We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napping on the Porch of the Red Lion Inn”
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We go to the Berkshires every summer and don't stay in the Inn but visit it several times. Lunch in garden is marvelous. The Den for entertainment is fun and often an unexpected music find. But cocktails or tea on the porch is the best! We do people watching and rest from the days activities. The people at the Inn are very accommodating and professional. It is a MUST when in the Berkshires.... Some day I hope we stay in the Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momajtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

You've picked some of our great spots to relax and enjoy, but we'd love to have you stay with us on your next trip and experience any of our 108 uniquely decorated rooms, a great country breakfast, or snoozing by the lobby fireplace with the Sunday paper (and Simon the cat, if he decides to give you some space on HIS sofa. Please come back and spend the night - you won't be disappointed, and thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

The Red Lion is the oldest hotel in Stockbridge. Stockbridge itself is stunning. The architecture and setting are lovely and there are lots of interesting places to visit nearby including the Norman Rockwell Museum and the Stockbridge theatre. The Boston Symphony orchestra does its summer season at Tanglewood which is close. The hotel has sloping floors and is stuffed with antiques on every surface. It's not to everyone's taste but I loved it. Our bedroom was very large and light but very noisy as the hotel is on Main Street and on a busy corner. Ask for a quiet room at the back of the building. The time we were there it was very hot and the air conditioner was old and very loud. The bathroom was enormous with an old fashioned claw foot bath. The shower rail was tied on with a piece of string! However for me the pluses outweighed the disadvantages. The hotel has tremendous charm. There is a large veranda fronting Main Street furnished with rocking chairs where drinks are served. Sitting in a rocking chair watching the world go by was my idea of heaven. The food in the restaurant was very good but expensive. Cheaper meals can be got in the Tavern restaurant. There was also live music in the evenings. There was a pretty swimming pool and jacuzzi in the gardens. You can walk around Stockbridge from the hotel and it is a delightful place to stroll with cafes and gift shops. There is also a walk you can do along the river and through the forest.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose315927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We reserved a room with a private bathroom. The outdoor swimming pool was great for laps early in the morning. Dinner in the tavern was provided in a booth (there was only one!). Spinach salad is "traditional" in style (with bacon and hard boiled egg and light dressing). Mussels with lime went well with a Riesling. Sea Scallops were terrific--but only three were served as an entree. We were still hungry later. So we returned to the same booth (lucky us). We shared a lime tart with almond crust. Yummm. Breakfast in the formal dining room, and outdoors in the patio, did not require my spouse to wear a jacket. The almond with pine nuts granola was served with whatever fruits I wished.

Room Tip: Select a room with a private bathroom, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLPMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the Red Lion Inn for a wedding in Stockbridge and spent two nights in the Hayes Suite. The room was nice, but the bathroom was spectacular. The bed was great!
It was difficult finding the room as it was located in a different building.
The Red Lion Inn is perfectly located and has a very nice and large porch. There is a much older demographic of guests and you are asked to be quiet after 9:00pm.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My daughter and I scheduled a stay at the Red Lion Inn because we were seeing productions of the Berkshire Theater Festival and this seemed closest to the venues we were attending. We were delighted that the Inn became a lovely part of our vacation and not just a place to sleep. The setting is charming. We enjoyed the entertainment in the Lion's Den and loved drinks on the porch as well as coffee the next morning. We spent a few lazy hours around the hot tub and the pools, reading, chatting and enjoying the beautiful gardens. We had "Bed and Breakfast" reservations and this was the source of our only complaint. We decided to upgrade to a full breakfast and ordered from the local/organic menu. Both meats and the eggs were tough and overcooked. The toast was dry and not warm. In all, the meal was rather unpleasant.
However, we are headed back to the Berkshire Festival this week and again look forward to staying at the Red Lion. Everything else was so nice that we even plan to give breakfast a second chance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiecreates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My second stay at the Red Lion in 30+ years, the historical charm and antique-filled spaces of the inn outweigh any of its shortcomings. Our flawless suite was clean, the bed soft and the generous washroom fitted with two showers and a clawfoot tub. However, when dining at the restaurant, the waitress actually talked me out of ordering any wine for our party of four. Retiring to the front porch after dinner, we waited well over a half hour for drinks delivered by a surly teenage waiter. The service sitting at the bar in the tavern wasn't much better, with one bartender apparently responsible for guests of the restaurant, self-serve rear patio, front porch and restaurant patrons. Seemingly complacent, Stockbridge could do with a competing venue to keep the sprawling Red Lion roaring for another 30 years.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 800x600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2011

Thanks so much for staying with us and for writing a review with your comments. I'm so glad you loved your suite, and embarrassed by our shortcomings with the beverage service, in the dining room, porch and tavern. Sounds like we've got some work to do in that area, especially that we're giving up much needed sales. Please be assured that we're far from complacent in providing service to our guests, and I'll use your comments constructively to redouble our efforts. Please come back before another 30 years goes by, and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My husband and I were graciously upgraded to a suite during our stay and found the room fantastic. The inn overall was in great authentic condition--the sort of place we routinely choose for ourselves. The bathroom was huge and the bed very comfortable.

Our only complaint was the food. We spent a large amount in the restaurant for dinner and both had very plain tasting food--a big disappointment. We like to think this was because we dined on a Monday, but nevertheless, we expected much more. Breakfast the next morning made up for it a bit.

We look forward to our next stay--hopefully for more than one night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisahaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceRLI, General Manager at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2011

Thanks so much for staying with us and we're glad you enjoyed the Inn and your suite. I'm sorry about your disappointment with our food as it gets many rave reviews, and whether it's a Monday or a Saturday night, our culinary team works very hard and making sure that each entree is carefully prepared according to the chef's vision. Thank you for your comments and we'll look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
3.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
4 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Bar...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
319 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Address: 30 Main St, Box 954, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stockbridge
Price Range: $157 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests with genuine New England hospitality for over two centuries. Antique-filled rooms, suites, & guesthouses. Contemporary regional cuisine, 3 restaurants, James Beard House-honored chef, elegant & casual/indoor & outdoor dining, award-winning wine list. Heated year-round outdoor pool & hot tub, Gift Shop, WiFi. Live entertainment nightly in pub. Memorable weddings & events. Small to mid-size meetings, unique spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Hotel Stockbridge
Red Lion Stockbridge
Red Lion Inn Stockbridge Ma
Stockbridge Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing