We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good setting, poor service”

Red Lion Inn Dining Room
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 7 & 102
Transit: Several bus lines get folks to the Berkshires -- Peter Pan and its affiliates stop across the street from the Red Lion. There is public transportation in the Berkshires through the Berkshire Regional Transit Authority.
Description: Surrounded by soft candlelight, crystal chandeliers, antique china and colonial pewter, The Red Lion Inn's main dining room is the perfect place to spend a romantic evening or mark a special occasion.Executive Chef Brian J. Alberg's menus feature both traditional favorites and contemporary interpretations of New England cuisine, with many Berkshire grown and prepared foods. The Inn's exceptional wine list, which has received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for nine consecutive years, offers more than 200 selections. And our knowledgeable and attentive staff ensures an exceptional dining experience.
Sandisfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, good setting, poor service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had dinner in the Courtyard. It is a very nice setting nestled at the rear of the old inn. The chef is a leader in the effort to use local ingredients. Each table has an umbrella. You can choose from the Courtyard/Tavern menu, the Main Dining Room menu, and on Fridays a menu of items cooked on the outdoor grill. We enjoyed the experience and the food but with three exceptions. The calm chowder, which is normally excellent, had very few clams.We ordered a bottle of 2011 A to Z pinot noir and were served a 2012 bottle.The waitress checked their stock and told us they only had 2012. The menu should state that not all vintages listed on the menu are available. The third issue was with the timing of the delivery of our food. Our entrees arrived while we still had half of our appetizers left. When the waitress tried to set them down we asked her to notice that we were still working on our appetizers. She seemed surprised that we asked that the entrees be taken back and returned when we had finished our appetizers. We wonder if the kitchen or the server were at fault here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 571Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    231
    110
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Yum! Yum!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We loved the dining room for lunch, and the food was so good that we came back a second time and ate at the outdoor Courtyard at the Red Lion Inn. Their turkey sandwiches with stuffing and cranberry mayo was too die for and Hubby LOVED his prime rib open-faced sandwich on a popover. We were not disappointed the second day with clam chowder and a half sandwich. The sandwiches are huge! Be sure to try the burnt sugar cake.....SINFUL!! Food, service and ambiance are fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“More Than a Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Walking into the Inn is like being a time traveller to a less hurried & less harried time. Drinks on the porch, dining in the comfortable, white linen dining room whatever your preference the staff will make you welcome & the bar & kitchen will make you glad you came

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor dining”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

On our annual trips to the Berkshires, we have often had dinner in the Courtyard at the Red Lion Inn and it has always been a good experience. We had skipped several years at the Red Lion but went again this year. The service was courteous and timely. My wife's roast beef was delicious and my trout was excellent as well. As an appetizer I chose a salad with blueberries, nuts, and goat cheese and while it was good it wasn't outstanding and was, I thought, a bit pricey for what it was. The atmosphere in the garden was very pleasant. One minor oddity for me was that the chair seemed to be a bit low and made sitting at the table and comfortably reaching my meal slightly awkward. Overall it was a pleasant dining experience, though perhaps not outstanding, yet good enough that we would recommend The Red Lion Courtyard dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlkdhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Decided to try again - got a reservation and just "eh"”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

So last time we were in the Berkshires - everyone was " got to go eat at the Red Lion Inn"..so we stopped by and were told there was no way without a reservation....fast forward to July 2014 - we made a point of making a reservation way ahead of time. We needed to move the reservation up by about an hour and called that afternoon, hostess said no problem and off we went,
Things were hopping when we got there...we went up to the hostess and they still had our original reservation - we were about to show them our cell call log - but they accommodated us anyway.
Anyway - we sat down in the bar area and ate - which was fine. The food was just 'ok' - being a New Englander, I would have expected awesome clam chowder - but it was more of a thick floury gruel with some clams and potatoes no real clam broth undertone.....caeser salad was small but fresh....the prime rib was also just 'ok' - the popovers were a hoot - ever had a stone cold popover? how they get those popovers to hold their shape after losing heat is a ingredient mystery I am not interested in learning.....mashed potatoes and asparagus were also 'eh'
So I guess the moral of this review is: you are paying for a piece of Berkshire quaintness - not a foodie experience and paying quite handsomely....
I might go back to sit on the porch someday and have a drink while silently wondering if all the people going into eat will wonder what they paid all the money for - because it is not for a dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank xenonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn Dining Room also viewed

Stockbridge, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to Red Lion Inn Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing