We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple menu but great ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Main Street Cafe

Main Street Cafe
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
405 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Simple menu but great ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We had breakfast three mornings while staying at the Red Lion Inn. While the choices are familiar, what stands out are freshly made OJ, delicious 12 grain toast, exceptional pancakes and a big blue cup of peppermint tea. Great service.

Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    86
    35
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
307 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 526 helpful votes
“Laid Back Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

If you like a great homemade soup, this is the place for you. Love their corn chowder, chock full of veggies and served hot. If you like a good sandwich, this is the place for you. I had an old school grilled cheese and tomato sandwich on 12-grain bread with some chips and spicy mustard for dipping (the sandwich, that is).

My wife had a lunch combo - half a BLT on rye toast and nice green salad.

Too bad we left no room for dessert because that homemade two-berry pie looked mighty good.

Our server was friendly, helpful and efficient. Everything we ordered arrived just as we ordered it and in a timely fashion. I plan to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank TeamMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great lunch, friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch after the busy July 4th weekend. Took a seat at the counter and we weren't disappointed. I ordered the turkey ranch sandwich on wheat (instead of the wrap) and a cup of lentil soup. Soup was really fresh and good (just a little too much pepper) and the sandwich was terrific! Service was very friendly and prompt. Not sure what the other reviewers experienced but I did not see that when I visited and had plenty of water to drink. I wish I would have left room for some pie, maybe next time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jespo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food! Not So Fantastic Service...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

The atmosphere of the restaurant was cute, had it not been for the shrieking babies running around the room and disrupting customers. In addition, the wait staff took forever to get us our food- waiting about 45 minutes for a sandwich and salad at lunch time. The cafe is not a particularly big space and doesn't have that many people to serve, so it was rather outrageous that everything took so long. In addition, the salad was a replacement for a sandwich that they ran out of, but the waitress took fifteen to twenty minutes to notify us of the fact that they were no longer serving it- delaying our meal further. We weren't served water with our meal at all. It took forever for us to have someone come clear our table and give us the check. Overall, it was a shame, because the food we ate was spectacular. The clam chowder was great and had a delicious home-cooked feel. I had a special of a Salmon BLT with avocado added that was to die for, and my mother had a chicken apple walnut salad that she enjoyed, although it didn't blow her away. The fresh lemonade I had was good, but no one offered to get more or bring us water at any point.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcameron13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
395 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good Homemade Food in Town Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Before we visited the Norman Rockwell Museum we parked in Stockbridge, with its very short main street, looking for a place to have lunch. The Main Street Cafe looked inviting. Small and welcoming with very good made-to-order sandwiches. The New England clam chowder was thick and the chicken salad with walnut sandwich was quite tasty. My wife enjoyed her grilled eggplant. goat cheese, lettuce & tomato sandwich. Friendly wait staff. A very satisfying find.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank W-Hartford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Cafe also viewed

Stockbridge, Berkshires
 
Stockbridge, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to Main Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing