We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated.”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We atayed at the Red Lion on the recommendation of friends from manhattan. We drove up from the city with little effort and checked in around 4pm. We checked in and went straight to the pub for a bit of libation. The decor was truly authentic and the pub grub was just what we needed after the drive. Upon entering our room, which had been upgraded, we were a bit taken aback as it was quite old and worn around the edges. I realize the building is known for it's old-world ambience, but one still expects some 21st century comforts. The beds were very comfortable and the claw-foot bath tub a welcome relief. It did appear as though this is where antiques come to die however, as nothing in the room matched or even went together. Easily overlooked though. The dining room looked as if one were on a cruise ship. Vast with rather run of the mill fare. Maybe we were just the wrong age group. The best part of our stay was the resident cat "Simon" who greets visitors and makes being away from our fur family a bit more bearable. There are more updated hotels in the area so if you prefer flat screen tv's and ipod docks, look elsewhere. Otherwise, enjoy the Laura Ashley decor and Norman Rockwell posters.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed at The Red Lion for three nights, always something of interest to look at. Work up after the first night to no hot water and suggestion when i rang to report problem was to use the public rest room, my other half went to reception (no way was he using a public rest room) and we were given another room to use. Hot water was not fixed so were moved to another room later in the day. On the whole the staff were helpful, but sometimes felt that things were too much trouble. We ate in the main resturant , for evening meal and breakfast and The Lions Den (Lovely atmosphere in the den) and the food was very good. Do not go to this hotel if you like modern chains as this is the total opposite, tea/coffee facilities would be good too and our first room was small with very small bathroom.

Room Tip: Creaky floors had a lot of noise from above and second room above some sort of boiler unit so was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I proposed to my wife while sitting at a table for two near the windows in the main dining room. That was December 27, 2002. We have been back every year since on the 27th of December to celebrate. Sometimes with family, sometimes alone, but always at the Red Lion. Involves some effort, since we need to travel from Los Angeles. These past couple of years we have begun staying at the inn for a few nights. We have stayed in the main house, #2 Maple Street and the Steven's House. All the rooms have been perfect. The food in the dining room is quite good, and on a cold blustery night, the bar tender pours a generous warming dram.

Room Tip: Pick one of the cottages away from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wosli3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

We can't thank you enough for your commitment and will do everything we can to insure that your trip from the west coast is rewarded with yet another set of very happy memories to take home. If you like the outside cottages, make sure you try one of the newly renovated rooms in the Stafford House, located directly behind the Inn, or starting next year - The Chauncey Curtis House - to be completed in spring of 2012. Thanks again - see you on the 27th!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

My husband and I have been coming to the Inn to celebrate our anniversary for the past 12 years or so. This December we will be celebrating our 28th, and have already made our reservations. We are always made to feel so welcome. The Inn has some terrific package deals which can include a breakfast and dinner. The food is outstanding, service is warm and friendly, and the Stockbridge area is a delight. Also...bring your bathing suit no matter what the time of year. The heated pool and jacuzzi are open all year round!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 485ElizabethB485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thanks so much for writing and the vote of confidence. We are honored that you have chosen our inn as the special place for you to celebrate your anniversary all these years and we do not take that loyalty lightly. Thank you for that, and we are looking forward to seeing you again next month! (Snow is falling as I write this!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have had many mini vacations at the Red Lion, and absolutely love our stays with them. We take two nights of the "Snuggle Up Package" which includes dinner and breakfast for two- perfect for a getaway without breaking the bank. Whether you want to sightsee, shop, or curl up with a good book and a glass of wine by the inviting fireplace in the lobby, this is the place to go. Perfection, with attention to detail... that's The Red Lion Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booknurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our Snuggle Up package and especially the lobby fireplace and all it encompasses. Hopefully Simon gave up some space on the couch for you. Thanks for the review and please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were looking forward to staying at the Red Lion but what a disappointment. It is situated on a very busy main road with noisy lorries trundling past the bedroom windows all night. On arrival, we were shown to a very mediocre room (deluxe king bedded room with private bathroom) and we asked to look at others available. The Receptionist, who was matter of fact rather than friendly, gave us the keys to two others and we settled on a more spacious room on the 2nd floor. For such a rambling hotel, no-one showed us where our room was and we ambled around the corridors until we found it.
What are my main grumbles? We have stayed in a fair number of hotels touring New England, all in the region of 200 dollars a night and almost without exception they have been excellent experiences.
The Red Lion was nearer 300 dollars and came without breakfast, without any tea or coffee making facilities in the room and without any bottled water (the water from the taps at this Inn tasted of sulphur and was unpleasant to drink).
We ate in the bar of the hotel and the food was OK, good Clam Chowder but very dry and indifferent burgers.
The Inn is historic and there are some very interesting things to see in the corridors but my advice would be to buy a drink to sit on the verandah, stroll the corridors to feel a bit of the history and then drive on to a better value overnight accommodation.
Stockbridge itself was something and nothing, we much preferred Woodstock, Vermont. As I mentioned, Stockbridge has a busy main road and there are no restaurants to speak of, just a few cafe type places which didn't really grab us.
If we were visiting this area again we would give Stockbridge and the Red Lion a miss!

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose to stay at the RedLion again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

It's always disappointing to see a review (and such an inflammatory title) like this,
amidst such positive and wonderful feedback. The Inn was built in 1773, long before "lorries" ,
when the loudest vehicles on the road were horse and carriages. That said, since these guests were given the choice of three different rooms to chose from (a difficult task in busy October!), and were still unhappy, I'm not sure we could have pleased them regardless of the accommodations. Our room prices are well advertised, as are the amenities we do and do not offer as included. Some rates do come with breakfast, others (as these guests chose) do not. We do not offer coffee and tea making facilities in our rooms (although we do have French presses and all the ingredients upon request). We do have complimentary tea and coffee, available in the lobby from 6:30 to 8AM every morning. Our tap water does not taste like sulfur, and judging our food quality by the burgers (which we think are very good, by the way) is akin to judging our wine list by the beers on tap. We're proud of the many, many happy memories that we are able to provide every day to the vast majority of our guests (just read the reviews before and after this one), and totally agree that the next time these guests are visiting the area, they should give us a miss, as we'd prefer to spend our efforts on those who can better appreciate what we're about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My friend and I have met at The Red Lion Inn many times. Most recently, we were there between Christmas and New Year's Eve last year. We love it no matter what the season (we've been there for all). It was extra special during the holidays. We have stayed in the main inn in a variety of room types. We also stayed one time in one of the other buildings on the property. I enjoy the main inn, but be prepared for old and charming. There is lots of character and history.

Cell service is spotty...but, is that such a bad thing?

I'm looking forward to my next trip there.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 15 in Lenox
582 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Bar...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
322 reviews
4 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
175 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range: $128 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with bedfinder AG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing