We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Muesum!”

Norman Rockwell Museum
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1969, this museum has the world's largest and most significant collection of Rockwell drawings and paintings.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Muesum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My family & myself visited this muesum as a part of our vacation plans. This muesum is wonderful and I learned so much about Norman Rockwell and his family. I would suggest for anyone that enjoys Disney to check out the exhibit about "Cinderalla" it was very interesting. I also enjoyed looking at all of Norman Rockwell's paintings. What a neat time in our nations history!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,222
    328
    48
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is one of my all-time favorite museums. It takes a relatively small number of works of one of America's most prolific and beloved artists and turns it into a showcase of his life. The four freedoms are here as are some of the best of his works -- although who could ever say which the "best" are. The only disappointment in my last visit was putting many of his best works in the basement to make room for another artist. Make sure to walk out the back to visit his studio. It's worth the trek.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhappyboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth your time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This museum was one of the highlights of our trip to western Mass. We thoroughly enjoyed it! The artwork is amazing, and the guide provided a wealth of information that added to our enjoyment. J

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew NY
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for a wonderful collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Norman Rockwell museum is well kept and nicely displayed. The volunteers at the museum give wonderful talks on the various works of art. The grounds are beautiful. Don't forget to take the short walk to Norman Rockwell's studio. The view is amazing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 9Buffalolady20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“You must see this!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I cried when I walked in and saw both how incredibly talented this man was, and how his work captured the best and worst of American life. Truly do not miss this -- every American should see it at least once.

Also -- do not skip the studio or the movie about his life (made by his son) on the lower level -- both were amazing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieroman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman Rockwell Museum also viewed

Stockbridge, Berkshires
 
Lenox, Berkshires
Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Norman Rockwell Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing