We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The tavern at the Red Lion Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Inn Dining Room

Red Lion Inn Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Lion Inn Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Stockbridge
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 7 & 102
Transit: Several bus lines get folks to the Berkshires -- Peter Pan and its affiliates stop across the street from the Red Lion. There is public transportation in the Berkshires through the Berkshire Regional Transit Authority.
Description: Surrounded by soft candlelight, crystal chandeliers, antique china and colonial pewter, The Red Lion Inn's main dining room is the perfect place to spend a romantic evening or mark a special occasion.Executive Chef Brian J. Alberg's menus feature both traditional favorites and contemporary interpretations of New England cuisine, with many Berkshire grown and prepared foods. The Inn's exceptional wine list, which has received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for nine consecutive years, offers more than 200 selections. And our knowledgeable and attentive staff ensures an exceptional dining experience.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The tavern at the Red Lion Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We met friends at the Red Lion Inn for lunch and decided to have lunch in the tavern. We all had 1/2 Turkey sandwich with soup. The soup was fennel and bean and New England Clam Chowder. Both were excellent. The sandwich had white meat and stuffing with cranberries. It was delicious. We had Bloody Mary's on the porch before lunch and they were excellent as well. A wonderful place for lunch. Lots of atmosphere and fun to sit on the porch and people watch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    219
    101
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Milford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were celebrating my Girlfriend's 40th. So we decided to come here for dinner, did not disappoint. Excellent service, GREAT food, fantastic wine.

Food was hot, and served promptly. Our waitress made excellent recommendations for dinner, and dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JPeelsolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been to Stockbridge several times and always avoided eating at the Red Lion. The hotel, though pretty, just feels dated and I assumed the restaurant would be decades past its prime. Maybe it was due to the low expectations, but my wife, daughter and I all loved our lunch. The turkey sandwich was delicious, the service was excellent, and I enjoyed the atmosphere (formal without being stuffy).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Person3557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice relaxing lunch in the outside dining area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the Red Lion Inn today for lunch. It was a perfect day weather wise so we chose to eat outside. Very relaxing, service was good, and we did not have to wait for a table. I had the Grilled Salmon with Red Potatoes and Asparagus. My husband had the Turkey sandwich - both were very good. For dessert, I had the Vanilla Creme Brûlée and my husband had the Lemon tart. The desserts were good, but not the best we have had. I wished I had not gotten dessert so we could have stopped at the ice cream shop around the corner instead! We walked around the historic Inn after lunch. The front porch looked like a great place to sit and have a drink!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pp1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“POOR Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our waitress (M) forgot us for most of our time. She neglected to inquire about catsup for french fries/chicken fingers for a child. No soda refills. Final check was delivered before inquiring about dessert. The hostess was extremely friendly; telling us all about the teapots. She was also extremely apologetic about the poor service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiggy1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn Dining Room also viewed

Stockbridge, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 
Stockbridge, Berkshires
Lee, Berkshires
 

Been to Red Lion Inn Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing