We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite....”
Review of Naumkeag

Naumkeag
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Gilded-Age style and splendor at this marvelous estate, renowned for its elegant gardens and rare Berkshire Cottage.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of my favorite....”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

....historic house tours. It's beautiful, the docents are great and the grounds are beautiful to explore. The house is truly beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rosannemistretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    50
    18
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too bad it rained”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had it not rained, we would have taken a long stroll through the gardens outside of the mansion. Our guide knew his job and explained the home well as we toured throughout.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
351 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Nice "cottage" and beautiful grounds”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Built in 1886 by Joseph Choate, who made LOTS of money as a lawyer, Naumkeag is a 44 room "cottage" of the guided age. Our tour guide, Claire, did an amazing job of Intertwining the very interesting story of the Choate family with tour of the house. We toured the beautiful gardens on our own as we listened to the recording device that they gave us.

It costs $15.00 for the tour. However, it you are a member of the Trustees of Reservation, there is no charge and you get a 10% discount in the bookstore. The annual fee for a senior couple is $57.00. Just this one visit (It would have been $30.00 for the both of us) paid for more than half of our annual membership fee.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
262 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Views, views, views!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wonderful first visit to Naumkeag and we will be back. This is a wonderful property and the Trustees are doing a great job of preservation and restoration. We had a great guide for the house tour and a real pro for the garden tour. The views are superb and the renovated Blue Steps are a real hit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rnmteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

9 times out of 10, I go to a house tour to see the grounds. Usually the house is interesting for a couple of minutes and that's it. This tour was a nice departure from the norm. The house tour, lasting about 1 hour, was very well executed. The guide was very knowledgeable and kept the group moving while answering all questions.

The grounds were beautiful. My only complaint was the self paced audio tour. I felt the descriptions were a little long winded and didn't provide the information that I was looking for. But, no big deal, we just walked the yard on our own.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashland A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naumkeag also viewed

 

Been to Naumkeag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing