We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“special pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stockbridge Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stockbridge Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Stockbridge B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“special pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

we loved the stockbridge country inn! Our room was spotless and the inn was sooo charming. We were treated like beloved friends by Diane and Vernon. Breakfast was an event! Diane brings out all her best for us. The inn is well located for many activities. We also enjoyed the heated private pool in a lovely setting.Looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: The white iron room was quiet and charmingly decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
71
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Diane and Vernon Reuse operate the Stockbridge Country Inn with the goal of making guests feel like they are home away from home. Each of the eight guest suites is beautifully appointed with period furniture, fine art, comfortable beds, air-conditioning and full private bathrooms. The Stockbridge Suite is amazing and rivals a suite in the best large hotels. The king-size bathroom features a soaking tub, a two person walk-in shower and a large double sink vanity. There are beautiful views from the many windows, especially the one to the large swimming pool. Diane prepares a sumptous breakfast every day with choices changing daily. The staff serves in any one of three dinning roooms and all are cheerful and engaging. The Inn's location could not be better with easy access to Tanglewood, quaint downtown Stockbridge, several nature and hiking parks, Lee, Lenox and Great Barrington. Reading materials include novels, historical works, art books and magazines and most anything else one would desire and could be classified as a near complete library. Some suites have television and all have radios. There is television available in one of the comfortable sitting rooms but little time will be spent indoors with so much to do in the Berkshires. The best Inn in which we have stayed.

Room Tip: Go to the Inn's website to view the various suites. All of each suites details are listed and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We loved the Stockbridge Country Inn! A lovely room with private (and complete) bath. Terrific service and attention to details and a lovely breakfast service. Minutes from the most important spots in the Berkshires: Tanglewood, Naumkang, Botanical Gardens, Lenox, Great Barrington, Monument Mountain, Shakespeare and Co, etc. A great getaway!!

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, MA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Pros:

Perfectly situated. 10 minutes from Tanglewood, 5 minutes from Stockbridge, 10 minutes to Lenox. Only about a half mile from the Norman Rockwell Museum (a must-see, by the way), and the Inn will give you free passes.

It's a beautiful old country inn (built in the 1800s), with that pleasant "narrow hallways/creaky wooden floorboards" feel. Very well-appointed with antiques everywhere. The grounds - especially around the pool in July - were lovely. The pool itself is a welcome respite, and crystal-clear.

No TV in the room (Yes, to me this is a "pro").

Breakfasts: Very complete and tasty, though nothing overly fancy, which suited us just fine. Coffee, juice, breakfast breads, fresh fruit, eggs (standard styles, and one day Benedict, the other poached) and breakfast meats, pancakes, cereal and granola.

Vernon, the male half of the owning couple. He is quiet and unassuming, and usually just hangs around in the background. There are enormous amounts of reading material throughout the inn. Many of them are related to WWII, so I asked him about it. It turns out that he was a paratrooper in WWII (he still wears his ring!), and the conversation I had with him about his service then was fascinating.

Comfortable bed, with extra-squishy pillows, which I love.

The shower has quick and plentiful hot water, and good water pressure.

Cons:

A bit pricey.

Diane, the female half of the owning couple. She seems to run the show. Although for the most part helpful and accommodating, and possessed of a great deal of information about all things in the area, she was, as another reviewer put it, a bit "brusque". Two examples: When she first took us to our room, I asked specifically if there was a refrigerator in the room. She replied with a simple "no". It was only the next day, when I was talking with Vernon, that he told me that all guests are welcomed to use the main refrigerator in the kitchen. Now, given that I had asked, shouldn't she have mentioned this to me? And when I asked if they had internet access, she replied "Just turn on your 'thing' and see what happens". As it turns out, they do. Couldn't she have just said "yes" when I asked? She is...a little off-putting.

Room Tip: "Ben's Room" has no TV, which we liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDiCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Found SCI online, which can sometimes be scary, but NOT this time!! We stayed for three nights just ahead of the Fourth of July, and had a terrific experience. The inn is charming, the room was even better than the photo, the food - and service - was excellent and the innkeepers hospitable and knowledgeable. Beautiful, peaceful grounds and a pool with crystal clear water were a treat. We R&R....Recommend and would Return!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMJM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Loved it ... So homey and comfortable Diane and Vernon were like old friends inviting us into their home.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvbug0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Diane and Vernon contributed to making our already memorable trip around New England into an unforgettable one. Aside from the pitch perfect house, gardens, location, décor, guest room and breakfast, the welcome and treatment we received was incredibly friendly and attentive. It was a real pleasure to stay in such a beautiful home and to meet two people who couldn’t have extended a warmer welcome. A highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
1.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
5.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.1 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 10 in Stockbridge
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
1.8 mi away
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
#1 of 10 in Stockbridge
5.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockbridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockbridge Country Inn

Property: Stockbridge Country Inn
Address: 26 Glendale Rd., PO Box 525, Stockbridge, MA 01262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stockbridge Country Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Inn to The Norman Rockwell Museum and Chesterwood Museum, 5 minutes to Tanglewood, Central of all major Berkshire attractions, set up high on 4 private and professionally landscaped acres, in-ground swimming pool, bicycle and ski storage, full-service country breakfast, private bath en-suite, fine antiques, comfort at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Stockbridge Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing