We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best garden in the Southern Berkshires”
Review of Naumkeag

Naumkeag
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Gilded-Age style and splendor at this marvelous estate, renowned for its elegant gardens and rare Berkshire Cottage.
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best garden in the Southern Berkshires”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been there a tree times and I love this place. All of our visitors have been there. I recommend enjoy the 1 hour house tour first. And after that spend around 2 hours in the absolutely spectacular garden with fabulous views. You can see different kinds of gardens - Japanese, Chinese, Italian and Blue steps which is most beautiful. Tip: go there in the summer's hot days, bring a blanket and food and enjoy a picnic in the grass under huge old trees. It's the best garden in the Southern Berkshires.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    50
    18
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Garden Of Eden”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This year while spending my annual Labor Day weekend at the Red Lion I decided to visit Naumkeag on the suggestion of The Red Lion Staff. What a referral! This beautiful estate located in the hills above Main Street in Stockbridge is fabulous and truly a hidden Garden of Eden. I took both the guided house tour and garden tour and both volunteer guides opened a door to the past offering a glimpse into a former and privelaged world few get to see today. The house is very well maintained and left the way the former Miss Mabel Choate left it upon her death. But the gardens have an interesting story as well and were truly a labor of love for Miss Choate who was active in their design and development. I am grateful to Miss Choate and the Choate family for graciously leaving this wonderful home and beautiful gardens for all to enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SAFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful House and Gardens”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We are members of Trustees of Reservations so this property was on our go-to list when we visited the Southern Berkshires in early September. The house is beautiful but it is the spectacular gardens and views that are the real draw. The property encourages picnics and even keeps a basket of picnic blankets on the veranda! We did not have time to visit all of the gardens so we will be returning. If you go, try to do so on a clear day as we did. The views alone are worth the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank traveler456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
405 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Naumkeag is a spectacular "Summer Cottage" of the rich and famous, 181 of which were built in the Berkshire Hills of Western Massachusetts. Many still remain and some of which are open for touring. Naumkeag is the family estate of the Choate family. The Choate family inhabited their Stockbridge estate for many decades. Their gardens are magnificent, especially the five level Blue Garden. The tour is exceptionally reasonably priced, and an excellent way to spend a hour. The guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. You could spend quite a bit of time enjoying the grounds and the many different gardens of the estate. You need to see this magnificent home.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dave2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Review for gardens only”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We are members of The Trustees of Reservations, so like to tour their properties when possible. Although I was disappointed we didn't make it for a house tour, walking around the exterior and seeing the gardens was very fun and informative. If you are interested in garden design at all, this would be a good place to check out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieroman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naumkeag also viewed

 

Been to Naumkeag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing