We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant New Year's Eve”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Old Saybrook, CT
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Pleasant New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

It's been years since I've been back to Stockbridge and much has changed, but the Red Lion Inn continues to thrive. It's now so much more than an inn, rather a campus. Besides the Inn itself, there are now a number of homes the Inn owns around the block. They offer everything from a single room to a suite to a house, depending on the size of your party. My wife and I stayed in a suite, in one of the houses. The house was divided into 3 suites. Ours was half of the second floor. Because it was a house, we had our own driveway with plenty of parking.
We stayed over for New Year's Eve. The hotel staff went over the top with decorating the first floor and main dining salon. The even decorated the old style elevator. The main room adjacent to the lobby became a dance floor. The food and the music were great. For breakfast try the Berkshire Apple Pancake. Our only disappointment was that some of our favorite stores in Stockbridge have disappeared. But Great Barrington, just down the road, offered some wonderful surprises.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjproducts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    317
    125
    61
    26
See reviews for
206
512
37
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is one of those places you need to stay in just to say you've been .. sort of like the Grand Hotel Olaffson in Haiti.... go for a night and check it off on your list of places you must visit.. once... You step back in time when entering the inn.. plenty of Empire period furniture (including velvet sofas in desperate need of re-upholstery) and an incredible period elevator that seemed always out-of-order. But somehow it all works as you sit in front of the big fireplace with your favorite beverage and you meet the Inn's owner who is a fascinating lady. The rooms are ok.. nothing to get excited about, and the only concession to technology is a telephone and an old TV... there will probably never be flat screens here! The restaurant, however, is terrific. White tablecloth service, elegant surroundings and waitstaff who know what they are doing, along with VERY well-prepared food make this a good dining experience.
So.. by all means, stay here for the experience... especially over the Holidays.. just make reservations early if you plan to do the Thanksgiving Pilgrim thing .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastWindSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Are you looking to spend a day or weekend away in a place where time has literally stopped? A place where people still greet you with a plesant non forced greeting and who still offer traveler's a hearty meal and comfortable lodging? If so then a trip to the beautiful town of Stockbridge and a stay at The Red Lion is a must. Let me be honest, I am a multi-generational Connecticut Yankee whose parents had been bringing him to The Red Lion for "Sunday Drive Luncheons" since I could walk. But after years of visiting this beautiful place I decided to treat myself to a weekend as I wanted to see what is was like to finally "sleep upstairs". I took advantage of their Rise & Shine offer which provided an overnight stay with a hearty breakfast the next morning. My room was very comfortable complete with gas fireplace. The bathrooms are tastefully updated and provide anything you may require. Numerous dining options are offered from Light Fare in the Lion's Den Pub, Hamburgers and Pot Pies in the Widown Bingham's tavern, and of course full fledging dining in the main dining room. The menu's have been updated a little to accomodate the changing tastes of the times but there is still a few old favorites that appeal to this Connecticut Yankee. A visit to Stockbridge would not be complete without a trip to the Norman Rockwell museum and if your visiting during the Summer months The Berkshire Theatre Festival in Stockbridge and the Barrington Stage in nearby Pittsfield, as well as Tanglewood in nearby Lenox, make Stockbrdge a great destination for a little rest and relaxation. It's pleasing to know that some aspects of New England Life can still be found outside a Rockwell painting and you will find it at The Red Lion Inn.

Room Tip: The Queen & King rooms are quite spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

It was a trip back in time for my husband and I - firstly, because we retuned to the Berkshires after 14 years and secondly, because you feel in the early 1900's at The Red Lion Inn. The Inn was just as I remembered it - well-appointed, offering a cozy atmosphere.
We dropped in with no reservations, and after "working the booking system up a little", we finally got settled in.
As we were traveling as a family, we stayed in two double rooms, one with one queen bed and the other one with two beds. No connecting rooms were available at that moment but definitely both rooms had connecting options.
Everything was clean and tidy, except for the heating unit, which didn't work in our room (an indispensable appliance considering it was mid-December...). I called the front desk and they Immediately sent a maintenance person to check the heater. After confirming it didn't work, he brought us a portable heater which did just fine.
The bathroom had very good ammenities and an old-fashioned bathtub (those with 4 legs). The corridors were decorated with a beautiful collection of furniture and teapots, making me feel I'd come across any of the renowned celebrities that used to stay here (presidents, diplomats, etc.).
We had dinner at the Pub, offering light fare and live music. The other dinning options were also interesting, the Tavern and the main Restaurant.
My children were excited with the DVD movies the front desk lent them for the night.
We didn't have breakfast at the Inn but in a typical local cafe, just a few meters from the hotel.
Overall, we had a nice one-night stay at The Red Lion Inn, and my children got to breathe the "historical" atmosphere of America, which is not usual for us living in Argentina.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything new (the building is almost 230 years old...). However, everything was cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaHormiguitaViajera0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We visited over Memorial Day weekend when the Berkshires are less crowded but the weather is still likely to be mild. The Inn is tastefully decorated with charming antiques, some of them historic in nature. The food at the restaurant was good and locally grown. The price was that of a good restaurant but you should make reservations for dinner before you arrive. Our room was of a decent size and comfortable, which is all we have come to expect from older, historic hotels. The staff was friendly and the service was good. The one caveat is a handsome cat named Simon. He is well-behaved and a charming host at the Inn. But if you are bothered with cat allergies, I would not choose this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Make your reservation as early as possible,especially for the summer or autumn folliage season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandywine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

this is a charming old fashioned inn in a historic New England town which gives you the feeling of "stepping back in time"...from the front desk/parlor to the dining room there was lots of memorabilia of days long ago. The main building is very old & probably could use some "sprucing up" but seems to be the heart of this town. We did not stay in the main building but our room in a small house just a block away was spacious, quiet, & comfortable...in some ways not as convenient but would definitely recommend it. The staff was obviously made up of local folks who were friendly & very helpful (especially during the blizzard!)

Room Tip: Stephens House
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judebug03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I love to stay at historic inns, as they offer a taste of "the way things used to be." We stayed on a Monday in November after leaf-peeping season, so we had the lovely fireplace in the lobby virtually to ourselves. As we arrived at dinnertime and missed the Norman Rockwell Museum and could stay only one night, our entertainment was wandering the hallways and taking in the Rockwells, Jan Engelbreits, and other antique and quirky prints and objects.

Our room was large, the bed comfortable, the furnishings Grandma-style. I wish the lighting had more ambiance--it was rather harsh. Why don't hotels take lighting into consideration? Lights are for more than just reading ... they can make or break the "feel" of the room. Overall the room had a bit of a cold, gloomy feeling, even with its gas fireplace. If it hadn't been for the REAL fire in the fireplace downstairs--which colors my memories with a sentimental glow--I wouldn't have liked my stay nearly as much.

Bathroom was great--had both shower and tub. Formal dining room was too stuffy and empty; Widow's Tavern still too pricy. We went to the Lions' Den for a very good and reasonably priced chili.

We received a good rate because it was off season/midweek. Personally I would not stay here during peak season, both because the rates are too steep, and because I would not like the crowds. But this timing was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Van_Dutch_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.0 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
123 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
8.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
542 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing