We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless Visit”
Review of Inn at Stockbridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Stockbridge
Ranked #2 of 8 Stockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Proprietor Jeff provided a warm welcome to this beautiful property. Immaculate accommodations, well appointed and outfitted and unique amenities were included. Breakfast was above and beyond in terms of selection, and did not disappoint with regard to taste!

Well done!

Definitely worth a return visit.

Room Tip: The Barn Suites are worth the upgrade !
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owner at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thanks so much for the kind words, we are so glad that you were pleased and we hope you will visit the inn again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Stockbridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 512 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited November 2nd for a conference, and found the inn in process of renovations, which was fine, but the lack of service and hospitality one expects with a bed and breakfast is inexcusable. Mid afternoon on the day of the conference I had to ask where to check in as there were no signs. My partner and I were directed to a man, the owner who proceeded to walk us up to our room. At the door he said, "you can go in, the key is inside" then he left. Any other inn I had been to the keeper would introduce themselves, show you around the room, instruct you on what was available for amenities, and when breakfast was. We got nothing. The next morning I woke up and went downstairs to find out when breakfast was and WHERE it was, to find a sign in the lobby with the details. A book on our room had a note from the owners saying "the book was put together especially for us" with 5 day forecast and local events for our convenience, but none of this information was in the book. The next day on trip advisor, reading another complaint, I discovered the inn has a workout room. Hmm, that would have been nice to know. The room, Mademe Butterfly, looked nice upon entering. But then we found long black hair in the bed, the shower did not drain because the drain was clogged with hair, and our "king" bed was just 2 twins pushed together. Comfortable enough, but an unavoidable gully in the center. We could not help thinking, THIS IS WHAT WE PAID $250 FOR?? We left the next morning without breakfast. What a waste of our money. Never again.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank cmerrill119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owner at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

We are so sorry that you had this experience with the Inn. As new innkeepers we take your comments very seriously. We apologize that in the hustle bustle of the seminar that was in progress we did not have an opportunity to provide you with our usual attentive service that day. Hopefully you will change your mind and utilize the $100 credit towards a future stay that we offered you when you contacted us right after the event. Again, our sincere apologies for any shortcomings and we would love to have an opportunity to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Inn was ok but the Inn and grounds did not match the beautiful picture shown on their brochure. The petite rooms are just that, enough room for the bed and two feet of walking space on either side, with outdated decor and painted wires along the baseboards. My husband and I were led up to our room by the owner who did not say two words to us; no welcome, no discussion of amenities, we had to ask what time breakfast would be served. The only saving grace was the absolutely delicious breakfast the following morning and the service provided by the rest of the staff. With many other Inns to chose from, this Inn, under construction during our visit, would not be one we'd chose again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owner at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hello Chris H.,
We are so sorry that you were disappointed by your room. The Petite room is, as it is named, petite, and the smallest of our 15 rooms. It is a more economical choice than the very luxurious Barn and Cottage suites. Glad you liked the breakfast, though! Our beautiful new front porch is now complete, come by and have a look if you are ever in the neighborhood, we'd love to change your mind!
Lisa, Owner, Inn at Stockbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been to many B&Bs in every state in New England from Connecticut to Bar Harbor
Maine. I must say that this is the first time,
since our favorite B&B in Kennebunkport Maine, that we have felt so welcomed from
the wonderful new owners Jeff and Lisa and of course the staff!
This is truly a beautiful home and the new owners are making some exterior changes to improve on its beauty.
Treat yourself to a retreat like location away from the noise and hustle and bustle from town center. Its just a short drive to everything. I have already picked my room for next year!
And its larger than the one we picked so looking forward to next October!!

Room Tip: The Petite room has a private bath but is not accessible from room. It is in a private location and...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owner at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this lovely review. We truly appreciate it, and since we are a small inn your words are all the more important. We look forward to seeing you next year and plans for many new delights are in the works!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A huge thank you to Jeff, Lisa &Tamara for an awesome experience at Stockbridge Inn. From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed, these 3 people made our stay wonderful!
Tamara was very helpful & knowledgeable in all aspects of running the Inn...she went above & beyond in helping us with sights to see, places to go, and restaurants to visit. If she didn't know something, she got on the phone right away to get any question answered.
Lisa is an amazing cook....she made delicious breakfasts each day (and on our last day, we were the only guests having breakfast, so she asked us what we'd like her to make for us!) and used the freshest, and most delicious ingredients.
Jeff was a great host...was always "around", but never felt like he was crowding us. He & Lisa have wonderful ideas of what they'd like to do with the Inn (they are fairly new owners) and I'm certain when they are finished renovating, it will be even better & brighter than it is now:)
I would recommend Inn at Stockbridge 100% !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with less highway noise if that is something that bothers you. (You can slightly hea...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owner at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you, Elaine W.! Tamara is indeed our greatest asset. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfasts, as the cook, that is a delight for me to hear! Please come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had the opportunity to go away for the weekend (a rare treat), and decided on Inn at Stockbridge. Our expectations were soundly met. The property is beautiful, clean, warm, inviting - from the main house to our individual room. The plans that new innkeepers, Jeff and Lisa, have for renovating the dining and living areas of the main house will definitely have us coming back. They have great vision for making everything even warmer, cozier, cleaner, more engaging. But above and beyond that WERE Jeff and Lisa. They made our stay so memorable, like visiting new but old friends. Lisa - often in her apron - loves to be in the kitchen, and has a knack for serving a really delicious breakfast. Both she and Jeff are accessible to their guests, and are warm and at ease, the perfect compliment to such a beautiful property. Also, Tamara, the Inn's Manager, is a Berkshire native and incredibly helpful in guiding guests toward places and opportunities that match their personal interests. We recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owner at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you Renata B.! We love you, too! Come back and see us again soon! And by the way...I am writing this with my apron on :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I could start with the lovely location, the beautiful house and gardens or the excellent comfortable room..... But will cut to the chase really and start with what makes this place very special, and that is the people. Jeff & Lisa are really welcoming you into their home.... Wonderful people , really easy to engage with.
As for breakfast.... Lisa prepared a different one each day ( we're there for 3 breakfasts ) , and granola , yoghurt & eggs any style were offered too. Quality ingredients = a quality experience.
Cheese, wine , and chat with our hosts on an evening was highly enjoyable.
I suspect you can't please everyone, but these two guests were v pleased with everything..... In the end quality will show , and this place has it .
Also , Tamara is lovely too- a great asset.
We are from (old) England, so don't know when / if will be back here , but if so , The Inn at Stockbridge will be a must
Thank you all for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeds2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Owner at Inn at Stockbridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks for coming all the way from (old) England to stay with us here in (new) England. It was a pleasure meeting you and we appreciate all your kind words. We certainly agree with your comments re: quality and we will continue to strive for excellence. Take care and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
1.6 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,038 reviews
2.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
#1 of 8 in Stockbridge
619 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Stockbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Stockbridge

Address: 30 East St, Rt 7 North, Stockbridge, MA 01262-9708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Price Range: $181 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Stockbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy peaceful charm and elegance in this 1906 Georgian style mansion secluded on 12 acres in Stockbridge. Relax in any of the 15 individually decorated guest rooms, many with a fireplace and large double whirlpool. Awaken to the aroma of freshly brewed coffee and enjoy a homemade breakfast in the formal dining room. Selected as a romantic hideaway by the Discriminating Traveler. There is an additional $40 per night per pet fee, and we would be happy to include a crate in the room for you for no additional charge if you would like one. We also request that you do not leave the pet in the room alone for an extended period of time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Stockbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Stockbridge Hotel Stockbridge
Inn Stockbridge
Stockbridge Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing