We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint New England Town - Quiet & Relaxing - No Wonder Norman Rockwell Settled Here”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stockbridge is a beautiful MA small town. Notably, Norman Rockwell, lived out the end of his life here painting the scenic town and it's residents. The Norman Rockwell Museum is a short drive from town and worth the visit. The 100 year old inn is lovely. It has a wonderful front porch to sit on and watch the main street and enjoy a cocktail or coffee. They have a resident cat that visits guests on the porch and appears to be the well cared for pet of the owners. (Unfortunately, the stop sign at the corner in front of the inn is very busy and sometimes treacherous. Surprised a stop light has not been installed. )

We stayed at a property owned by the inn called The Stevens House a short walk from the main inn It too has a lovely front porch facing the public tennis courts. There is a common room with a big screen TV and a kitchen with appliances you may use. The fridge contains beer and wine you may consume using the honor system. (Love that a system like this still actually works! ) There are rooms both up and down stairs. We had a nice king room on the first floor that was very comfortable and decorated pleasantly.

The town is quaint with shops to visit, a decent coffee shop, and additional eating establishments besides what the inn offers. Our dinner at the tavern at the inn was good, although over priced - in our opinion Being a holiday weekend, our waiter was acceptably attentive but overburdened with many other tables. Would recommend the dining room or ouside terrace for a fullmeal instead of the tavern as the tables are small and too close together - ok for a beverage and a snack. That said, still glad we got to experience this historic inn and pretty historic town.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheVault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I sat outside in the courtyard of the Red Jacket Inn. to have a few cocktails on a very nice summer afternoon. There is a small bar located in the courtyard behind the main entrance of the inn. No wait service. Just order your your choice of drink and choose a table and enjoy your stay.

Would return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

When you travel to this part of the sold, a historic inn is de riguer. You can't get more historic than the Red Lion, steeped in history and "lionized" in song. Check-in was unremarkable and unwelcoming. The lobby looks sad and old. The front porch is just the place to sit a read the paper or a good book while watching the strollers on the street. the problem is that seating is old, rickety and extremely uncomfortable. The metal tables have been painted just ten times too many and are warped so if you try to put a glass of wine or a cup of coffee on them you risk losing your libation. There was little to no wait service out there so we had the go into the hotel and search for the bar hidden behind a velvet curtain and serve ourselves. The room was immaculate, sheets good thread count. The bathroom had an updated sink but a small ancient stall shower. It you dropped the tiny bar of soap, it was not easy to retrieve. out TV was also a relic We had a small suite the $400/night pricetag was hard to swallow We didn't eat there this time but the restaurant was full every night. Would I stay here again. Probably not.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjgboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

No cell phone coverage in and around the building. Very disapointing. Other than that it's a great place to stay and visit the Berkshires. The front deck is fabulous for drinks and hanging out. Try the antique elivator in the lobby, kinda like what you would find in france.

Room Tip: You'll have OK wi-fi but forget about cell-phones, they just don't have any coverage there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

We totally agree and would LOVE to have cell service at the Inn. The problem is with the actual carriers (AT&T, Verizon, etc.) feeling that the Stockbridge year-round demographics do not fit their mold as far as justifying their installing cell antennas for the area. The remedy, we're told, is for everyone to register a complaint with their various carriers to ask for service to be installed. This is a situation that is out of our control, and we would love to remedy it, but we need your help! Please call your cell service carrier and voice a complaint about no cell service in Stockbridge! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Rather than spend the night at a "modern" hotel/motel we got a B&B special at the Red Lion. Very glad we did it. It was a charming place with a lot of character and ambiance. The porch was a great place to people watch and have a cocktail. The owner was even hanging out and talking to the guests who sat next to her (though they did not know who she was until she introduced herself). The Tavern was a nice place for dinner (expensive) and breakfast int the main dining room was lovely. An evening snack and drink in the pub was capped of with music from the nightly band. The room was comfortable and I have to say we did not even bother turning on the TV. Next time we go back to Tanglewood we would consider staying again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank EL_BOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed in August '12 for one night and really enjoyed it. The Red Lion is not a chi chi 5* city hotel but it has load of charm and Stockbridge is fun to wander round for an afternoon. The rooms are clean and the floorboards creak nicely as you would expect in an old wooden building. The courtyard bar was very pleasant to sit and have an early evening drink in and the service was friendly. We ate in the Tavern and were served by Matt who was knowledgeable and courteous and the food was good. Coffee and a nightcap on the porch rounded off a very pleasant evening. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planetzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Yes, the rooms are not like the Hilton, but that is the ambiance of being here. Each of the 5 floors of the Inn is a museum of art and collectibles. The dining is expensive, but the B&B rate is reasonable. Even if you don't stay over, do experience sitting in a rocker on the front porch with a cocktail or morning coffee. My favorite is the Den with acoustic folk music every night and great bread pudding!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Byronethejp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
4 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
8.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
587 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range: $165 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing