We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check off my bucket list”

Norman Rockwell Museum
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Stockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1969, this museum has the world's largest and most significant collection of Rockwell drawings and paintings.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check off my bucket list”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Being an avid Norman Rockwell fan was the main reason for selecting The Berkshires of Massachusetts as my fall getaway location in 2012. I first reached the museum for an event that was held on site named Coaching Day. This was related to the mode of travel in the early nineteenth century via horse-drawn carraiges that were presented one day only for a free viewing by the public on the grounds of the NRM, only lasted maybe a couple of hours before they moved on. Quite interesting, with beautiful carraiges, horses and costumed passengers. I returned a couple of days later to actually go inside and tour the museum. Be prepared for bus loads of tourists to arrive while you are there, wasn't a problem for me, but it could have been crowded by some opinions. Somewhat dissappointed that there were not more of Rockwell's originals on display. There seemed to be a large area devoted to other artists as well, I mean Rockwell was what drew me to visit, not another artist. Take note and visit the seperate building that was his last studio that has been moved onsite. You can go inside and see the set-up he used to render his final works. Over all, I was well pleased, except for the fire alarm being set off and all had to evacuate the building while it was raining.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank QuestforExcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,236
    332
    48
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Nostalgia Nirvana”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Entertaining and delightful way to spend an autumn afternoon! Admission a bit high, ($16.00 for adults) but worth it if you are a fan of Rockwell's intriguing work. Lunch is available under the enclosed tent on the outside patio, catered by the Red Lion Inn in Stockbridge. Knowledgeable staff, inviting gift shop and Rockwell's original studio relocated to the grounds of the museum plus a stunning view of the Housatonic River make this destination a must for visitors to the area!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kgmmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very interesting and enjoyable. There are many of his paintings on display and personnel giving tours and explaining Rockwells life did a very good presentation. Nothing to dislike.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We visited the NRM and loved it. What a great collection. Didnt really enjoy the Pyle exhibit but that may be a matter of personal taste. We also visited the studio on the property which was neat. Beautiful ground too. Gift shop prices were reasonable. Great sandwiches on terrace. All staff were friendly. We recommend the audio tour to get additional info about paintings.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChristineKathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great view of the 20th century America through Rockwell's illustrations”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I visited the Norman Rockwell Museum in Stockbridge, MA with my 8 year old son. We had great time following the art work in the galleries as well as the 300+ Saturday Evening Post illustrations done by Norman Rockwell. Don't forget to visit Norman Rockwell's studio in the museum backyard.

In the museum they had a treasure hunt style activity for kids and my son enjoyed looking for the clues in various galleries. It was a great way to get him involved. The museum has gallery talks/tours at different schedules of the year - so check out their website ahead of time to plan that in your trip. This tour/talk gives a great overview of Norman Rockwell's work and history.

The museum offers AAA discounts.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yvs100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman Rockwell Museum also viewed

Stockbridge, Berkshires
 
Lenox, Berkshires
Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Norman Rockwell Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing