We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Charming!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stockbridge Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Stockbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Stockbridge Country Inn not only provided us with a lovely setting, but the knowledgeable Inn Keepers were generous with information, helpful suggestions about sites and local spots to visit as well as restaurant recommendations. We recently had an opportunity to spend time at the Inn. We loved our room which was filled with beautiful antiques, a four poster bed that had wonderful linens, and a bathroom that was stocked with everything a person could possibly need from toothpaste and brushes to make-up remover and high quality hair products.

In the mornings we enjoyed breakfasts, served in a charming four seasons room. Breakfasts started with an assortment of home made breads, muffins, croissants, and scones, and progressed to choices of fruits, then on to egg dishes, pancakes etc. Everything was served on china that seemed to have been perfectly preserved from another century.

Our stay included free passes to the Norman Rockwell museum which is a short distance from the Inn and a long talk with the owner about the history of the area. It is hard to say which was more enjoyable. We will definitely return and bring friends. The place is delightful.

Room Tip: We made a call to the Inn and gave a description of what we wanted out of our stay. They helped us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cabdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 141 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Stockbridge Country Inn for a long weekend. The Inn is well located, with easy access to main roads to Stockbridge, Lenox and Great Barrington. The house was pleasant, the rooms were nice enough (though without the little extras like upscale soaps and such), and the pool and property were quite nice. Where this B&B fell short were it's breakfasts and, to be perfectly honest, the somewhat brusque nature of the owner.

Breakfasts were unimaginative, a little stingy, and repetitive. And the waitstaff seemed stressed, rushing from one table to another and frequently forgetting things. And while I like a certain amount of conversation with the owner of B&B's, in this case she spent a lot of time at our table, speaking very loudly, and giving opinions on things that we didn't ask for nor agreed with. To be fair, she was helpful when we asked for recommendations about restaurants and to borrow an umbrella. But the breakfast atmosphere was just a little hectic rather than the relaxing start of the day one hopes for at a top B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Klondike-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The Innkeepers made us very welcome. The room was clean and comfortable. We had helpful advice about the amenities in nearby Stockbridge.elpful at providing

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Stockbridge Country Inn offers a very relaxing B & B experience for travelers looking for somewhere comfortable and comforting to put their feet up after touring the Berkshire sights. The Inn is chock full of antiques and memorabilia that add to its historic charm. Our room, aptly named the Ruffles Room for its white ruffled curtains, was spacious with a queen-sized four poster bed (short folks will need a little boost to get in). The bathroom was well-stocked with an ample supply of fluffy towels and every type of amenity for the most forgetful guest, such as toothbrushes, toothpaste, and mouthwash. The breakfast room that overlooks the garden and swimming pool (!) offers a great start to the day with fresh pastries and multi-course breakfast offerings with at least one daily special. The service staff couldn't be more friendly, attentive, or hard working. Diane and Vernon Reuss, who have owned the Inn for 27 years, are kind and affable hosts who know the area well. The town of Stockbridge with its major attractions such as The Norman Rockwell Museum, Chesteron, and Naumkeag are only moments away from the Inn and others such as The Mount and Tanglewood are close at hand too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandria_VASusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate our anniversary. We have stayed in several B and B's and had expectations given the reviews that we were going to be staying somewhere special.

I will start with the positive-
This is located perfectly for a visit to the Berkshires, it was a convenient drive to everything we wanted to see.

The property is beautiful, the grounds are kept very nicely and the pool area is very relaxing. The view from the porch where they serve breakfast is stunning.

The room was loaded with new and nice towels and all the amenities you would expect.

They had a lot of local information set out in the lobby area.

The disappointments-

We stayed 4 nights and they never changed our sheets.

The room smelled funny, kind of musty. My husband and I think it was the from the window air conditioner but we are not sure. We also had cobwebs on the ceiling corners.

The doors to the rooms had been cut at some point for carpet and now they have wood floors so there is a 1 to 2 inch gap at the floor. Overall the door allowed for all the noises in the Inn to be heard. We felt very little privacy in our room.

The breakfast was unimaginative as another reviewer had pointed out. The coffee was weak and disappointing. I really expect a place like this to have good coffee. Every other place I have stayed like this would also have the chance to have a cup of coffee and sit in the living room and read a local paper, etc. Not here. The service at breakfast was slow too and we had to ask for items to be brought to us on several occasions since the servers would forget.The menu was eggs, toast, oatmeal or granola, not too interesting. They also had nothing out the rest of the day either- no tea, etc for the afternoon. That aspect of hospitality was totally missing. Most aspects of hospitality were missing which is really too bad since the place is beautiful and really could be special if the people who ran it were more passionate about what they had, it feels like they are phoning it in.

I think there are a lot of reviews for this place that are questionable since they have only one review on this site and it is for this inn- stuffing the ballot box?

We loved the Berkshires and if we go back we won't stay here, it was not worth the money- we would have had more privacy and clean sheets at a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

A delightful, quiet bed and breakfast. Very nice breakfasts, pleasant and knowledgable owners, comfortable bedroooms, beautiful landscaping, and close to all Stockbridge, Lenox, and Tanglewood attractions. No kids, pets, or TVs allow guests to get away from the hectic workweek, relax and be pampered.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkulla9252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This place lives up to all of its very good reviews. The proprietors are terrific and will make you feel right at home. The rooms at the inn are very nice, well decorated, extremely clean. The grounds are really nice with a beautiful pool area and plently of places to sit. The breakfast was very good with several choices and very plentiful....and served by an excellent staff.
The only comment that I would make about our room (the Parlor Suite) was that the bathroom is behind french doors and the glass is covered in shear curtains which does not provide the greatest amount of privacy....but this is a small thing and may not bother some people at all. It certainly would not deter me from returning.

Room Tip: The Parlor Suite is the only room on the first floor and has much privacy. All other rooms are upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockbridge
1.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
6.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
5.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
168 reviews
2.9 mi away
Inn at Stockbridge
Inn at Stockbridge
#2 of 8 in Stockbridge
542 reviews
1.8 mi away
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
1862 Seasons On Main B&B
#1 of 8 in Stockbridge
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockbridge Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockbridge Country Inn

Address: 26 Glendale Rd., PO Box 525, Stockbridge, MA 01262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Stockbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stockbridge
Price Range: $228 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stockbridge Country Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Inn to The Norman Rockwell Museum and Chesterwood Museum, 5 minutes to Tanglewood, Central of all major Berkshire attractions, set up high on 4 private and professionally landscaped acres, in-ground swimming pool, bicycle and ski storage, full-service country breakfast, private bath en-suite, fine antiques, comfort at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Stockbridge Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing