We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely fabulous.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stockbridge Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stockbridge Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Stockbridge B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

From the outside, the 150 year old home looks rather ordinary, so one is stunned by the beauty of the inside. The owners are ardent art collectors, and the home is filled with full-sized Audubon prints. The rooms are all beautifully furnished, with large, comfortable beds, and fully stocked bathrooms. We were there in autumn, and the grounds were beautiful; there is also a nice swimming pool for summer guests. Breakfasts were outstanding. Diane is a wonderful source of information on what to see and do in the Berkshires, and the best routes for getting there. We relaxed last night near a working fireplace in one of the beautiful downstairs sitting rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oisk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
70
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
waukegan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights at the Stockbridge Country Inn at the end of September. We were greeted by the warm-hearted innkeepers, Diane and Vern. We were welcomed like family coming home to visit! The inn is tastefully decorated with antiques, beautiful furniture, and many sitting areas with fireplaces for you to relax. There was an
antique doll carriage in one corner of the hall, an antique wagon, and large spinning wheel in
additional to other lovely antiques. The inn is cozy and the innkeepers have put in much time over the years to furnish the lovely Inn. It is obvious they enjoy doing what they do! There is a library full of books and magazines. We stayed in the lovely White Iron Suite, which was decorated just like the picture on the website. The room and bathroom were clean and immaculate with plenty of amenities and a basket of additional towels in the bathroom. It was cozy and very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and abundant with choices as described on the website. We were greeted every morning by Diane who is good natured and has a bubbly personality, who also cooked and served us our breakfast. We had breakfast in two different areas the two days we were there. Each were cozy, table set with fine china overlooking the gorgeous grounds. Vern is a terrific person who is very knowledgable about the history of Stockbridge and our American history. One morning he took the time to give us some tips how to spend the day. My husband and I both enjoyed listening to his stories. Both Diane and Vern were a delight, very cordial, and felt like our family. I personally enjoyed chatting with Diane! The Norman Rockwell Museum is a must, which is located down the road from the Inn. An extra amenity of staying two nights at the Inn were the free tickets you receive to the museum. We thought that was a nice touch. We can't say enough about the Stockbridge Country Inn and the friendly innkeepers. We had a memorable stay at the Stockbridge Country Inn in the charming town of Stockbridge. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerWaukegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Inn was very comfortable. The location was quiet except for some road noise. The breakfasts were comfortable, excellent, and well served. The property was well kept with interesting gardens and plantings throughout. Not really walkable to local attractions - busy roadways unsuitable for foot traffic). They were flexible in letting us check-out early.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I now understand why the Stockbridge Country Inn garners such good reviews on TripAdvisor. The inn is set on a hill off Rt. 183 just down the road from the Rockwell Museum and the Berkshire Botanical Garden. It's also within 10 minutes from Tanglewood and the quaint towns of Stockbridge and Lenox. So it has location in its favor. The rooms are spacious, spotless, and decorated in old New England style. The breakfast consists of eggs cooked to order and delicious, fresh pastries. So it has style and cuisine in its favor. But what really sets it apart is the staff, which is uniformly friendly and helpful, especially the innkeeper, Diane. Breakfast is served from 8:30 to 10 am, which seems civilized, but is a tad late for me since I have yet to shake off my working wakeup time. Our first morning there, I was wandering around at 7 am or so and bumped into Diane, who apparently had just left her bed. When I told her I was looking for coffee, she took me into the kitchen and brewed a cup on the spot. That's a small thing, but it's typical of this inn's welcoming and helpful attitude.

Room Tip: Room 19 is a little dark, but spacious and on the first floor. The second floor rooms are just as sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Diane and Vernon warm welcome and great attention to details make the Stockbridge Country Inn a unique place to stay in the Berkshires. Our room was very comfortable, decorated in 19th century England style but with a very large 21st century bathroom with everything you need for a relaxing weekend. The grounds are beautiful, the pool a relaxing and refreshing break in a day of music and art. And breakfast means a sumptuous table with your choice of home made eggs, fruit, cereals and breads. For me, it was French toast with peaches... and the time to taste every bite because you are minutes from Tanglewood, Stockbridge, Lenox and all the attractions you want to get to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jattal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

we loved the stockbridge country inn! Our room was spotless and the inn was sooo charming. We were treated like beloved friends by Diane and Vernon. Breakfast was an event! Diane brings out all her best for us. The inn is well located for many activities. We also enjoyed the heated private pool in a lovely setting.Looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: The white iron room was quiet and charmingly decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Diane and Vernon Reuse operate the Stockbridge Country Inn with the goal of making guests feel like they are home away from home. Each of the eight guest suites is beautifully appointed with period furniture, fine art, comfortable beds, air-conditioning and full private bathrooms. The Stockbridge Suite is amazing and rivals a suite in the best large hotels. The king-size bathroom features a soaking tub, a two person walk-in shower and a large double sink vanity. There are beautiful views from the many windows, especially the one to the large swimming pool. Diane prepares a sumptous breakfast every day with choices changing daily. The staff serves in any one of three dinning roooms and all are cheerful and engaging. The Inn's location could not be better with easy access to Tanglewood, quaint downtown Stockbridge, several nature and hiking parks, Lee, Lenox and Great Barrington. Reading materials include novels, historical works, art books and magazines and most anything else one would desire and could be classified as a near complete library. Some suites have television and all have radios. There is television available in one of the comfortable sitting rooms but little time will be spent indoors with so much to do in the Berkshires. The best Inn in which we have stayed.

Room Tip: Go to the Inn's website to view the various suites. All of each suites details are listed and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
1.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
5.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
2.9 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 10 in Stockbridge
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.8 mi away
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
#1 of 10 in Stockbridge
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockbridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockbridge Country Inn

Property: Stockbridge Country Inn
Address: 26 Glendale Rd., PO Box 525, Stockbridge, MA 01262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stockbridge Country Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Inn to The Norman Rockwell Museum and Chesterwood Museum, 5 minutes to Tanglewood, Central of all major Berkshire attractions, set up high on 4 private and professionally landscaped acres, in-ground swimming pool, bicycle and ski storage, full-service country breakfast, private bath en-suite, fine antiques, comfort at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Stockbridge Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing