Beard award worthy food!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank cmh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
I'm sure that in my tenure here I've never read a review or guest comment that termed our food "disgusting", and of course, must comment to the contrary. Please let me know when you dined and how our staff failed to rectify your issues with the food when you brought your objections to their attention - and for our failure in addressing those at the time, I am truly sorry. Disgusting, hospital food? Hardly. I would suggest upon your next visit, that you may wish to venture beyond turkey and salmon to get a sense of why our chef has been honored at James Beard on numerous occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam,ny
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have just come back from 3 nights at Red Lion Inn---this is my 3rd time staying at this Inn and enjoy each time. I just love the fine service by the cheerful employees ----I personally love ,love the quaint living room with fireplace burning logs. The black and white house cat walking around --not bothering anyone--just walking in and out its cat doors----We sat on the porch any chance we could get.--- For people watching its first rate---lovely little waitress at busy times were there to take our drink orders or just go into the tavern bar and get your own ---steps away. We loved to spend out days traveling around to Norman Rockwell museum or to Lenox "The Mount"-- Edith Wharton's former house----but I couldn't wait to get back to my gorgeous room and big front porch.---My husband and I aren't too old (53) and I still enjoy the glossy hotels---but there is room for such a wonderful place in your travels ---just to "slow down" hold hands and enjoy life. I will be back!! Sincerely yours, Karen and Anthony.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiki47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The is a hotel steeped in history and the fabric of the building is full of character and individuality. However, we found little in the area that would pull us back and we were quite disappointed with the whole visit. The much vaunted 'drinks on the verandah' experience was marred by constant noise from the passing traffic. The 'historic' nature of the actual bedroom meant that it was small with a tiny bathroom. While this is understandable, the historic theme was continued with the television which was vintage with a crackly picture to match.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlowDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The first stop on our late August family vacation with the travelling doodle, to conclude with us leaving our first at university in Halifax. We had discovered the hotel by accident several years ago on a driving trip to Boston. We stopped in the town on our drive to look for Alice and ended up having lunch in the bar at The Red Lion Inn. My son decided it was time to return and suggested that it was a good stopping place after a day of driving. As we were travelling with the dog, we were assigned the Jean Dewey Street, a two storey suite in the O'Brien House (one of the cottages behind the main building). This old wood structure is very quaint with painted flower motif, resembling a doll's house. There is a small fireplace on the main level and I expect it would be a wonderful place on a cold autumn's day.

The suite contains a bedroom with ensuite and queen bed, second bedroom with twin beds for the twins and main floor sitting room with a pull out sofa for our son. The Inn says it was established in 1773 and so was the sofa bed! Otherwise the suite was great with free WiFi too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stockbridge is a beautiful MA small town. Notably, Norman Rockwell, lived out the end of his life here painting the scenic town and it's residents. The Norman Rockwell Museum is a short drive from town and worth the visit. The 100 year old inn is lovely. It has a wonderful front porch to sit on and watch the main street and enjoy a cocktail or coffee. They have a resident cat that visits guests on the porch and appears to be the well cared for pet of the owners. (Unfortunately, the stop sign at the corner in front of the inn is very busy and sometimes treacherous. Surprised a stop light has not been installed. )

We stayed at a property owned by the inn called The Stevens House a short walk from the main inn It too has a lovely front porch facing the public tennis courts. There is a common room with a big screen TV and a kitchen with appliances you may use. The fridge contains beer and wine you may consume using the honor system. (Love that a system like this still actually works! ) There are rooms both up and down stairs. We had a nice king room on the first floor that was very comfortable and decorated pleasantly.

The town is quaint with shops to visit, a decent coffee shop, and additional eating establishments besides what the inn offers. Our dinner at the tavern at the inn was good, although over priced - in our opinion Being a holiday weekend, our waiter was acceptably attentive but overburdened with many other tables. Would recommend the dining room or ouside terrace for a fullmeal instead of the tavern as the tables are small and too close together - ok for a beverage and a snack. That said, still glad we got to experience this historic inn and pretty historic town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I sat outside in the courtyard of the Red Jacket Inn. to have a few cocktails on a very nice summer afternoon. There is a small bar located in the courtyard behind the main entrance of the inn. No wait service. Just order your your choice of drink and choose a table and enjoy your stay.

Would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.0 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
142 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
448 reviews
8.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
550 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing