We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Fashioned All theWay”

Red Lion Inn Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Lion Inn Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Stockbridge
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 7 & 102
Transit: Several bus lines get folks to the Berkshires -- Peter Pan and its affiliates stop across the street from the Red Lion. There is public transportation in the Berkshires through the Berkshire Regional Transit Authority.
Description: Surrounded by soft candlelight, crystal chandeliers, antique china and colonial pewter, The Red Lion Inn's main dining room is the perfect place to spend a romantic evening or mark a special occasion.Executive Chef Brian J. Alberg's menus feature both traditional favorites and contemporary interpretations of New England cuisine, with many Berkshire grown and prepared foods. The Inn's exceptional wine list, which has received Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence for nine consecutive years, offers more than 200 selections. And our knowledgeable and attentive staff ensures an exceptional dining experience.
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned All theWay”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Ate in the bar off the dining room. Food was good, not great, and service was exceptional.
Been there, done that.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank thirdtimeisacharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    223
    104
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
313 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Lunch was good, not special -- and expensive”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We lunched at the Red Lion in the dining room. The hostess was very helpful and friendly. Our waiter was extremely well trained; he could answer all questions, was very attentive, handled the food well, and was superbly polite. The food was good, very tasty, but there was nothing special here -- mainstream favorites competently cooked. I would happily go back for more meals were they priced more appropriately. A single 4 inch veggie patty with salad on the side was $14, and a BLT wrap with plain greens and very small portion of fries was $15. On the other hand, sometimes calm and quiet is worth the extra 50%.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutLocavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
222 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very good food with great service”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a group of twenty (with reservations) for lunch and were seated promptly. The food was very good to excellent and the service was top notch. All in all no one in group had a complaint except the prices are on the high side. The atmosphere in the main dining room is very nice as the Inn dates back to the late 1700's. I would have no problem recommending this restaurant to my friends as I have been there before both for lunch and dinner and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Superb food, top-notch service and excellent personalities with all we met. All our meals were in the Inn's dining room and at each service, the food was crafted to perfection.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
555 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting but could do better on the food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch in the Main Dining Room and while the service was attentive and the old inn setting was pleasant, I thought the food could have been better. I got eggs benedict with Irish bacon and while the eggs were just right and the hollandaise was fine, the bacon was bland and tasted like boiled ham--I have never had bacon in Ireland that blah in flavor. My husband got a special of the day, rainbow trout topped with crabmeat and served with mashed potatoes and Swiss chard. The crabmeat was done like crab imperial and had a distinctly odd, medicinal flavor. After giving everyone at our table a spoonful and sniff to try to identify it, we finally asked. They had made it with lemon mayonnaise (no problem) and basil, which was a problem as it absolutely overpowered the crabmeat mixture and made it inedible. (And we are lovers of good crabmeat). I think the Red Lion is very well known and is trading on that rather than its culinary exellence.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn Dining Room also viewed

 
Stockbridge, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to Red Lion Inn Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing